We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Outstanding weekend stay.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #28 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Albany, n.y.
1 review
“Outstanding weekend stay.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

My wife and I were attending a wedding of a close friend's son and a block of rooms were secured at the Donovan House . We found the staff and the accomodations were excellent. We were pleasantly surprised at the wonderful accomodations. I was not aware that Kimpton Hotels were pet friendly and was pleasantly surprised by the amount of patrons who had their pets with them.I would not hesutate to return to a Kimpton Hotel again should the need arise and would highly reccomend it to a friend.

Room Tip: Wherever you need to travel check to see if there is a Kimpton hotel and book a room. You will be ha...
See more room tips
Green Features: I was most impressed with the hotels practices.Their Green services such as use of recyclabes,water conservation fixtures was a pleasant surprise and most welcome.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank HappyCouple153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Hi HappyCouple153,

Thanks so much for your review!

I'm so happy your visit to DC went so well. Wedding is already a beautiful thing, a great stay just makes it that much better. Come back soon, wedding or not!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    710
    408
    150
    42
    21
See reviews for
198
431
70
391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (371)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Donovan in DC is our second Kimpton Hotel we've visited. There WILL be more visits in the future! While we arrived on time, our room "wasn't quite perfect," as we were told by the front desk. So, he provided us with complementary drinks on the rooftop terrace by the pool. OH EM GEE. Wasn't quite expecting the Spring Break party atmosphere that we walked into. Lots of buns and groping going on. While my wife was a bit uncomfortable, I decided to enjoy the "view." I let the front desk know in advance that we were visiting the Donovan for an Anniversary celebration. When our room was ready (about 20 minutes later), our keys were brought to us on the roof. Our room (King Superior - 512) was just AH-MAY-ZING. The view was unlike anything I'd experienced. Clean...Modern...spacious. If this is their version of perfection, well, they succeeded. After our night out on the town (Blues Alley in Geogetown), we returned to our room, only to find chilled champaigne and chocolate dipped strawberries and an Anniversary card waiting for us! A TOTAL and WONDERFUL surprise. I cannot thank Clay the Concierge ENOUGH for this wonderful gift!! First the ROUGE, now the DONOVAN...next? The Palomar. The DC Kimpton Hotel tour continues!! Thank you Donovan Staff for a WONDERFUL Anniversary celebration!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samenco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi samenco,

OMG, your review is awesome!

Thanks so much for sharing your experience with our Hotel and Staff. What a great way to celebrate an anniversary. Clay is pretty awesome, so I'll make sure to let him know about this review.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Donovan House has fun, modernist decor in deep plum and silver with cheeky "spy" theme. All staff we spoke with are are friendly and helpful. Extremely fast room service for breakfast and dinner and good quality dinner coming from the Setan Asian-fusion restaurant. No kids menu but we were able to order pizza for delivery. Rooftop pool with surrounding redwood deck is fun. It's definitely meant for a sophisticated dip and sunning but my 7 year old enjoyed it too. Note that the pool is not heated. The National Geographic museum is only about 2 blocks away which is worth noting. Was surprised that the room did not have any info in the hotel binder about surrounding restaurants, attractions, etc. Still, staff can answer most questions! Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FreqTravel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi FreqTravel77,

Thanks so much for your review!

Glad you and your family were able to enjoy the newly renovated DNV Rooftop. It features a great guest-only pool experience by day and Rooftop Lounge by night. I am also very pleased to hear that you were able to rely on our staff to make friendly, efficient and "Like a Local" recommendations.

Come back soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
115 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is the second Kimpton Hotel I have stayed in. I really want to like it but the décor while very innovative is a little tired and the service while good is not excellent. I think my expectations of this boutique chain are just a little higher than what they are delivering. The location of the Donovan House is pretty good. It is a 3 block walk to the metro so I have to admit I have resorted to taxi rides instead of spending the time to walk to the stop and then take the time to get to my destination. Overall, I am fairly ambivalent over this one. I have stayed in a lot of 4 star hotels in DC and this just falls in the middle of the pack.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cincytraveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Hi Cincytraveller_10,

Thanks so much for your review.

I really appreciate all your honest feedback about your experience. I am excited to share with you and the entire TripAdvisor community that the Donovan House will be undergoing a rooms renovation at the end of this year, Additionally, I will be sure to share your comments regarding service with my Department Leaders. We car very much about guest feedback and use it to continuously improve.

Cheers and I do hope you will return,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here with a group of 20+ guests. The property is quaint but has good service. It has a wonderful rooftop bar and lounge and the only restaurant on property is pretty good. The rooms are a good size, modern and clean. The property is very central and within walking distance to major landmarks. In addition, the staff was friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bballi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Hi bballi,

Thanks for your review.

Appreciate the great comments about your stay. Sp happy to hear the staff treated you so well.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I ended up landing a room at the Donovan House by way of Priceline. I never stayed at any other Kimpton properties, so was looking forward to it. The front lobby was pretty modern...and by that hanging chairs, lots of art/design effort went into making it "cool". It's tight quarters in the entire hotel. The hallways were kind of trippy. I think my floor was dark purple with neon green exit lights and lots of mirrors. Definitely catering to the Euro-club crowd. Got to my room and it was nice. very modern, lots of white, shower looked like something from The Jetsons, but it was cool and it was a different experience which is what I think they're going for. Definitely not a place to bring the kids or grandmom. I'm 35 and it was almost too cool for me! the amenities are tight. I workout and the gym was fairly tight and small. Small for a hotel. All in all, a nice place with a different scene going on.

Green Features: I didn't notice any environmental issues or practices.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bmal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Hi bmalin77,

Thanks so much for your review.

I always love guest feedback. Sometimes that means the "hard truth". I reviewed your comments in detail and can see your perspective. I have good news, there is a full rooms renovation planned for the end of this year and the main items being addressed are functionality, condition, ability to work in the room and also to "soften" things up a bit. We're really committing to making the Hotel a welcoming place for all.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Every time I stay at a Kimpton, I am truly satisfied! This is why:
1. Kimpton hotels always have great decor. The Donvan house has a "spy" theme with modern furnishings. So fun!
2. Staff is friendly, kind and accommodating. When I checked in, I was offered a glass of wine during the check-in process. All members of staff greeted me with a smile and kind words. They offered to help in any way they could.
3. The Donovan house went over the top to make my wedding anniversary a dream come true. I was offered a room upgrade and had a little treat waiting for my wife and I. It shows that staff really cares and goes the extra mile.
4. The food is always great. We had breakfast at the hotel restaurant. So fresh, delicious and healthy!

I plan to stay at a Kimpton every chance I get! My hotel chain of choice! THANK YOU!

Room Tip: Some rooms have floor-to-ceiling city views at an affordable price!
See more room tips
Green Features: Kimpton is clearly eco-friendly! It offers an eco-program with details in each room.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Assistant General Manager at The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Hi Steven V,

Thanks so much for your review.

1. What an awesome stay!
2. I am assuming you are coming back?
3. Happy Anniversary!
4. Check out Zentan for Dinner next. Chef Jen is awesome!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
The George, a Kimpton Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,937 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#69 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#57 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Donovan, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing