We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and edgy retro hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #28 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This retro-style hotel is conveniently located for those doing business with the US government or multilateral organizations. The rooms are tastefully decorated with low platform beds, excellent pillows and lots of storage space. The bathrooms are definitely the highlight with rain showerheads, lots of towels, nice toiletries, and lots of space (shelves, hooks and a bench) so that your things do not end up in a pile or on the floor.

The hotel has a happy hour from 5-6 with wine and light snacks as well as coffee, tea and hot chocolate available each morning. There is lots of seating in the lobby that lends itself well to meetings. There is also a good range of restaurants in the area ranging from Starbucks to fine dining. Join the reward program for free wi-fi (fast connection with no reception issues) and a mini-bar credit. The staff are very attentive and helpful.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank art_nouveau_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2013

Hi art_nouveau_5,

Thanks for your review!

Really appreciated your thoughtful comments. You mentioned plenty of great restaurants in the surrounding area, but don't forget Zentan which is connected to our Hotel. It features awesome New-Asian Cuisine with inspired sushi options too!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,725)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,398 - 1,404 of 1,725 reviews

Reviewed January 30, 2013

Great hotel, great rooms, super service all around an excellent choice. The rooms are modern (think James Bond from the late 60's) with a comfortable feeling. It looked like it was straight out of dwell magazine.

Every aspect of the hotel was spot on. My room was spotless when I got in, as if I were the first person to ever stay there. All the amenities were in order, the his and hers robes (the last couple of Kimptons I have stayed in missed this) the right pillows, everything was just in its place. I had dinner in the restaurant down stairs not expecting much and was pleasantly surprised. The food and service was outstanding.

The location is great, easy to get anywhere in town, cabs were easy to get, and the neighborhood is very nice. This is my new favorite place in DC. I am here every 6 weeks or so, just sorry it took this long to find this place.

I highly recommend staying here. I will be back for business, but if I lived nearby I would definitely have it on my list for a weekend away. Great job by the staff and crew.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomad737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi Greg J,

Thanks for completing a your review about your stay.

Wow, what an awesome stay! Thank you for all your feedback. With your visits being every 6 weeks or so, I do hope you will always select the Donovan House. If you need assistance in making your next reservation, please email me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

We went for a quick weekend getaway. The Donovan House was an excellent choice. The rooms were beautiful (wish I could have brought the tub home with me) and very relaxing. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We were close to just about anything we needed and the restaurant was great. Atmosphere, food and service were excellent. We will definitely be going back and trying other Kimpton hotels.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMAus511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi Tonya A,

Thanks for your review!

I love the tubs too. So uniquely designed and cozy. Not sure which room type you stayed in, but our King Premiers and all our Suite Categories Feature the tubs.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Great experience overall! Very pleased with the room, location, service, etc. And great restaurant adjoining. Would definitely recommend for a weekend getaway. As usual, Kimpton delivers. There are a lot of great Kimpton properties in the DC area. Just added this one to my list.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GHall10011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi GHall10011,

Thanks for the quick review!

Seems like you enjoyed our Hotel. We're a keeper for sure!

See you soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Spacious modern room with fantastic decor and ambience.
My group moved everything about the room.
Staff were amazing although we did come across an employee mark who was quite rude and seemed UN interested.overall wonderful experience and would gladly stay again

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chuckles89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hi chuckles89,

Thanks for your review.

Seems like you just had a wonderful time. I appreciate you sharing with your fellow travelers on TripAdvisor. As a side note, I did personally speak with Mark about this review. While we are unable to determine the specific interaction due to privacy guidelines, I can assure you that Mark is excellent and one of our very best when it comes to guest service. He did personally apologize for appearing disinterested.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

The staff makes this hotel unique, especially Felicia and Jamina. They went out of their way to make our trip special, even surprising my son with a birthday present! Early check-in, late check-out, and free wifi and $10 of minibar goods (sign up to be a Kimpton member for free) add pleasantly to the experience.

Just four blocks from the Metro, we were a very short train ride from everything DC has to offer. If you like the comforts from home, there is a 24-hour CVS across the street, and a Dunkin Donuts and an Au Bon Pain a block or two away. I also saw a sandwich shop and a soup/salad place nearby. The hotel provided a list of real restaurants but they all were expensive and had too fancy food for my family so we ate downtown.

I did not care for the room decor. The bathroom takes up far too much space and has a translucent pod-like shower that shines throughout the room whenever someone turns on the bathroom light. However, the room was clean and housekeeping was excellent. Adding a table would make it much easier for eating and computer use. The floor-to-ceiling window was a nice touch and we had a great view. However, traffic noise was loud even on the sixth floor.

The continental breakfast was filling but could use some more down-to-earth choices and better attention. I would not recommend it when there are more affordable choices so close. I did not try the restaurant for lunch or dinner. The lobby is very Jetson-like, and many guests seemed to enjoy the free coffee in the morning and the happy hour in the afternoon.

Overall, I would definitely go to a Kimpton again but probably not this one because of the shower lighting up the room. I do, however, highly praise the staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbsboyBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Hello barbsboyBoston,

Thank so much for your detailed review.

I always love the real specific reviews. They help me in providing feedback on where our operation is succeeding and where we could use some tightening up. Was super pleased to see you interacted with both Felicia and Janina. They are pretty awesome. As for a future stay, we do have a limited number of rooms that do not feature the "Nautilus" Shower. I would be happy to help arrange one of those for your next stay.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at this same hotel twice in the summer of 2011 on a business trip and had a wonderful time on both trips! Somehow when I arrived for both visits I had been upgraded to a larger room for what seemed like no reason at all other than it was late and they had one available and decided to give it to me. The staff was the greatest and nicest that I have ever encountered. Between the Concierge (skinny African- American gentleman who was professional, yet friendly in a very cool manner) and the doorman that met me at my car and carried my things, helping with everything along the way (athletic looking young man, I believe he was from North Carolina near where my son lives, and was ex-military, very friendly and professional with the same cool manner as the Concierge), and the very attractive young woman at the front desk, I couldn't have been happier with the service. It made me wonder if they only hired attractive young people who had that (please excuse my use of this term) professional "swagger" attitude.
NOW, to get to my main point- I stayed here again just recently and from beginning to end had nothing but problems. Once I learned that there was a different owner, and was not a Thompson hotel anymore, I thought I had found the problem. Before this visit I was under the impression that Kimpton was a great company and had only heard good things about them, yet here I was, impossibly frustrated with them. First of all, the staff that I had come to trust so much was gone. I didn't see a single one of the people that I had met on my previous visits and I don't blame them for leaving. The room was unkempt and room service was worse. No upgrade (which I can't really expect, just had my hopes up), no help with my bags, dirty room, breakfast was unbearable and the manager seemed to be just fine with the lackadaisical service the staff was providing. Even my face-to-face brief review of my experience during checkout went unnoticed. All I have to say is WHAT HAPPENED??? The only good thing about the change was that you can join a rewards program to save on the ridiculous wi-fi cost. That's it. I don't think I'll be staying there again, it's a shame because I finally had a place away from home that I enjoyed visiting.

Room Tip: Join the rewards program and ask for a handicapped accessible room (if they have plenty available) i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Hi Bryan L,

Thank you for posting a review about your stay.

I always appreciate perspective from guests. You have quite a unique one as your previous stay occurred when the Hotel was under previous management. I can tell how disappointed you were with your stay. In turn, I too am disappointed but hope for an opportunity to make it up to you. When time allows, could you please contact me at Abe.liao@donovanhousehotel.com? I am fully committed to making the experience at our hotel and exceptional one, your feedback would go a long way to helping me achieve that end.

Hope to chat soon,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 142 in Washington DC
549 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 142 in Washington DC
2,198 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#51 of 142 in Washington DC
2,173 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,229 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#61 of 142 in Washington DC
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#18 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $131 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing