We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Wyndham(Washington DC)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Washington Plaza Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,811)
Filter reviews
1,811 results
Traveler rating
1,039
510
177
51
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,039
510
177
51
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthomas circlerooftop poolspiral showerwine hourzentan restaurantfront desksoaking tubchocolate covered strawberrieswhite houseyoga matbottle of champagnemini barlogan circleboutique hotelwater pressureupon checkthe entire staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,566 - 1,571 of 1,811 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Modern well equiped roms with nice large bathrooms. A small rooftop-pool to cool down, but a bit to small for swimming.
Very friendly and helpful staff and afternoon wine tasting (or beer) made my 5 days at the hotel memorable. My room had street view, but the sound isolation was good, and the traffic didn't desturbe my sleep.
The breakfast is better and cheaper at the Plaza across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JensChristian70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife took a three day weekend in Washington,DC and made reservations at the Domovan House-Kimpton on K Street. Everything about the hotel was very cool! We were met with one of the most enthusiastic greetings ever from hotel staff. They were extremely helpful with all of our requests. The decor has a retro space age look. The roof top bar and pool on the 14th floor was spectacular! We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkT1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Donovan House in Washington D C this past August. The staff was outstanding. Very friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious. The shell shaped shower was good.
Happy hour in the lobby with beer and wine is a nice touch.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the top floor. With the open bar too noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had a great time staying for almost a week at Donovan House. The service was impeccable, the room was spacious, bright and modern, with everything you need. I loved the seashell shape shower, even if it was too week (darn low flow showers and water efficiency!). Food is great also. Would only say it needs a little bit of repair here and there to make it a true 5* boutique. Also, we booked it mainly for the rooftop pool but the hotel is not making best use of it at all - no food or drinks are served up there most of the day and there are no parasols, which in searing DC heat makes it difficult to hang out there. The bar by the pool at night is fun though. Would probably stay again anyway though, though I do love the Palomar too.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brunsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hello ManhattanDoc,

Thank you so much for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Seems like you had a good time, along with many of your other colleagues. I appreciate the feedback about your stay as well. I always use it to try and improve on the services at the property. Also wanted to apologize for what you encountered at our Front Desk. Typically, these staff members are our very best service ambassadors. Sorry you experienced differently. Additionally, apologies for the stay over service with Housekeeping. Both issues have been passed on to the respective department managers to be addressed.

Hope you get a chance to come back and stay for leisure!

Until next time,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great hotel....was not a Kimpton when I booked by has converted and is now almost up to Kimpton standards. Great spot and staff have picked up the Kimpton attitude which is refreshing in DC. Did not use spa, pool or dining room as I was attending a meeting. Room service was good. Internet is free and wireless to Kimpton members.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canuck33907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abe L, Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Hi canuck33907,

We appreciate the review.

Short and sweet! Seems like you were also pleasantly surprised that Kimpton has taken over management of the property. You've got to come back next Pool Season to experience our Rooftop. It's not to miss!

Cheers,
Abe

Abe Liao
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews