We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The standard in delicious and inclusive restaurants”
Review of Busboys and Poets

Busboys and Poets
Get food delivered
Ranked #54 of 3,078 Restaurants in Washington DC
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Upper Northwest
Description: Busboys and Poets is a restaurant, bar, events space, bookstore and cultural hub where arts, politics and culture internally collide. Menu is vegan, gluten-free and vegetarian-friendly.
Reviewed April 1, 2017 via mobile

This DC chain is awesome and really fun: It also has wonderful food and drinks. It celebrates multiculturalism in its menu, art, music, staff and decor. It's a good mix of casual yet nice!

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank chantelr2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

296 - 300 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2017

I haven't been to D.C. In years so I figured that all my old haunts would be gone (true). When my son told us "hey, guess who else is in DC this week?" we knew we needed to find a restaurant with a broad menu. Our friends concierge suggested Busboys & Poets and he was spot on. We have 3 adults and 4 teens and the broad selection was a hit! I honestly don't remember what anyone had as we were on a 2 week road trip & we hit a lot of places but I will say that when we go back to D.C. this summer we are definitely going back. We had to wait to be seated, which was fine. The place was packed but the food came in a good amount of time and the service was great. Definitely try Busboys if you are in the area!

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gigicape
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 30, 2017

It was more than busy- absolutely packed at 7pm on a Friday night. We got a table fairly quickly, and got our food in a reasonable time frame. Everything was tasty, and fresh. A bit on the expensive, boarding on ludicrous side, but hey- its a trendy spot in DC for feel good hipster food.
Our table saw the fried chicken, Moroccan bean soup, wild rice side, chili, and crab cakes. The tea was fabulously presented.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank inua7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

Went as a group, did not wait long for table without a reservation. Very nice hostess team. Everyone enjoyed their food, and desserts were amazing! We tried appetizers both from vegan and regular menu, and desserts from both - everything was clearly made with the same fresh local, full of flavor approach. Great restaurant for a group.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank victoriacedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

This is a great place to visit when in DC! The sweet potatoe panaceas are delicious. Nice atmosphere. It is like a coffee shop meets a hip restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sunny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travelers who viewed Busboys and Poets also viewed

 

Been to Busboys and Poets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.