We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what I expected a Hilton to be like” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #99 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not what I expected a Hilton to be like”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good location at top end of one of the main streets in Washington. Surprisingly there is very little
traffic and walking about is quite painless. The Metro is within a few minutes walk down hill.
All the tourist attractions are easily reached albeit a bit of a walk.
As regards the hotel we found the bedroom very spacious, clean and a very comfortable bed. There
where also tea/coffee making facilities.
The bathroom was clean but the shower curtain was mouldy,perhaps because there was only a vent.
Our main disappointment was that the tables in the bar eating area, McClellands, had food residue
on the beveled edges of the tables, on and underneath the glass tops, on the leather seating and down
the sides ( piece of mouldy lemon ) and on the floor. The staff did wipe the tables but did not use a liquid
cleaner. They where dirty over four days.
However all the staff where very nice and helpful.
The cost of Shuttle to Dulles is 42$ for two



Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Washington DC has many touristic and historic sites to see, and we are glad you found it all easily accessible from our Hotel. We strive to make everyone feel welcome and comfortable at the Washington Hilton and appreciate your insight on your experience at our McClellan’s Lounge. We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to our Nation’s Capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,011
    1,435
    725
    252
    115
See reviews for
704
717
205
1,486
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (620)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
177 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I found the room to be on the small side but the overall experience was good. It's well located, we could walk to the Dupont Circle area for some nice dining options.
The room was at Hilton standards, it lacked a little storage space especially in the bathroom, but the bed was very comfortable and the view was really nice.
But the best part was the staff, they were very helpful, especially Christian at the front desk. If all hotel staff could be as pleasant and professional as him, it would make any hotel stay pleasant.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Najebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Our Staff is our greatest asset and we LOVE hearing good things about them. Christian is a new addition to our Front Office and we will be sure to let him know how highly you spoke of him.

We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

I enjoyed the stay I had recently at the Hilton. To start from the beginning, I don't know what had gone wrong, but somehow they had our booking for the day before it actually was. However, it was remedied immediately and the check-in remained speedy and efficient.
Our room was large and clean, and the beds were very comfy.
The hotel was very close to a number of excellent restaurants which we enjoyed, and not far from the Metro. However, if you are staying in DC to visit the 'touristy' attractions in the general area of 'The Mall', please be aware it is about a 45 minute walk (this suited us but may not suit others). However, there are many trains and buses to choose from if you want to get down there.

If I had ONE complaint it was simply the other guests. Our last night there was on the Friday night that was the beginning of the Labor Day long weekend and when we got up early on the Saturday morning there were broken glasses and rubbish in the hall outside our room (there was also noise the previous night, but this didn't keep us awake). There is no way the hotel could have known about this at the time and please note I am in NO WAY holding the Hilton responsible for this, but rather, mentioning this so guests can consider what can result when they stay at a very large establishment like the Hilton.
All in all, though, two thumbs up!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KateARobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at the Washington Hilton during your stay in DC. While we are a bit from the National Mall, as you have said, there are tons of transportation options offered by this great city.

We are happy that our staff was able to remedy your reservation date mix up and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Nice mega hotel in between DuPont Circle and Adams Morgan neighborhoods. Indoor parking was clean and spacious, but only two of the six hotel elevators go down there (and there's no way to "pick" which elevator comes to your floor to fetch you. Hallways look like you're in a warehouse, not a hotel. 2nd floor corner room was certainly spacious and the air conditioning, bed, and chair were all quite comfortable. Room was mostly clean, although the housekeeper could've done a better job vacuuming (and s/he certainly needed to do a much better job vacuuming the hallway). Ate three banquet meals -- one was odd but OK; the other two were outstanding in every way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
We appreciate your insight on our Hotel. There are always things we can be doing better, and the only way we learn about the small issues is from loyal guest such as yourself. Your feedback keeps the little things from turning into big problems. While all of our employees go through training, it never hurts to have refresher courses.

We look forward to seeing you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Up to standard for business hotel in DC. Interesting that this is where Reagan got shot. History in DC continues. Annoying that rather than putting the receipt under my door (like every other hotel) they left me this long and complicated message at 6:30 AM about sustainability and how to use my TV for checkout. Big hotel, long walks from elevator to room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Pieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
“Hinckley Hilton” is not something everyone knows about our hotel, you are correct in saying history is everywhere in DC.

We are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to have the opportunity to make your next stay a GREAT ONE!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

Keep waiting for the hammer to drop, for someone to fumble the ball but... It Just Keeps Getting Better! Christain Ferguson at the front desk, WOW OUTSTANDING check in.
After being stuck in traffic all day and taking twice as long to get there as usual my wife and kids were done. I was a bit tense as well. That all went away after 5 minutes with Christian.
The second Christian was our server at Mclellens inside the hotel. Also provided excellent service. The hotel is always well kept... it is the level of service that the staff provides to there customers that make the difference. I am in DC all the time but when I have a chance to bring my family they always request the Washington DC Hilton. Cant say the same when we go to other Hotels in other cities only the DC Hilton. Try it you'll never stay anywhere else in DC.

Room Tip: Request the Monument View
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
THANK YOU! We love hearing great things about our employees. To be the number one choice of the worlds traveler is a code we live by, our team strives to make everyone feel at home during their stays with us. Christian and Christian have both been applauded for the excellent service.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August 2013 at the end of our tourist trip to the US. The hotel is located in a nice neighborhood near the Dupont Circle with plenty of bars and restaurants. The main areas of the hotel are very clean. We had two full beds in a quite clean room on 6th floor with a great view over DC. Large hotel with restaurants/bars, pool, fitness center and a big conference center. Unfortunately, wi-fi is charged extra and parking in the garage is quite expensive. But due to comfort the latter was worth it, although there is public parking available in the streets near the hotel. Overall a very comfortable stay. It is a 35 min drive to Dulles International Airport. Make sure to use the lanes for airport traffic on the highway, so you do not have to pay toll.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bruentje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Ending in DC is the way to end a vacation! We are so glad you chose to stay with us. We hope your stay was as comfortable as being at home and look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#96 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 510 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#90 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,135 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#103 of 140 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Property: Washington Hilton
Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing