We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Donovan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan
Ranked #33 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great choice!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

First off we enjoyed this hotel as this was a highlight of our trip to Washington. I didn't book on any site and just stopped in. John was training a new hire so I was patient. John jumped in at perfect times with helpful feedback and suggestions he even worked with me on the price as I was thinking of going to the Palomar for a couple nights and he helped me make my choice easier with highlights of both hotels. We choose this hotel because of him. We choose the King bed with the amazing tub. Well worth the upgrade as my wife enjoyed it after a long day walking around the city.

John pulled out a local map highlighted the local attractions and suggested routes to take to see them. The parking was the only frustrating part do to you have to use their service which cost 45 bucks. I would suggest they up the price of the room and include free parking for guest. You also must sign up to the reward program to receive free internet. I suggest you do this before going as the VIP gets good benefits at this hotel. Also when they suggest a cab take it as Washington traffic is rough on the weekends and good luck finding a parking space anywhere in the city. All in all a great choice and the views from the hotel where great as the Whitehouse is about a mile walk. For my first time here it was well worth the extra dollars for the comfort of this hotel.

Side note: the pool is outside and when we went they where under construction. If not for those few minor things I would have easily gave this place a 5 star.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Icetheman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Icetheman,

Thanks for your review.

Darn! Almost had the 5 stars. Sorry about the pool, you should come back this season, it's going to be awesome. As for the parking, we set our prices based on competitive set of Hotels. While DC in general is high, we are in the middle of the pack.

Cheers and we look forward to your next stay,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    847
    465
    161
    50
    26
See reviews for
251
507
82
442
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Donovan is a DC hot spot. I have stayed here twice...excellent overall experience. I've been to their rooftop for various events....awesome city views at poolside. I've eaten at Zentan....ambiance and food to die for. So now I am in the process of deciding where to have my out of town guests stay while visiting Wash., DC for the first time in January 2014 and of course there is not other choice but Donovan. I want my friends to be overly impressed during their first visit and Donovan is my place. Thanks for all of the experiences (moving out of the area soon)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hi Donn D,

Thanks for your review.

So sad! You're moving away! Oh well, all good things must come to an end......unless you stay with us when you visit DC. Appreciate you sharing all your positive experiences with my Hotel.

Best of Luck,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
331 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

I love everything about this hotel. The location, the service, and the views are all fantastic. We are always greeted promptly upon arrival and the upgrade was spectacular. It was a beautiful room with floor to ceiling windows, comfortable bed, and a large tub. The front desk staff is always professional and friendly. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPKinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi SPKinVA,

Thanks for your review.

What great feedback. Appreciate you sharing. Heads up, the rooms are about to get even better. We're in the midst of a renovation right now. Stay tuned folks!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Having not been to DC in 10 years, I really didn't know what we would be getting in terms of location when we booked this hotel. It's in a terrific location - 5-10 minute walk away from the White House, Chinatown, and the cool restaurants and shops of 14th Street NW. Very accessible by Metro via Blue Line from Reagan National Airport. Loved the room design. The bed was firm and very comfortable after 2 long days of walking around the city. Unfortunately the shower pressure in my room was too low and even when turned up all the way on hot, it still sent out cold water. The sink drained slowly, which was irritating, and some of the furniture needed touching up. Internet was fast, but occasionally dropped out. It seemed like there was only one working elevator, and we frequently took the stairs to get down. For the price we paid though, and the location, I would probably stay here again, in spite of all the quibbles.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soonerfaninbhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi sonnerfaninbhm,

Thanks for the review.

Yes, our location is spot on. Really can't beat it being in the middle of everything. As for some of the other items you mentioned, I have to agree with you. So you know, we're currently under renovation, thus the slow elevators. I will be overly excited to present a brand new room product in 2014!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

The Donovan House is definitely not old school. From the lobby with the swinging seats to the circular shower with tge square shower head, it's downright hip. I enjoyed the free wifi and the cool mini bar with freebies just for signing into the rewards program. The platform bex wasn't plush but it wasn't bad. The breakfast at the adjoining restaurant wasn't delicious and was overpriced -- 5 bucks for a small grapefruit juice? But I ate it. Its the kibd of place might grow on you especially if you have as pet. Pets are welcome here! But I thought the square industrial sink gimmicky. And not very functional. And there was no coffee maker or ice bucket. But I liked the Donovan. Its for the beautiful people who don't mind being in a cool if unfunctional room.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SistahTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi SistahTraveler,

Thanks for your review.

Sounds like an overall positive stay. I agree on the functionality comments. Looks pretty awesome, but not the smartest design. The back story on the property is that a prior management company designed it to be very lifestyle and style focused, but not the most functional. We're pleased to report that we''re currently undergoing a rooms renovation that will primarily address functionality. Stay tuned, it's going to be pretty awesome.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

It was my first visit to DC and the Donovan House Hotel. I will however be coming back. Free coffee in the mornings and free wine in the evening are always welcome. However, the friendliness of the staff and the quality of the rooms combined with the good food make it a keeper when planning a visit to DC!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GlenCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Hi GlenCH,

Thanks for your review.

I appreciate you sharing your experience with our signature Morning Coffee and Tea Service as well as our Evening Manager Hosted Reception. Both are uniquely personal and close at heart with Kimpton. A couple of our services that guests love, as did you.

See you soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

I have stayed a lot of places in DC, none can compare with the Donovan House!
The location is very convenient to downtown and all the sights of DC. The staff here is exceptional and so helpful! Room service is delicious and very punctual! Being a design addict I loved the room and bath design! The space was perfect and clean with great windows and also a warmth that you don't often get with modern design. In a word Donovan House is- Perfection!

Room Tip: Definitely upgrade to a suite, the larger bedroom and sitting area is so great, and the bathroom is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Hi Jeremy H,

Thanks for your review.

Wow, perfection! Some big words to live up too. So happy you enjoyed. You mentioned the design, so I wanted to pass along that we are refreshing and updating the rooms. We'll be 100% complete in March.

See you then.

Happy Holidays,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan

Property: Kimpton Donovan
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Donovan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing