We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Kinship Restaurant

Kinship Restaurant
Ranked #54 of 3,070 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $70 - $130
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Mount Vernon Square
Description: Kinship is acclaimed Chef Eric Ziebold and partner Célia Laurent’s restaurant. The restaurant is located on the first floor of 1015 Seventh Street NW in an historic brick building dating back to 1907. A second restaurant, Métier, opened in the bi-level space offering a seven course tasting menu in April 2016. Both restaurants commit themselves to offer creative and contemporary American cuisine with a continued dedication to hospitality. Kinship is Chef Ziebold’s vision of what the modern American restaurant can be and offers an à la carte menu celebrating the rich diversity of influences that have come to shape American cuisine. The restaurant offers 59 seats plus a 15 seat bar with lounge area and fireplace. Designed by Darryl Carter, a Washington D.C. native and a leader in the design world, Kinship features antique materials and furniture pieces mingling with modern details to create an elegant yet warm and comfortable atmosphere.
Reviewed October 26, 2019 via mobile

Michelin star restaurant with a great atmosphere. Had dinner here for our anniversary. There are no words to describe the great experience we had.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Grizab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2019

Very good, with some exceptional dishes. Our group agreed that the appetizers and desserts were unusually interesting and flavorful, the entrees less so. That is not to suggest that the entrees were mediocre. just more ordinary. The tab was high but not as high as restaurants in the very top tier. Very much recommend.

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 16, 2019

Kinship Restaurant offer fresh products and the team is very nie. Came here with my family, I would definitely do that again.I highly reccomend this place !

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank princetastyxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 14, 2019

We read many excellent reviews of this restaurant so we wanted to go there for a special occasion. The wine list offers many selections, most of which are obscure choices. It is also quite pricey. It would be nice if they offered a more varied, but familiar, list that included wineries that most people know. We ordered the lobster toast to share as an appetizer. There was a lot of lobster but the sauce was just okay and forgettable. For our entree we ordered the tuna, which was available only if you both ordered it. It was good and there was plenty of it, but again, not something you would rave about. The menu itself is just a little precious - the arrangement of foods is not by appetizer, mains, etc. It is by such titles as history, craft, etc. The service was very good but we found our server to be a bit condescending. We are foodies and have eaten at many fine restaurants but were disappointed in this one.

Date of visit: October 2019
2  Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2019 via mobile

Kinship is located right next to the convention center so super convenient if attending a conference. Not a very big place but I was starving and when they opened at 5:30 there were plenty of seats at the bar where they serve the whole menu. The wait staff are excellent and knowledgeable. The price is on the higher end for smaller portions of food but so worth it as each mouthful is perfection. Even down to the bread and butter. I had the lamb shoulder with a glass of red wine and the chocolate peanut butter crisp. Everything was amazing. Would love to try everything on their menu!

Date of visit: October 2019
1  Thank RAR1126
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Kinship Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Kinship Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.