We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scenic waterfall”

Ranked #115 of 587 things to do in West Virginia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Scenic park in Marion County that shows the grandeur of the wild Tygart Valley River flowing through steep canyons.
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Scenic waterfall”
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

No one else was at the park when I was there. The waterfalls were very scenic but there is not much else in the park.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcalvinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, WV
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful river and falls”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

It's a little out of the way to get here but worth the trip to enjoy the beautiful river, rocks and waterfalls. It's an easy walk from the parking lot to the river. A wedding had just finished when we were there - what a beautiful spot for it! Not too crowded. Lots of picnic tables. Loved just sitting on a rock watching the water.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MsJamie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Not a very busy place but it was lovely! Interesting as well with the old mill site! Can be very serene watching the falls.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Madmartigan1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great to see during Fall!”
Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Trails to hike and lots of photo ops. Great to see during prime fall color changes. Train runs through the park. Be careful with young kids getting close to the water. No swimming! We go a few times a year because it is also a sentimental place for us to visit. My husband proposed toe here and a year later we had our wedding ceremony here.

Helpful?
Thank Eo1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Scenic but not congested”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

A small well maintained state park that is worth the back-road trip to access it. The falls and rocky river are impressive and relaxing if you have time to spend.

You cannot wade or swim in the river and there is a fine of $167 if you are caught. This may explain why there are no crowds. Once you have seen it, there is no reason to return unless you are there for recreation or a picnic.

The park closes at dusk.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vatraveler2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley Falls State Park also viewed

 

Been to Valley Falls State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing