We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Ranked #23 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in April just when this hotel was being taken over by Kimpton Hotels. The hotel is about 15 mins walk from the White House and not far from all the sights. There is a small lobby with some interesting seating and free wifi is available there. There is happy hour with free drinks every evening.

Rooms (we had two) are spacious with plenty of hanging and drawer space in both rooms. The bathrooms had shower areas at one end. It is quite difficult to keep the water from staying inside the cubicle as there are silly, short shower curtains (in a modern 4star hotel?), our shower head kept falling off it's holder as it was broken. The beds were all as hard as boards. The curtains were just not quite wide enough to keep the light from the street lights at Thompson Circle from illuminating the rooms all night long. Serious irritation,this when all you want is a good bed, some darkness and a good shower (which, to be fair, you get from the water pressure).

This doesn't stop here. Both our rooms were not made up after our first night but as we came back quite late we told them not to bother that night. Strange, as staff had been in to change all signs, umbrellas, bathrobes to Kimpton Hotels. Second night, our children had no bath towels. As we had an early flight, my husband went down to check out and order a large taxi for four adults and a lot of luggage. There was an empty reception desk with the night receptionist wandering in after 5 mins. We were seriously let down by the car valets and were in danger of missing flights when the wrong (small) car turned up, a larger taxi arrived by was turned away by the valets as it was not his 'friend'. We had to wait for this 'friend' and then renegotiate the price we had already agreed. We left on a very sour note.

As I write, we have just (hopefully) sorted out their accounts department. We had prepaid, but our card was charged again, twice for one room and once for the other. These amounts seemed to be credited and debited with astonishing regularity.



Kimpton is a great chain and could easily, and quite simply, make a few changes at Donovan House and bring it up to it's other hotels standards.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the Circle side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ruthiegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Hi Ruthiegee,

So sorry you were affected by the transition. It is a major task to takeover a busy and fully occupied hotel but things are running much more smoothly now. We would love to have you you back so that you can see how quickly we have been able to bring all of the fun Kimpton culture and amenities to the Donovan House. Please contact me at mark.jennings@kimptonhotels.com so that i may personally handle the arrangements for your next Kimpton stay.

Regards,

Mark Jennings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,767)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,628 - 1,634 of 1,767 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

Great, funky contemporary hotel with all the best amenities and staff Kimpton has to offer. Room was quiet and very comfortable. The extra lighting features (dimming nightlights, etc) were helpful. Internet was fast. The "cocoon" type shower was "different", just wish the water pressure was a bit better. Donovan staff, like other Kimpton's, are wonderfully friendly, helpful and professional. The location is perfect - close to nice restaurants, walking distance to Whole Foods and across from a CVS. I look forward to another stay and recommend the Donovan highly.

Room Tip: Would recommend a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulasw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Paula, you just made my day with your comments. This is indeed a great new addition to our Kimpton Collection in DC. I myself am surprised by how quiet it is with floor to ceiling windows but they are designed especially for this. We can't wait to have you back.

Mark Jennings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Modern in style, alive at night..... the public spaces were rockin at midnight on a Friday. Quiet in the room though. It's what you would expect to find in a kimpton..... except, there was no body wash or skin lotion in the bathroom (were supplies restocked after the last guest?). If you need to work, you'll find this room lacking....... there wasn't really any place to set up a computer at a convenient height or to spread paperwork out.
The location is good ... although not the best. A visitor can find good rooms much closer to the tourist center of town .... but likely at a much higher price. It's only a couple of blocks to a Metro stop so location is not a problem.
A nit: The sliding bathroom door is VERY solid (hence heavy) ... that's good, but it lacks a good handle to get a purchase on the door when you want to slide it open or shut. That could be a pain.
No ice machine... but the staff will promptly bring ice if you call.
Bed very comfortable, room and public spaces very clean. I have been in this building before --- 25 years ago and it was then a tired Holiday Inn. This property has been totally refurbished.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Vandal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Thanks for the positive comments, Vandal72. We at Kimpton Hotels are very happy to have added the Donovan House to our DC portfolio just a couple of weeks ago. This is a gorgeous hotel with a lot of potential and our loyal fans are already enjoying our Kimpton touches - wine hour, morming coffee service, warm and engaging staff. etc.. That is a good point regarding the closet doors and we will cerainly see if we can make improvements. Please stay with us again.

Mark Jennings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I have stayed several times at the Donovan while visiting DC. The hotel is at the intersection of 14th St. NW, Vermont, and I Sts. and is about a half mile walk from either the Farragut North or McPherson stations.

On my most recent trip, I was upgraded to a junior suite, which I found modern, spacious, and very comfortable. The room overlooked 14th and I Streets, and yet the soundproofing was amazing. I barely heard any traffic noise at all. The bed was large, the shower somewhat futuristic, and there was a large flat-screen TV in the room (which was furnished with modern furniture). There is an attractive display of snacks on the counter (go ahead, try to ignore it), and you are drawn to it the moment you walk in the room. About the only drawback was that there was no coffee maker in the room, which I found odd.

As this room was picked up by my company, I don't know how much the room cost was, so I can't comment on value. However, the hotel is a nice little jewel when staying in DC.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 7, 2012

Hello Mellon,

I am so thrilled that we were able to make such a good impression on you. We like to think we are a little jewel as well. To answer you question about coffee makers, we choose not to have them in the rooms because we offer complimentary coffee and tea service in the lobby every morning. It is a far superior experience to any in-room coffee that I have tried. We hope to see you again soon.

Mark Jennings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Billed as a 4-star boutique hotel, it was really just an average 3-star. Very friendly but not overly knowledgable staff. In mid-March, 2012, the hotel was changing ownership/management from Thompson to Kimpton. Hopefully the new owners will put in the money to refurbish a tired hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SaloneeToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MMJennings, General Manager at Kimpton Donovan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

HI Salonee,

I see that your stay was in March. Good News! As of April 11, the Donovan House did indeed become a Kimpton Hotel. We had the luxury of having a tremendous transition team sweep through the hotel and add in all of our best loved Kimpton features and amenities. The staff is indeed extremely friendly and accommodating and they have all graduated with honors from Kimpton's Care and Comfort Training Academy. We can't wait for you to return and see the difference.

Cheers!

Mark Jennings

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spacious, clean room & fantastic view rooftop pool! Within walking distance to the mall & other great sights. The restaurant is good too. My 10 year old loved the swinging chairs in the lobby. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The only thing I can say even potentially negative is the pool closes too early. The roof top becomes a nightclub bar of sorts & there was a line going from the elevators out the front door of the hotel each night.

Room Tip: upper floors have a fantastic view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stayed for one night and could not be happier. Location was very good and staff was excellent.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Texstud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
604 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,275 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,383 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Donovan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Donovan Hotel

Address: 1155 14th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4111
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#16 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#24 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#41 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $139 - $519 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Donovan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelPower, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Donovan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donovan Hotel a Thompson
Donovan House Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing