We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gelato? Yes please!”
Review of Dolcezza

Dolcezza
Ranked #24 of 86 Dessert in Washington DC
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Georgetown
Eustis, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Gelato? Yes please!”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Thanx to the other reviewers for this suggestion! Small place, doesn't look like much, but oh my!!! The salted caramel and chocolate mint flavors are to die for, and the server was right; hubby's pistachio and salted caramel choices played very welo together, indeed! If you like gelato, you really shoupd check them out.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gpisces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    29
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I'm hooked”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Dolcezza Gelato shop in Bethesda, MD has the best employees and the best gelato! I am completely hooked on the orange honey cardamom and lemon cardamom flavors. My favorite is make them up in a milk shake....so yummy, not too sweet and very refreshing.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank M O D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Charming Treat”
Reviewed June 4, 2012

I wish I stumbled upon "Dolcezza" for breakfast. Just from sigh, the croissants look moist and flakey, and treats worthy enough to have your Dr. scold you. But all worth the taste.

I had a freshly drip coffee and a Black Sesame gelato. The selections were unique and the gelato itself was light, and savory. The portions are great if you're not a heavy eater like I am. The decor is charming. A perfect place to sit with a book and coffee for breakfast or an afternoon treat to "cleanse" the palette.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aroundjenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Authentic gelato”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

The real thing - felt like back in Italy. Can recommend everything we had. People in our party had the avocado-honey-orange, strawberry-tarragon, lemon, mojito, grapefruit-Campari. We'll be back!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gonefeising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best and most creative gelato in DC/MD. Great espresso too!”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I've been going here for about 8 years now. I live in Northern VA and I still make it a point to stop in almost every week, and probably 2 times a week in the summer and fall (best times to go). Having spent almost 3 months eating my way through Italy, I can say that Dolcezza is one of the only places I've been to in America that would be considered "good" in Italy. Some of the flavors would be "very good" over there too.

Their gelatos (cream based ones) are great and aren't rotated out that much. The Valhrona Chocolate is the darkest chocolate gelato I've ever had. The Virginia Peanut Butter and Peanut Butter Chocolate are amazing. But by far the best gelato is their Dulce de Leche. They make the Dulce in house and it is a specialty of Argentina, where the owner's wife is from.

In the late spring, summer and early fall, is when Dolcezza really shines. They have new flavors based on what's in season pretty much every week, and Robb (the owner) is constantly mixing up interesting stuff that is so good. Like "Strawberry Tarragon", "Cucumber Vodka Mint", "Blueberry Thyme Gin", "Grapefruit Campari", "White Peach Prosecco", "Orange Honey Cardamom", etc. You get the picture. This is way more interesting of a place to experience gelato than Pitango, which has pretty good quality but totally predictable flavors.

I'd be remiss if I didn't mention that their espresso drinks are awesome - they use great beans (normally they rotate the roast) and have baristas that are actually trained on how to pull good shots and steam milk. Aflajores and Dulce de Leche churros are pretty great too.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NoVANick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolcezza also viewed

Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Dolcezza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing