We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Donovan House exceeded every expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The Donovan House exceeded every expectation”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I went to the Donovan house for a night as a "staycation" getaway, since I only live about a mile from the property. It's the only DC-area Kimpton I hadn't stayed at, and now that I have I can say without reservation that it's extraordinary in its own way.

The Staff
As always, the Kimpton staff were welcoming and friendly. I have to give an uber special shout out to Clay, who was absolutely delightful as a host during happy hour. He went the extra mile to make me feel special, and also acknowledged me as InnerCircle.

The Property/Room
Gorgeous lobby, and one very cool feature was the projector playing old movies above the drink service area during happy hour. The room was large with big windows providing an awesome view of Thomas Circle. Lots of floorspace, deep tub and very cool spiral shower.

The Restaurant
I will visit Zentan again and again, and highly recommend it to anyone staying in or visiting DC. It has a very chic vibe, a creative menu, amazing cocktails and excellent service. I had a delicious zucchini and tofu stir-fry; my mouth is watering just thinking about it.

I can't wait to go back in the summer and check out the rooftop pool and bar! Kudos to Kimpton - 5 stars all the way!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d_hops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi there d_hops,

Thanks so much for your awesome review!

I tell ya, this review exceeded every expectation of mine. Thanks for being so detailed and recognizing Clay. He's one of our very best and I will be sure to share this feedback with him.

Hope to see you soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    904
    484
    167
    50
    27
See reviews for
267
530
86
468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (428)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philly
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Donovan House is in a great location, especially if you are traveling with your dog. There is a nice grass area across the street at Thomas Circle. The staff was wonderful. Everyone was very pleasant and helpful. Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Had a corner room which was very spacious and had a great view of Thomas Circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karch75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi karch75,

Thank you for your review.

We've got some of the best views in DC. Thanks for the testimonial. The King Premier rooms are the best category to book, to ensure a great view.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Donovan House as a family group gathering for a weekend. The hotel was appropriate for young and old. In fact the staff delivered two goldfish for my two grandsons to enjoy during their stay! We chose the plan that included a continental breakfast. The breakfast was very nice and had alot of choices.
The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful or friendlier. Everybody, from the front desk to bellman to doorman to restaurant staff and maintenance - everybody we encountered was great.
The rooms had a modern decor, which was quirky and fun. They have robes hanging in the closet, which is a nice touch.
It was a great experience in downtown Washington.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Thomas Square. There is endless people watching opportunities!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MollyT07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi there MollyT07,

Thanks for your review!

Wow, so much positive to say about the Hotel. Also very pleased you mentioned we are age appropriate for all! We love everyone and pets!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute to stay the night before the inauguration. What a surprise. We got a king size bed room at a very reasonable price, considering the date. The hotel was clean and the staff was great! The room wasn't large with only a walk-in shower, but what do expect in downtown dc.

A big surprise was that in the morning the staff had put out hand warmers, water bottles, newspapers, and maps. What a great hotel.

We will stay there again.

Room Tip: a high room to get away from traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi Robert S,

Thank you so much for your review.

So happy you were able to sneak in right before Inauguration. It was a super busy time. Appreciate you recognizing the goodies we put out. Always like to surprise and delight our travelers.

Cheers to 4 more years,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed at the Donovan house hotel for 3 days, in a great room with a view of Thomas circle. The rooms and the hotel in general has really nice design. Service was excellent, and they have a very cosy lobby with complimentary wine in the afternoon.
Nice breakfast buffet in the nice restaurant.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of Thomas circle
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camilla V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hi Camilla V,

Thank you for your review!

All the way from Copenhagen. Love it. You mentioned the Thomas Circle Views. Best room type to book is a King Premier.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Frequent DC traveller--first time at Donovan House (Kimpton). Loved it. Large bright and clean rooms. Great location and wonderful staff. Did not use restaurant but plenty within easy walk. Metro stop easy walk. My only complaint was missed wake up call on my departure day which made for real rush to airport I could have done without. Otherwise very pleased and I definitely would stay here again. Ask for room facing Circle on floors 7-10 for best view.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markobrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Hi MarkkOBrown,

Thank you so much for your review.

Yikes! A missed wake up call? That's totally out of character and I am so terribly sorry. Glad you had a great stay otherwise and thank you for sharing the feedback. Will use this information to train the team.

Ding Ding Ding,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have been trying to book a reservation using a group code for the past week. I have left message after message for sales. When I call and ask to speak to someone in-house, I am treated rudely and transferred to the call center.

If it's this difficult to make a reservation, I cannot imagine what it would be like to actually stay there. Clearly, they are not interested in cultivating customers.

I would rather pay substantially more per night than stay here, simply based on reservation attempts.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank librarangrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Hi librarangrrrl,

Thanks for your review.

I am so terribly sorry that you had such a challenging experience with our reservation process. I am shocked that you were treated rudely. This is not something that happens in our Hotel and I plan to research it fully. If you wouldn't mind, please contact me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com. I would appreciate the time.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
429 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,165 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#87 of 141 in Washington DC
178 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
2,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Property: Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing