We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, adults have better things to do.”

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for kids, adults have better things to do.”
Reviewed November 14, 2010

There are two things impressive about this museum; they have several movie props from crime movies like bonny and clyde, and the CSI and Most wanted exhibits probably heavily funded their sections to avoid having a stinker attached to their name. The rest of the exhibit is like a carnival horror house with bad wooden props and dressed up mannequins. Kids would ADORE this museum but I spent the whole time wondering what was here that I couldn't find out on wikipedia or tropes.com. In short, for families it's a wonderful choice, for adults, unless you're with a bunch of friends and can waste twenty bucks for a laugh at how bad it is; try to skip this one and just browse the internet instead.

Helpful?
4 Thank Spoofehness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience, but hope that you will consider visiting us again to see our new "Conspirator" exhibit. You are right; kids LOVE our museum!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    302
    91
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth the price of admission + some”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Courtney was extremely accommodating to our special request and didn't make us feel like we were putting her out. She was so nice and really made our day with the exceptional service she provided. The security guard, Paul, was a tall intimidating fellow, but (shhh!) he couldn't have been nicer. He even recommended a wonderful restaurant next door.

The exhibits were very interesting and the artifact collection was a real treasure. We got a huge kick out of walking around where America's Most Wanted is *actually* filmed. Besides the terrific staff, our favorite part was the honor wall for fallen police officers. It was very humbling and touching.

Helpful?
Thank MarySteff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, July 21, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to praise our staff! We really appreciate it, and hope you'll visit us again in the future :).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
2 reviews
“Interesting and Informative!”
Reviewed October 5, 2010

My friends and I went to the NMCP and really found it interesting. And in a cool way - we learned alot. too. The prison weapons and capital punishment exhibits were my faves. And I also liked the unsolved crimes and the forensic evidences sections were interesting. The museum reminded me of my favorite tv network - Investigation Discovery.

Helpful?
Thank dss156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, July 20, 2011
Thank you for your review! If you enjoyed learning all about how forensics can be used to solve a crime, definitely come check out our new "Unabomber" exhibit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lots of "reading exhibits" but very few "visual attractions"”
Reviewed October 2, 2010

This museum was very informative if you're the kind of person who is willing to stand at an exhibit and read every single word on the board. There were a TON of people at the museum. I'm assuming there was more people than usual due to the free museum day. As a result, the "reading exhibits" really caused the lines to back up as people had to wait until the people in front of them read the exhibits.

If you're more of a "visual" person, then this museum isn't for you. There are very few exhibits here. There's Ted Bundy's volkswagon. There are some medieval torture exhibits (which was the majority of the visual exhibits and very good by the way). There was a "dummy" on a morgue table that you could hear about his wounds. Other than that, there wasn't many visual exhibits.

The museum overall was okay, but it hadn't been "free day" and I had paid the regular admission price to this museum for me and my family, I would have been highly pissed off. ($19.95 for adults and $14.95 for children would have been $74.80 for us all to visit ONE museum - outragous in my opinion.) It was very well put together for the "reader" and highly recommended if that's the type of person you are, but highly NOT recommended if you're a "visual" person.

Helpful?
1 Thank pasqualli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, January 13, 2011
We're glad to hear that you found our museum to be informative! We hope that you'll visit us again to check out our new (and very visually appealing) "Conspirator" exhibit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curwensville, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Very interesting and educational- fun for the whole family.”
Reviewed October 1, 2010

I had a fantastic time. It was so great to see all the interesting torture devices, weapons and punishment devices-such as the stocks, Tommygun and electric chair. Bonnie and Clyde's car is on display as well as some authentic props used by the famous serial killers. Anyone going definitely needs to take a camera along and be prepared for spending some time in this museum. Make sure you get your fingerprint scanned and stand in the police line-up. If your a history-buff, a member of law enforcement or just someone who finds crime fascinating, this is the museum for you!

Helpful?
Thank praktfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your fantastic review! We've added a few new artifacts that would defintely be fascinating to a crime buff such as yourself :). Come check out our new "Unabomber" exhibit, or take part in one of our Forensic workshops!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing