We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, but hey! this is DC!”
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #104 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Attending a business meeting in the area, I was surprised to see that my travel department had elected to book a regular room at $300 per night. And even at that rate, neither breakfast ($22) nor Internet access ($13) was included.

The hotel is laid out as an undulating "S" and the walk from elevator to room took several minutes.
Located about 4 long blocks north of the DuPont circle Metro station, I am a bit surprised that the hotel does not have a continual shuttle.

Check in was prompt and courteous. The room features a quiet, comfortable heat pump system that keeps the room at the set temperature without the usual rattles and blasts. Nicely done.

There is only one restaurant open on the property at a time - the TDL for breakfast and lunch and McCallans' for dinner - though I was surprised to see a Closed for Renovation sign on the door - with no identification of alternate dining possibilities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank I-heart-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton. I'm happy to read your check in was seamless and that you enjoyed a clean and comfortable room. We look forward to you returning to stay with us on your next visit to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,472 - 2,478 of 4,013 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

The Good:
- friendly staff
- complimentary printing station in lobby to check in for flights and print boarding passes.

The annoying:
- the bathtub was super shallow, so you couldn't have a bath if you felt so inclined;
- we needed a fridge because we were travelling with an infant and needed to refrigerate her milk. The hotel charged an extra $25/day to "rent" a fridge (Marriott brought a fridge to our room for free);
- to use internet in the room was an additional charge.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Meg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for your review Meg. We strive to provide our guests a great value for their stay. While it's great to read that you felt that way about our complimentary printing station we hope you'll allow us to make it right on your next trip to DC. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Dec 2013: The service in the cocktail lounge, Statler Lounge was outstanding. The server Mr. Million Gorems was excellent. He was very, very attentive and kind. Exceptional Service. Thank you. I will be back.

Room Tip: There was a large group of international students at the same time. Alittle noisy after hours by th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olga M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for your review of the Washington Hilton. We love reading about our employees providing great customer service. Your comments will be shared and are appreciated. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here on business in November 2013. The staff were pleasant and helpful, however when I checked in there were only two front desk staff working, and with one of them dedicated to HHonors members, I did have to wait about 10 minutes to get checked in, which I am not accustomed to.

The hotel facilities are fine, on par with what you expect from a Hilton, though the hotel's price is too high for the comfort/luxury level of facilities.

The location of the hotel is alright, but probably not the best for tourists. While the Dupont metro is only .4 miles away, it's a deceptively long uphill walk back to the hotel after a long day of touring DC. Other than Dupont Circle, the hotel is quite far from most tourist destinations, and cab rides are the easiest way to get to/from the hotel (though they are expensive). For business travelers, the location is arguably worse, though if you can expense your cab rides that doesn't matter as much.

Room Tip: The hallways are very long. If someone in your party is elderly or has difficulty getting around, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks for reviewing the Washington Hilton. It's great you found our staff friendly and helpful. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great location. Excellent room service food. However, the hotel adds a 22% gratuity to the room service bill, 17% of which goes to the server, 5% for administrative costs. The administrative cost fee is, in my opinion, a total ripoff.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton. It's very important to us that our guests feel they received a good value. We provide many dining options throughout the hotel at all different price points. We invite you back on your next trip to DC to allow us to make it right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

They have done a great job remodeling the Washington Hilton. The rooms feel fresh and inviting. The location is great if you want to be near the Dupont Circle or Adams Morgan areas of the city. If you are driving I would recommend that you pay for the hotel parking...we did not, and had a tough time finding space. I would also recommend that you request a room close to the elevators. This is a huge hotel and it is a very long walk if your room is at the other end of the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank MBATravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thank you so much for reviewing the Washington Hilton! It's clear that you enjoyed your stay and felt our hotel was the right choice. Good tips on the parking, travel should be relaxing and we're here to provide you all the components you need. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

This hotel is my favorite place to stay in DC. The hotel staff here is as good as any hotel in the US. From the front desk to the bell captains, they are all very friendly and helpful. The hotel is always very clean. The location in DuPont Circle is perfect for me when I visit. I hope to stay here again soon on my next trip to DC.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kyle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2013

Thanks so much for your review! We love hearing that we're your favorite hotel to visit and that you look forward to coming back. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
3,325 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
3,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $100 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing