We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to read”

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We did the Top Detective challenge which we had to write down words and information in a booklet and use it to solve a clue (location of an item)...there was so much to read that I could probably spend all day here. Very educational.

Thank misterjuice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi misterjuice!
Thank you for visiting! We are so glad that you found our museum educational and that you did the Top Detective Challenge! The Challenge is a great way to become engaged with the material. Were you able to find the missing medallion? We appreciate your review and hope to see you on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (922)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

358 - 362 of 922 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

I study old-time crime...Dillinger, Bonnie & Clyde, etc., and finding out that Bonnie & Clyde's shot up vehicle was on display at this museum made it a "must see" for my husband and I. We were so surprised at the awesomeness of this museum. Everything is well-done and tasteful; when you're dealing with a distasteful subject like serial killers, this is not easy to do. I wasn't prepared, however, for the actual creepiness I felt at seeing Ted Bundy's car and artifacts, as well as John Wayne Gacy's clown costumes and paintings. Truly creepy. Everything from the soundtrack playing overhead, to the photos of criminals, modes of punishment from medieval times to today - it's all here - and informative. We dug this place. Lots of photo opportunities, as well, my husband got to "escape" from a replica jail cell, we both got to stand in a line-up, we were featured on "America's Most Wanted". It's a cool and neat place. Definitely one to check out when you've been "Smithsonian'ed" out. Enjoy!

2  Thank BillieGirl20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi BillieGirl20!
Thank you for your comprehensive review! We are thrilled that you and your husband “dug” our museum!! As you said, the museum is very informative and interactive! I am so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed the unique activities and photo opportunities throughout the museum! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This had to be one of our favorite museums. It's so well done and informative. Starts off with crime and punishment from the medieval times right up into current times. Fun interactive sights for kids and just overall fantastic.

1  Thank Phoebebigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

Hi Phoebebigelow!
We are so happy that you and your kids had a great time at our museum and that we are one of your favorite museums!! Thank you for your review; we hope to see you all again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This was a great stop - my 11 yr old loved it! Great exhibits and some interaction too. We got our tickets free with our 48 hour bus ticket but it is worth buying tickets.

Thank RikkiLeeFishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Hi RikkiLeeFishers!

Thank you for your review! We are thrilled that you and your 11-year old loved our museum! We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Upon going up to the cashier to pay, the attendant was still counting money from the previous customer, she didn't even look up and welcome me. After about a minute she looked up, we gave her our Groupon (she didn't say anything), she took the money, entered something in the computer and all she said to us was "no eating, drinking or smoking or flash photography", didn't even say hope you enjoy your visit.

The museum is pretty cool, we spent almost 3 hours there and could have spent more but we had to leave for a previous commitment.

2  Thank Dave_D22015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing