We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Interesting collection but rather sensational” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Museum of Crime & Punishment - CLOSED

National Museum of Crime & Punishment
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Interesting collection but rather sensational”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

A good history of punishment through the ages but then rather sensational exhibits on gangsters, high profile cases and unsolved mysteries that I was not expecting. Rather high price for admission, too. A special exhibit on dog fighting was a disappointment - with very few items on display and poor presentation (mostly posters). Better things to do in Washington than this attraction.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DaisysMum_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear DaisysMum_11. Glad you enjoyed the historic accuracy of our exhibits. I guess if some of the material seemed sensational, it's because some of the bad guys do commit some pretty heinous crimes. Our intent is never to shock, only to be accurate and to also present the consequences of criminal activity. We realize there are many free museum options in DC but do believe we have something to offer visitors of all ages and work hard at adding new artifacts and exhibits. I am sorry we could not meet all your expectations. If you'd like a return visit "on us" please let me know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    483
    302
    91
    36
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Very informative museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great attraction with lots of interesting information to look at and read about -- perfect place to go to see the highlights of crime! It wasn't very crowded when I visited so I could take my time and look at everything. Very well done.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kit2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Kit2222, So glad you enjoyed your visit - we are the best place to learn about crime in American and the only place to see all these great artifacts!! Come back next time and try one of our forensic labs - you will totally enjoy! Thanks, Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lame”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Crime Museum is by far the lamest museum in DC. I have been to them all. The Crime Museum has almost no decent displays. If your idea of a good time is reading hundreds of posters about crime and the FBI - you'll love it. If you want to actually see any real artifacts - go elsewhere. The Newseum just down the road has a hundred times the artifacts this place has and is a great time. The Spy Museum is much better. Any of the Smithsonians are much more interesting. Don't waste your time at the Crime Museum. Really. It sucks.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank gclites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear gclites, We are always disappointed when we hear somebody didn't enjoy our Museum. You do have to like the subject matter to find it appealing. It is true we do have a lot of reading material but our many original artifacts and huge number of interactives are generally satisfying entertainment for those who prefer to 'skim' rather than delve deeper into the reading material. Our forensic labs are also amazingly popular. We understand we aren't for everybody but always encourage feedback from all our visitors so we can continue to improve. Thanks!! Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castletown
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Could have stay here longer.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Spent about an hour and a half in here and only left because we were doing the hop on hop off bus tour. There is a lot to see and do here, loads of interactive stuff if your into that. Give yourself about 2 hours for this one.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank J P B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi J P B. Thanks so much for the review! It does take a while to see everything here ....we may look small on the outside, but with 3 floors, 25,000 square feet and 100+ interactives, it can keep definitely keep you engaged! Please come back and see us again when you have more time to explore:-) Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The ticket was over $20, but the museum is huge and occupies 3 floors. Although we spent 4 or 5 hours at the museum, I really wasn't interested in most of the displays. If I had been alone, I probably would have left after a couple of hours. Apparently, I know more about crime than I realized because I just didn't learn much.

The museum isn't very well organized, but some of the displays are interesting. There are many interactive displays. I wouldn't go back, but I don't regret visiting

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AtlTravelalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrimeMuseumStaff, Manager at National Museum of Crime & Punishment, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear AtlTravelalot, Glad to get your feedback. You may well have more crime knowledge than most visitors but I am glad you still found yourself engaged for a couple of hours and don't regret coming. With 3 floors, over 25,000 square feet and 100+ interactives we are huge! We have the museum organized by galleries: history of crime, consequences of crime, crime fighting, crime solving, and the America's Most Wanted studio. If you have some suggestions to improve that, please let us know. Thanks!! Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Museum of Crime & Punishment also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing