We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kimpton does it again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Keswick, Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Kimpton does it again”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I am on my way to being a Kimpton groupie. New York, DC, Alexandria and next time -San Francisco. We look at Kimptons first in any city. Donovan House was stylish and well appointed. Staff was friendly and helpful. I enjoyed staying in a different past of DC - previously had been in Dupont or Foggy Bottom or Georgetown. Good restaurants nearby (but no real close Metro stop).
Nice breakfast (only meal I ate here). Rooftop pool is small but nice for an afternoon respite after shopping or sightseeing.
Saturday night there was a band on the roof -I am sure it was a fun place but the noise did filter down to my room (I was on 9th floor). Might be worth asking about if you want to get to sleep.

Room Tip: A lower floor might solve the Saturday night band noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carsprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Hi carsprin,

Thanks so much for your review!

Look at your "Mr. Kimpton" visiting all our Hotels. I think we have a fan? Also, really appreciated the comments about the Rooftop and Band Music Levels. We are trying to balance a lively and entertaining environment with one that is equally relaxing and revitalizing.

One note on Metro, McPherson Square is 3 blocks south of Hotel, so long as you use the 14th Street Entrance.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    887
    478
    166
    49
    27
See reviews for
262
521
85
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was my 2nd stay. It is an awesome hotel. Rooms are beautiful with great views. Lovely sunset view from the rooftop bar and pool. Shops, restaurants and park all in walking distance. Looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clubb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi Clubb2,

Thanks so much for your review.

I guess the 2nd and 3rd times the charm! Glad you enjoyed another stay and hope we to see you again.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, n.y.
1 review
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I were attending a wedding of a close friend's son and a block of rooms were secured at the Donovan House . We found the staff and the accomodations were excellent. We were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful accomodations. I was not aware that Kimpton Hotels were pet friendly and was pleasantly surprised by the amount of patrons who had their pets with them.I would not hesutate to return to a Kimpton Hotel again should the need arise and would highly reccomend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Wherever you need to travel check to see if there is a Kimpton hotel and book a room. You will be ha...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was most impressed with the hotels practices.Their Green services such as use of recyclabes,water conservation fixtures was a pleasant surprise and most welcome.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HappyCouple153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi HappyCouple153,

Thanks so much for your review!

I'm so happy your visit to DC went so well. Wedding is already a beautiful thing, a great stay just makes it that much better. Come back soon, wedding or not!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Donovan in DC is our second Kimpton Hotel we've visited. There WILL be more visits in the future! While we arrived on time, our room "wasn't quite perfect," as we were told by the front desk. So, he provided us with complementary drinks on the rooftop terrace by the pool. OH EM GEE. Wasn't quite expecting the Spring Break party atmosphere that we walked into. Lots of buns and groping going on. While my wife was a bit uncomfortable, I decided to enjoy the "view." I let the front desk know in advance that we were visiting the Donovan for an Anniversary celebration. When our room was ready (about 20 minutes later), our keys were brought to us on the roof. Our room (King Superior - 512) was just AH-MAY-ZING. The view was unlike anything I'd experienced. Clean...Modern...spacious. If this is their version of perfection, well, they succeeded. After our night out on the town (Blues Alley in Geogetown), we returned to our room, only to find chilled champaigne and chocolate dipped strawberries and an Anniversary card waiting for us! A TOTAL and WONDERFUL surprise. I cannot thank Clay the Concierge ENOUGH for this wonderful gift!! First the ROUGE, now the DONOVAN...next? The Palomar. The DC Kimpton Hotel tour continues!! Thank you Donovan Staff for a WONDERFUL Anniversary celebration!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi samenco,

OMG, your review is awesome!

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with our Hotel and Staff. What a great way to celebrate an anniversary. Clay is pretty awesome, so I'll make sure to let him know about this review.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Donovan House has fun, modernist decor in deep plum and silver with cheeky "spy" theme. All staff we spoke with are are friendly and helpful. Extremely fast room service for breakfast and dinner and good quality dinner coming from the Setan Asian-fusion restaurant. No kids menu but we were able to order pizza for delivery. Rooftop pool with surrounding redwood deck is fun. It's definitely meant for a sophisticated dip and sunning but my 7 year old enjoyed it too. Note that the pool is not heated. The National Geographic museum is only about 2 blocks away which is worth noting. Was surprised that the room did not have any info in the hotel binder about surrounding restaurants, attractions, etc. Still, staff can answer most questions! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi FreqTravel77,

Thanks so much for your review!

Glad you and your family were able to enjoy the newly renovated DNV Rooftop. It features a great guest-only pool experience by day and Rooftop Lounge by night. I am also very pleased to hear that you were able to rely on our staff to make friendly, efficient and "Like a Local" recommendations.

Come back soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the second Kimpton Hotel I have stayed in. I really want to like it but the décor while very innovative is a little tired and the service while good is not excellent. I think my expectations of this boutique chain are just a little higher than what they are delivering. The location of the Donovan House is pretty good. It is a 3 block walk to the metro so I have to admit I have resorted to taxi rides instead of spending the time to walk to the stop and then take the time to get to my destination. Overall, I am fairly ambivalent over this one. I have stayed in a lot of 4 star hotels in DC and this just falls in the middle of the pack.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Cincytraveller_10,

Thanks so much for your review.

I really appreciate all your honest feedback about your experience. I am excited to share with you and the entire TripAdvisor community that the Donovan House will be undergoing a rooms renovation at the end of this year, Additionally, I will be sure to share your comments regarding service with my Department Leaders. We car very much about guest feedback and use it to continuously improve.

Cheers and I do hope you will return,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here with a group of 20+ guests. The property is quaint but has good service. It has a wonderful rooftop bar and lounge and the only restaurant on property is pretty good. The rooms are a good size, modern and clean. The property is very central and within walking distance to major landmarks. In addition, the staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi bballi,

Thanks for your review.

Appreciate the great comments about your stay. Sp happy to hear the staff treated you so well.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
397 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
163 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,139 reviews
Loews Madison Hotel
#74 of 141 in Washington DC
2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Property: Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing