We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“great place and great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #92 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great place and great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 12 nights for a recent business trip. The individual hotel rooms were well appointed, the AC worked well, the bed was one of the most comfortable I've slept on in a chain hotel and the staff was excellent. I did have an issue the first night with the room next door - the walls between rooms are thin but nothing would have deadened the full vloume dance music that started blasting at 4 am... I hoped it would stop... When 45 minutes went by with no lessening of the blasting noise, I called secruity who said they would send someone right up. And indeed within 10 minutes they came up and that was the end of the music. Thank you!! The numerous team rooms that our group utilized were well cared for and always restocked. I had dinner a few times at McClellans and while pricier than surrounding restaurants, the food and convenience was well worth it. And some great beers on tap! You can't beat the location - Metro (Dupont Circle) about 5 blocks away and within 3-5 blocks in any direction an excellent variety of restaurants and shops. Glen's Garden market is wonderul and a quick 5 minute walk away. I would also recommend using Super Shuttle to and from DCA - ontime and very pleasant staff.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms away from the elevator and ice machine,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maquam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to comment. We continually strive to exceed guest expectations and I am pleased that you had an enjoyable visit. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,373 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    1,387
    695
    231
    106
See reviews for
675
683
193
1,407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (599)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2014

I got this hotel through one of express deals in priceline. For what I paid the hotel was outstanding. The rooms, the hallways lobbies and other public areas all seem to have been recently renovated or very well maintainted. The carpets are all fresh and bathroom fixture were all new, however the shower seemed a little on the week side. There is a business lounge downstairs where you can take your laptop and use make use of the wifi. The rooms themselves don't have free wifi which was the only reason I didn't give this hotel a five star.
My room was on the fourth floor however because the hotel is located in a slightly elavated area of the city I had great view of the city and washington monument. This hotel is only a few minutes walk away from some very good restaurants and night life in the dupont circle area.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks so much for your great review! It's important to us that our guests get a great value when coming to DC and want you to know how much we appreciate your business. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

I have been staying her for nearly a week each year for an annual conference. Although the property is not new, it still attracts the likes of the televised White House Correspondents' Dinner and pulls it off well. Service is exquisite and outshines the slightly aging property. Rooms are very comfortable. Ask for free wi-fi, as it can get a bit pricey.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 15David2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
So nice to read your kind review! You touched on so many aspects that make our hotel so popular with our guests and keep them coming back. It sounds like you really enjoyed your time with us and we hope you'll stay with us again when you return next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is a good hotel, with a very capable staff, and enough elevators to service the guests.

Furnishings and plumbing have been updated, rooms are comfortable, amenities excellent.

Two problems:
1. The housekeeping staff is stingy with refills on the complimentary (and excellent) shampoo, soap, etc. Which resulted in a "conditioner shortage" on our last day, and mere slivers of soap. We stay in this chain quite a bit, and generally find them generous with the amenities.
2. The renovated bathrooms are lovely. However....whoever designed the lighting needs to rethink the use of higher wattage bulbs. I am old. I need to be able to see to put on makeup! I literally could not put on makeup in the bathroom, resorting instead to using the desk, by the window, with the curtains wide open and all lights ON! Good thing we were on the 10th floor !

Room Tip: Ask for a battery operated lantern to take to the bathroom with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel'smom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are taking your comments into consideration as we improve our on-property experience. We look forward to serving you on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
464 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

Stayed here for five nights for a convention.

Location: GPS got totally confused. It is better to follow directions on the hotel's web site. Hotel is walking distance from Dupont Circle. Spaciously laid out. This is a historical hotel. President Regan was shot outside this hotel! Parking is expensive ($37) and access to parking is not intuitive.

Room: Renovated rooms on the executive floor. Rooms were fine. Bathroom only has shower but looks and feels good. Lots of outlets for gadgets.

Service: Front desk check-in attitude was not welcoming. Made one feel that they were doing you a favor letting you check-in! However, the rest of the staff, especially the lounge staff were hustling and working hard to keep you happy.

Food & Drinks: Plenty of choices. We landed up eating at the Convention or some great restaurants within walking distance.

Room Tip: Rooms on the Club level come with free breakfast. there are snacks and a cash bar in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKG109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton. There are so many great things referenced in your review and we appreciate you taking the time to share with us. We pride ourselves in getting it right and really value your feedback. We look forward to your returning to stay with us on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

When I checked in, the person attending me was Lee Tuper. He was very kind and went out of his way to make sure that I could have the best possible stay. In general, most of the staff was very helpful, but he was particularly helpful when checking in. As a result, I had a great stay there. During the heat, it was nice that the staff provided free water bottles and had a water dispensary at the front. The only complaint I would have is being charged to store my luggage.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sabrina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton. I am happy to hear that the level of service you experienced was what we expect from our staff. We really appreciate your loyalty to Hilton and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, Devon, UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2014

This is the second time I’ve stayed at the Hilton at Du Pont circle and, again, it didn’t disappoint. The staff are friendly (especially David and team in the bar) and it has everything one could need for a business or leisure trip. My room was well-appointed; big TV with good channel choices, king size bed with good quality linen, great bath products; easy chair; and all the usual amenities – ironing board, safe, plenty of quality hangers etc. The hotel is really well located, a few minutes from the Metro and town. My only quibble would be that I think Hilton should really start including wifi and gym use in their overall charges but I know this is not something that the DC Hilton can control. But, all in all, a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redsandyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 8, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton. I am so glad that you enjoyed your recent stay. We hope to see you again on your return trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#88 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#89 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 783 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Property: Washington Hilton
Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing