We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Pizza”
Review of Comet Ping Pong

Comet Ping Pong
Ranked #244 of 3,229 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night
Chevy Chase, MD
Level Contributor
66 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding Pizza”
Reviewed March 25, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Great little restaurant in a strip mall in Northwest DC. Pizzas are made in a wood-fired oven and they are great. The "ping pong" in the name reflects the fact that there are several ping pong tables for customer use (no charge). Excellent venue for kids, birthday parties, etc. Comet also does a brisk take-out business. Pizzas run about $12-$15/pie, and you get 4-6 slices from each.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    87
    21
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
130 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun Place Great Pizza”
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We loved Comet Pizza. The restaurant is full of energy. The ping pong theme is fun and great for kids. It was quite busy, so expect a wait at prime times. I loved my pizza and the beer choices are fun and interesting. We will definitely go back!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Takingeachroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hipster(whatever that implies) , not family”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Another triple D overpriced eatery. Long wait, not worth it. Pizza is good, nothing special, Ping Pong a tourist attraction and the foosball table needs to be thrown out. Bathrooms are disgusting and I'm not that critical (my wife is). Pass this one up and leave it to the locals---will be closed in 2-3 years when the novelty wears off. One positive--if you must go ,wait at the bookstore (politics and prose) close by.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alex v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
337 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good, Very Busy”
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Comet had some very good pizza. We had three varieties, each pizza is individual sized. Nice crust, quality toppings. Crust is the right mix if chewy and crisp. There was an excellent selection of craft brews. We went on a Thursday night about 6:00 and had a 15-20 minute wait and that wait only got longer as the night went along. There are 3 ping pong tables and 1 foosball table, all were very busy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank CraigF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Hipsters Only”
Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I am not sure if most of the people who have written positive reviews on this establishment have ever had good pizza before or if they are just reacting to the hype. First off, if you are not a hipster of any sort you will probably be lost. The decor screams of trying too hard to be cool and the large television had some sort of crazy "find random objects and set them up to fall like dominoes" video playing on a loop (instead of the Olympics or something remotely interesting to a wider audience). I did like that they had a live feed of folks playing ping pong in the back, it was entertaining and made me get the itch to join in on the fun (it was getting late or we might have).

I went with a friend of mine, who had suggested it based on highly positive reports he had gotten, and our two significant others. One of their appetizers (I am blanking on the name of it) is merely leftover pizza crust with no seasoning and a side of ranch dressing... great for reusing ingredients, but incredibly uninspired and tasteless.

My girlfriend and I chose two pizzas that we each thought sounded interesting so we could split them and try slices of each one (they are personal sized). Neither pizza was very edible. The crust was hard and chewy, and yet soggy enough in the center that the toppings immediately fell off the entire slice upon trying to pick it up. While the descriptions sounded amazing in the menu, the product didn't live up to their promise. Plus the wax paper underneath was an unnecessary impediment to cutting it with a knife and fork, unless you enjoy eating paper (in hindsight I would recommend removing it entirely).

The pros: they had a good list of microbrews which I had to have several of to choke down the food, the service was prompt, and my friend got an ice cream sandwich at the end which he said was really good. Their bathroom entrances were crazy unique and had a hidden speakeasy kind of feel (although the bathrooms themselves were filthy in traditional hipster fashion).

I would say only eat here if you are a hipster, if you are a ping pong afficianado, or if you are really into the whole sustainable food movement. If you like great pizza or tasty food in general definitely don't spend $14 on this dreck.

Helpful?
4 Thank nealorsomething
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comet Ping Pong also viewed

 
Washington DC, DC
Washington DC, DC
 

Been to Comet Ping Pong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing