We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #98 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Brier, United States
1 review
“Conference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

I was on business so the Government shutdown did not affect me too much. The hotel was wonderful for room, location and staff helpfulness. My only complaint is food options in the hotel. I would skip those and go right down the street to some of the best food I have had in a long time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Janelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for the review Janelle. Glad to read you found our staff friendly and had some great food while in the neighborhood. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    1,454
    737
    256
    118
See reviews for
720
729
207
1,507
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (624)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand forks, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Wonderful stay but too expensive! I was here for an event booked at the hotel. The hotel block was book almost the day we were informed that we were accepted for the event. It seemed like perhaps we were just too late to book and that is why we had to spend so much for our rooms. However, when everyone that we talked with had the same experience of finding out we were accepted for an event only to find our that we could not book an event because the block was full, it made us feel ripped off by the Hilton. The service was excellent and the room was lovely, but at almost 1,000 for two days, it makes you ask if this is a scam or not. Everything was wonderful. But almost five hundred dollars of wonderful? I don't think so. It was a lovely stay at the hotel but much too expensive. Also, check out was a nightmare with hundreds of kids checking in. When we left we were told that although we all were going to the airport we each had to pay the full fare unless we were going on the same airline. We were told by the hotel staff to all say we were flying with the same airline. This is not reasonable for middle age people. They should have been proactive to help us find a trip to the airport where we all did not have to pay full fare to go to the airport. 75 dollars is too much for three people to go to the airport. 25 each, which is what we would have paid each individually

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pamela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our suite was very nice, although it did not have a fridge which we thought was very odd! If the suite would have had a fridge I would have rated it excellent. Otherwise, everything was absolutely wonderful!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Kaylan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thanks for your review and staying in one of our suites! You can call our team and make requests if anything is missing from your room. We look forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

I stayed at the Washington Hilton for a conference. Thank goodness my company paid the bill because it is pricey. The room was clean and very contemporary. The bath was nice and hot, which was very appealing on those chilly DC nights. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful.
One of the best parts is how near the hotel is to some great restaurants and shops (do not pass up Larry's Homemade Ice Cream which will be getting its own review!!! Same goes from Kramer Books). Adams Morgan is just up the hill. DuPont Circle is just down the hill. If you can afford it, do stay here!
Oh, and in case you were wondering this IS the "Hinckley Hotel" - the hotel where John Hinckley shot President Reagan. History buffs and Jodie Foster fans, make sure to check out the Terrace level entrance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freejinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks so much for your great review! It's great you enjoyed your stay and the vibrant neighborhood. Larry's and Kramer's are two faves of the locals. We look forward to having you back on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogotá
Level Contributor
123 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

I had a great stay at the Washington Hilton. It does what it says on the tin. Yes it is a large conference hotel, but the check in was welcoming and laid back, likewise check out. The room was good and quiet, the coffee machine worked, everything was clean and tidy, the bed was comfy, the wifi in the lobby worked well and the price was superb for my 2 night stay in September.

It also has a cool location, easy walk to Dupont Circle and I greatly enjoyed getting completely battered in The Big Hunt, The Board Room and Maddy's bars.

I got double HHonors points and my 1000 Lanpass kms as promised

10 out of 10, loved DC and will definitely go back and stay at this property.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnnyBogota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for the great review! We are so proud when our guests have such an excellent stay. Great to read you'll be back, we look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

This hotel is difficult to find your way around when you first arrive as it lacks the usual room number directions outside the lifts, and the lift buttons are confusing The rooms are comfortable and the large terrace with bowl fires was excellent. We ate out, so only sampled the breakfast which was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thanks for your review Tony! Glad you enjoyed our fire pits, comfortable rooms and delicious breakfast. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is pretty big, several amenities and services on site ( Fedex, Pool, Fitness, 2 Bars, Car Rental Desk, Foreign Currency Exchange, Gift Shop, Room Service, ext.) If you have free time while at this location don't but it to waste, theres endless activities to do with or without a vehicle.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicabricker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve_Cowan_GM, General Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks for the kind review Jessica! Our area does have countless activities to enjoy. We look forward to having you back at the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#94 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#42 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#103 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Property: Washington Hilton
Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing