We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Progressive, vegan friendly, awesome menu” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Busboys and Poets

Busboys and Poets
Ranked #14 of 3,189 Restaurants in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: U Street Corridor
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
250 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Progressive, vegan friendly, awesome menu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

I try to eat here every time I am in DC. The menu is accommodating for vegans, vegetarians and people who are gluten free - and I've never had a bad meal here, although I have a preference for the sandwiches over the entrees.
The wait can be long, but its worth it, and they have a progressive bookstore you can check out while you are waiting.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LGBTtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    278
    57
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great lunch in a nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Two coworkers and I stopped for lunch on a beautiful afternoon. The place was busy, But we were seated promptly, partially outside. The weather was delightful, making the seating very nice. The meal was excellent, service was fast. Highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ffffffggggg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for vegan friends - Excellent food, okay atmosphere, pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Food was excellent. I think the place needs to be updated, and the menu items are a little pricey. Otherwise, it's a great place to eat and the service is good. If you have vegan/vegetarian friends in town, this place is perfect. The seating/atmosphere needs some updating for the cost of the food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Good Brunch with vegan / gluten free options”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

My husband and I came here for brunch one Saturday in August as we were visiting DC. Hubby is omnivore (eats anything) and I am vegan (vegetarian, no dairy, no eggs). He's a sweet guy and went searching online for a place that would have vegan options. They have a vegan tofu "egg" scramble that you can get in a wrap with vegan bacon & cheese or as a scramble on a plate. I had the wrap and it was very good. Hubby had the scrambled eggs, toast, greek yogurt with granola and fruit.

Service was good and friendly. A bit hard to hear as it is a very large, long room and with everyone chatting it was a bit noisy.

They have a menu online with gluten free options as well. We would come back again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NYC-Canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good Food but Noisey Restaurant”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had to wait a long time to be seated because this is a very popular place. Food was good! Atmosphere is upscale and very noisey. Couldn't hear ourselves talk to each other. Waitress was effective and recommended several tasty dishes

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CountryTravelerUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Busboys and Poets also viewed

 

Been to Busboys and Poets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing