We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“most under rated museum in DC”

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Moline, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“most under rated museum in DC”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

Hard to beleive that this museum is not rated higher than it is. It may be scary for very young kids but it has a chronological pattern that is as strong as a learning tool as its rival facility just down the street. My 10 year old Grandson loved this place. The shop down stairs has a lot of NCIS gifts as well. I thoroughly enjoyed this place. It is worth the price of admission.

Helpful?
Thank timptom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you so much for your great review, and for recognizing that we strive to be an educational tool for kids :). I hope that you are able to visit us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    302
    91
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great museum for families with teens”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We took a group of 12-17 year olds through this museum. In the beginning it was a lot of reading - many of the kids only skimmed as they went by. There were several interactive things they did enjoy after this though- standing in a line up, seeing step by step how a crime scene is evaluated, how a body is examined for cause of death (not too gruesome-more like a giant Ken doll with bullet/knife wounds), what information you can get from footprints and other evidence. You could also drive a simulated police car, shoot a pretend gun at a suspect and many other activities. We spent about 2 and 1/2 hours in the museum.and enjoyed it.

Helpful?
Thank zinisin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
Thank you for your feedback! Teens love our museum; especially those with a true passion for forensics and/or law enforcement :). We invite you to particpate in one of our CSI workshops on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow - creepy, interesting, and fun”
Reviewed July 1, 2010

This was a favorite stop for both our teenage kids and us. It was shocking to learn about the different types of punishments that took place through the ages. The history of famous outlaws was interesting. The museum takes you through the ages of criminals up to current day. The kids enjoyed the simulated police shootout. Lots of interactive activities make this museum a must stop for crime buffs. Plan on spending a couple of hours, lots to see and do.

Helpful?
Thank clmilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
So glad that your whole group had a great time! We hope that you'll visit us again :). Thank you for your feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Great Museum”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

I went to this museum with some friends one weekend. We were impressed by the sheer amount of items that were in the museum and the all the information. The museum is very interactive and teaches the guests alot about crime and punishment from forensics to medieval justice to depression mobsters. We also enjoyed the shooting and driving simulators. There was a special exhibit on crimes against marine life that was well done. I would recommend this museum to others.

Helpful?
Thank dcstudent11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
So glad that you and your friends had a great time here! Our marine life temporary exhibit is actually back up this summer :). We also have a brand new "Unabomber" exhibit that is permanent. Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerseyville, Illinois
1 review
“so much fun”
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I just wanted to say that my family and I enjoyed our visit very
much. We are still talking about it and sharing our pictures with
friends and family who I know will stop in when they visit D.C.
I rarely leave reviews but wanted to let others know how exciting your
museum is.
We hope to be back in a few years to see what new and exciting
exhibits have been added.

Helpful?
Thank pickyk10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Director of Sales at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, July 22, 2011
We are so grateful that you took the time to review our museum! It is greatly appreciated :). We have already added a few exhibits that I think your family will enjoy. Come take part in our Top Detective Challenge, become a forensics expert, and see our new "Unabomber" exhibit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing