We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$399
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$446
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$405
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$279
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$457
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$157
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
JW Marriott Washington, DC(Washington DC)
$509
$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$265
Official Website
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton George Hotel(Washington DC)
$363
$329
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,813)
Filter reviews
1,813 results
Traveler rating
1,041
510
177
51
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,041
510
177
51
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthomas circlerooftop poolspiral showerwine hourzentan restaurantfront desksoaking tubchocolate covered strawberrieswhite houseyoga matbottle of champagnemini barlogan circleboutique hotelwater pressureupon checkthe entire staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,327 - 1,332 of 1,813 reviews
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I decided to take a chance and go with the "Express Deals" on http://Priceline.com, i will almost always do this from now on. I was able to get the The Donovan House for $101/per night. I couldn't have been happier with the service and location. Harold Harold Han, the assistant front-end manager was excellent. He upgraded my room and add a nice bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberry (it was an anniversary). The location was only a couple of blocks from the White House and everything else was easy to get to. Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexEscalante1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Hi AlexEscalante1,

Thank for your review.

WOW, what a deal! Nice job grabbing it while it lasts, typically our rates are much higher. Couldn't agree with you more about Harald, he's great.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

What can I say?!? Kimpton just keeps on raising the bar! This is now my favourite Kimpton experience. The service is amazing, very attentive and friendly. First hotel staff to remember my name.

The room reminds me of our home. Chic furniture and white walls. We like the bed, shell-like shower, tub. Pool is small but still swimmable. For wine hour, there are whites, reds, and sake. Nice touch with a recycling bin in the room.

Great location. Walkable to the Mall and good restaurants. View of Thomas Circle is desirable.

A special thanks to Agent Cleopatra for making our stay memorable! You are the best!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Hi Gifu,

Thanks for your TripAdvisor review.

Agent Cleopatra is one of our Top Secret Agents. She does a great job keeping our guests on mission.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My girlfriends and I chose the Donovan House for a staycation Bachelorette weekend. It had everything we wanted - fun rooms, a pool and a restaurant that would accommodate a party/dinner. We spent the day at the rooftop pool (it gets REALLY busy on nice days, so get there early during prime season). It was rainy in the morning, so we scored a coveted cabana spot. We had some snafus with our room reservation (which is why this review doesn't get 5 stars), but the floor manager was able to correct it after the front desk employees fumbled through a non-explanation as to why our room wasn't ready at 5pm...

The real highlight to our trip was the accommodating staff at Zentan. I organized a dinner in one of their "birdcage" rooms (a circular table partitioned off by curtains) and our waiter was absolutely fantastic. The service was perfect and the food was delicious (we talked about the tofu appetizer for days afterward). After dinner, the staff cleared all of our gifts and party items away to our rooms and we went out. Great, fun stay and perfect for what we were looking for!

(Ps - if you ask, they'll have a goldfish bowl sent to your room)

Room Tip: There are some rooms that face an apartment building courtyard - very quiet
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2013

Hi Kate G,

Thanks for the review.

Sounds like a great staycation. Sorry for the confusion with check in. Sounds like the team in Zentan did their part and made up for it.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Overall, this hotel is very fru fru -- meaning the staff are very focused on looking cool, often at the sacrifice of basic service elements of a hotel.

Examples include:
1) the worst pool bartender known to man. He offered nothing and knew nothing. Between is texting people he'd look up to do his job occasionally. This guy was more focused on his cool pool job than providing service.

2) the pool upstairs was full of chair hogs. Good luck finding a chair.

3) hungry? Not gonna eat at this hotel during the day on weekends??? We ordered jimmy johns for lunch. Bartender said he didn't know if room service was open..... No offer to check for us, which it wasn't.

4) room. Very modern, but clean. Also waited until 3pm for a room. Ridiculous, given our friends we checked in with had a room immediately???

I think Kimpton could stand to send their Quality folks to this hotel to check standards. Good location, but way to hung on themselves...

To be objective, it probably is Ok for most - but we just don't do fru fru.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bryan5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Hi bryan5150,

Thanks for your review.

Sorry to hear about your experience at the Rooftop Bar. We're never to cool, to be uncool. I'll speak with the staff up there. Regarding the pool, we don't have a hard policy on when people have to get our of their chairs. It's very popular up there, so I understand if it's hard to find a seat. Lastly, check in time is guaranteed for 3PM. Seems like your friends may have had the good luck of a few available rooms prior to 3PM.

Appreciate it again,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Spent one night here and got a great rate bidding on Priceline for $92. Always an added bonus when being a Kimpton In-Touch Member gets you free internet and a $10 credit on the mini-bar. Valet was $40 but convenient.

Room was small, but comfortable and swank. Good location for walking to many attractions. Staff was friendly and helpful. Did not get up to the rooftop bar. They had a complimentary wine hour in the lobby for happy hour. I would be happy to get this hotel again on Priceline.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2013

Hi relayer,

Thanks for your review.

Great deal and a great stay. You've got to jump on those specials as they don't come often.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews