We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be prepared to Read!”

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Be prepared to Read!”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

This museum is full of fascinating facts and artifacts that date from medieval times to the present. We brought our Middle School aged daughter and High School aged son. I would say our son was able to appreciate what the museum had to offer better than our daughter. That said, our daughter really liked the things offered on the CSI level. She is a modern kind of girl I suppose. We did go on a crowded day. If you do, be prepared to wait your turn to get up to some of the exhibits. Also, forgo the audio tour. It is a total waste of money as it tells you very little in comparison to what is presented visually and many exhibits have audio components that make it hard to hear your ear piece. The museum is worth the price of admission, but give yourself three hours to fully enjoy the offerings at least.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ProfessorMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi ProfessorMom2 - Thank you for your review - we appreciate the feedback! We are excited that you and your family came to visit us! There is a lot of reading, which can take a lot of time to get through - but we are happy that you found the information and artifacts to be fascinating! Some people prefer the audio tour as a way to eliminate some reading - we apologize that you did not find it to be worthwhile. :-( We do hope you will visit us again - and maybe try one of our workshops! :-) Have a wonderful 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    302
    91
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Locust Grove, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very interesting museum”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

The details and amount of information are incredible. It is very interesting, especially for those who are enthused by this kind of knowledge. There are lots of interactive sections like a cop car simulator, police shootout simulator, etc. It's great for kids who are thinking of forensics/law enforcement, even adults!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank c0untrygirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Hi c0untrygirl87 - Thank you for visiting the Crime Museum! We are happy that you found the information to be very interesting and enjoyed our simulators! I agree - it is especially a great place for people interested in forensic science or law enforcement! We appreciate your review! Have a wonderful New Year! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marion, Utah
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“This was my favorite!”
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We spent almost all day in this Museum. The details and interaction for the kids was fabulous! Both the grandson and I enjoyed this museum most of all and was well worth the visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank merrysunshine21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi Merrysunshine21! We are thrilled that our museum was your favorite during your trip to DC! We are even happier to hear that you and your grandson had a great day here and were able to enjoy the interactives and the information! We hope you will visit us again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of fun!”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This museum is huge. Expect to spend at least 2 hours here. Lots of things to see. I would recommend the ear phones for an extra 5 bucks so you won't have to read all the exhibits stories.

Helpful?
3 Thank kidd3rd1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi kidd3rd1 - Thank you for your review! The outside of the museum can be deceiving, because as you said," the museum is huge!" I agree that the audio tour is a great way to tour the museum as it provides extra information and eliminates some of the reading! We are so happy that you had lots of fun at the Crime Museum and hope to see you again soon! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Los Alamos
Level Contributor
75 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great break from Smithsonian”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

My son and I were in DC and had spent a bit of time on the National Mall. We were tired and looking for something different so we found this museum online and decided to hunt it down. As a word of advice, don't let the downstairs put you off from going. It looks kind of kitschy as you go in. Also, unless you are with a pack of children the additional money for the little booklet where you find clues through out the exhibit so that you can locate the "stolen necklace" is really a waste of money. (We won three pencils reminding us to call 911 in an emergency once we located the stolen item.)
That was really the only downside to the day, our three pencils for about $10. The museum starts out with early forms of punishment including some horrific looking devices for punishing women who back-talked their husbands or husbands who kissed their wives in public. It had some interesting information on pirates, Bonnie and Clyde's car, information of serial killers, and then more modern prison information including famous mug shots. I still get giggles thinking about Bill Gates' mug shot (I think it was a traffic ticket in Albuquerque) where he was smiling like it was the best day of his life. My son and I went on to not only find the hidden loot, but we also we took out the shooter in the police simulator and passed our lie detector test.
We only made it through part of the museum so if you go plan more than a few hours, especially if you are the type who reads everything.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RestlessCindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Hi RestlessCindi! I am glad that you and your son came to visit us at the Crime Museum had a great experience! I am sorry that you felt that the Top Detective Challenge was a waste; we look at it as an interactive way to absorb and connect to the information throughout the museum and in the process you are solving a crime. Aside from that, I am happy that you all enjoyed the police simulator and passed the lie detector test! We thank you for your review, and hope you will visit us again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing