We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“With some TLC, this will be a five-star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #30 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“With some TLC, this will be a five-star hotel”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I want to love the Donovan House, but it's not yet fully evolved. The lobby is charming, the restaurant is excellent, the wine happy hour is lovely, but there's a lingering shabbiness from the hotel's previous owner. The room we had was large and comfortable, and the spiral shower was unique and engaging, but the carpet was worn and dingy, there were cracked tiles in the bathroom, and there was a dated vibe that the luxurious platform bed couldn't quite erase.

We had one dollar coupons for breakfast, which was a nice option, but they changed the breakfast selection half-way through our stay, and the warm elements -- scrambled eggs, bacon, and hash browns -- disappeared over night. The breakfast staff explained the change and half-way through breakfast, after I'd filled on continental fare, offered to provide eggs at no charge. It was a nice touch, but it came a little late. (I don't think the breakfast would be worth the published rate of $19, by the way.)

The internet was blazing fast, and the staff was courteous and helpful. There are many things to like about the hotel and its location, and with a bit of polish, it will become a wonderful, inviting destination within the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoswellExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi RoswellExpat,

Thanks for your review.

It's true, we did take over running the Donovan House from a previous management company. We are tirelessly working on upgrading and improving the facility to consistently meet our guest's expectations. While that process will take time, I am most pleased to see that you had a great experience with our staff. As time goes on, we will address more and more.

See you soon?
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    902
    484
    167
    49
    27
See reviews for
266
530
86
468
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock, Arkansas
2 reviews
Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Donovan House provides comfortable-to-luxury accommodations with a client focus. Happy hour beer and wine in the comfortable lobby in front of the fire, great coffee in the same place in the morning, friendly staff and an Asian-fusion restaurant connected to the hotel make a nice starting place for a business trip. I was also happy to receive complimentary room upgrade for no apparent reason except that I am a Kimpton InTouch member and probably looked pretty bedraggled checking in. Other InTouch amenities included a Washington Post at my door each morning and a $10 Raid-the-Minibar voucher. Kimpton properties are a home-away-from home when I'm on travel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Momma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Momma O,

Thank you so much for completing a review about your stay.

I love the title of your review. I believe that at the end of the day, its all about taking care of our guests. My team and I strive to provide this same, "home-away-from-home", experience for all of our visitors. Hopefully it won't be long till you return.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've had mixed results at a few Kimpton's--dated, small rooms is one common complaint of mine. I really enjoyed this Kimpton, though. The decor in the lobby and rooms is fun and modern, but in a 1970's Bond kind of way. In fact, the hotel played Bond films in the lobby; especially charming during the free wine tasting hour. I also liked that the hostess came around during the wine hour offering a "last pour" and the very good Asian restauran, Zentan, attached to the hotel offered great appetizers during the wine hour. Zentan is also where beakfast is served--it's a basic continental spread but you can order eggs for an extra cost The breakfast is an absurd $19 though so either wait for a special from the hotel or get a coupon for being a Kimpton member (if available) or go elsewhere for breakfast (nearby Dupont and U Street have plenty of restaurants to choose--I still love Kramer's for breakfast/brunch). Zentan is a nice place for dinner too; the sushi is great. Loved the king size platform bed in the room (very comfortable) and the generous towels and amentities. The curtains block out any street light or noise, which is very nice since the hotel is right on Thomas Circle. The staff is very friendly and helpful. My only cons, really, are the expensive breakfast and the very expensive parking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank noelle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi noelle75,

Thanks for the awesome review.

Looks like you had a great stay. We are really trying to live the story of Bond......James Bond. Happy you got a chance to experience his world of espionage. The breakfast price and offerings have recently changed to reflect a little more value and options. The previous review also mentions the parking price. I agree that it can seem a little high, but it is competitive with the market.

Shaken not stirred,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Excelsior, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Excellent bed and pillows. Large two room layout that readily accommodated a rollaway. Great location for exploring DC. Few restaurants nearby (business area) but metro closeby and $10-$15 taxi to Georgetown or the Hill. Decent room rate but watch out for the parking rate. Would stay here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi Mark L,

Thanks so much for your review.

I like to think we have one of the most walk able locations in all of DC. You can reach all the cool neighborhoods that DC has to offer. I understand the comment about our parking rates as well. After completing numerous competitive surveys of Hotels in our Area and Service Level, they are competitive with the market. Downtown DC can be hard for parking.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Small boutique hotel, staff is friendly and attentive, rooms are chic in a strange 70's way, cocoon showers and ample spaces. their housekeeping service is a little slow but their restaurant Zentan specializing in asian food is very good, the bar at Zentian is excellent as well. A hotel geared for the upscale younger crowds. I didn´t go to the swimming pool and bar on the roof because is winter but was highly reccomended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eolmosc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi eolmosc,

Thanks for your review.

It's true the young and hip love us, but so do families, couples and the seasoned traveler! I like to think that we have something to offer for everyone. Hope you can visit again when the pool is open during the season. Definitely a can't miss.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Stayed here for a few days with our tween children who thought it was the coolest hotel they had ever seen. Modern aesthetic with lots of cool touches- hanging glass chairs, shower pod, full panel glass windows with great view. The hotel was starting to show a bit of wear and tear (chips in wood dresser, faint stain on carpet), but neither my husband nor children seemed to notice. We got a groupon and paid $120ish a night which included breakfast (buffet w pastries, wonderful fresh fruit and berries, Tomatoes, mozzarella, prosciutto, fabulous coffee, eggs and bacon and potatoes) as well as a cocktail hour where we drank way too much wine (you could have as many glasses as you wanted) and the kids had 6 or 7 cups of hot cider each as well as a few sushi rolls. Not sure I would rave about this hotel (especially in winter when the pool was closed) if i spent $250 and didn't get breakfast or cocktails, but given how little we paid, we were absolutely thrilled and would highly recommend to anyone visiting dc. Very close to attractions and near a bike share spot so easy to get around without a car.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VermontMama3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Hi VermontMama3,

Thanks so much for your review.

Looks like you took care advantage of all the cool things we have to offer being a Kimpton Hotel. I appreciate you recommending us.

P.S. - There is no such thing as too much wine.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for a night while in DC for business. The hotel is chic, clean and in a very convenient location (10 min walk to White House) and 5 min walk from Red Line. Overall I was very pleased with my stay. The Donovan House is billed as a Jetson-themed hotel, and I think this is a very apt description. The free coffee/tea/cocoa in the morning is a nice plus and wireless for $11 is about as reasonable as DC hotels get. Overall I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShankarP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Hi ShankarP,

The Jetsons...I like it, but with a twist of modern-chic!

Next time you stay, sign up for Kimpton InTouch, our guest loyalty program and you will receive Complimentary Internet Access along with a $10.00 Raid the Mini-Bar Credit. This way you can avoid the internet charge and grab a bag of M&M's.

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
427 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#86 of 141 in Washington DC
177 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,163 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
2,560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Property: Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing