We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crime and Punishment Museum”

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crime and Punishment Museum”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

I recently visited this museum on my own as part of my trip to DC. I loved it! There was lots of good information! I spent 4 hours there and could have spent more!

There was a lot of interactive games,scenarios, etc so is suitable for children as well as enjoyable for adults.

Highlight: Shooting game, CSI interactive scenarios, Fingerprint scanner,All the information boards

Low light: Not much! I spent too much time at the beginning and was very tored by the end.

Helpful tip: At the shooting simulator you get told you are about halfway through, while actually the last two floors dont take up as much time :)

Definitely worth a trip there if you are at all interested in Crime and Punishment!

Also book online as its a lot cheaper :)

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirstenm7
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear that you had a great visit and enjoyed our exciting interactives as well as the information boards! Maybe the next time you visit D.C. you can check out one of our Forensic Workshops!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    302
    91
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Its fun but not spectacular”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

I went here after being in the city for a month because I was bored. It was pretty fun, especially with the police driving and shooting simulator, but isn't worth the 21$ admission price. Reminded me of the spy museum.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Usafloadc17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for your visit and for your review! We appreciate your feedback. We are happy to hear that you had fun and enjoyed our driving and shooting simulators! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“America's Most Wanted!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Very cool museum! In close competition with the Spy Museum. Visit both in one day. Have lunch in the area in between visits. Fascinating! The employees are very pleasant and helpful. Handicap friendly!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We are so happy to hear that you had a great visit at our museum! We often add new artifacts, information, and exhibits, and would love to have you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A good museum amongst many much better in DC”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Being from the northwest, seeing Ted Bundy's car was a draw. it is in the lobby so tickets not really needed. Many good displays but feel that it could be larger and with more items. We went here because it stays open later than other DC area museums on a Friday. We enjoyed it well enough.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank M K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
We appreciate you taking time to visit us on your visit to D.C. and are appreciative of your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed several of the exhibits, including Ted Bundy's car! Our museum is always working to add artifacts and create new exhibits, and hope that you will check us out on a future visit to D.C.! :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Crime and Punishment”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Two kids and three adults - we went on a Sunday in the late afternoon and avoided the crowds. Interesting displays and hands on activities to keep us all entertained.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank maryann_and_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your visit and kind words... we are glad that you were entertained with all the interactives! Come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing