We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good....but expensive (would rate a 5 but price lowers a point)”
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #104 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The hotel about 1/2 mile from Dupont Circle Metro Station (uphill) is a nice walk but not with luggage...best to get a cab for the short journey. Its location to go out and do things, places to eat, shop and drink are very good. Even small breakfast deli across the street and liquor store as well.

The hotel lobby has been remodeled and is very nice. Great coffee shop and snack area with place to watch tv very comfortably. There is a large dining area and nice bar but be aware, it is very very expensive. I was paying $18 for top shelf shots.

Has a pool and place to warm your body outside.

I stay there annually for a conference, my $385 room was nice, but clearly not worth that if your shelling the money out of your own pocket.

You will not get hurt staying there, very nice, great staff and great close by stuff. You will get hurt in the pocketbook. It is a downtown hotel pricing with outskirt location.

Room Tip: Get a high floor facing the city....end rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton. It's clear you found the hotel and our service very satisfactory. The views are also very impressive and we look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,043)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,801 - 2,807 of 4,043 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2013

Every year we attend conferences in DC. For me, Hilton Washington is my preferred hotel spot. Close to shops in DuPont Circle and restaurants, such as Thiaphoon. Hotel was renovated a couple of years ago, so it is clean, modern, savvy. Staff is always accommodating. However food in the local restaurant/ bar is expensive, but the blackberry mojito and crab cake sandwich both come highly recommended. Lots of action happens on Connecticut Ave..such as the filming of Captain America and taxi accident within two blocks of each other. To access transit you will have to walk to DuPont Circle. If shopping is your thing, take the metro to the Metro Center stop which is connected to Macy's. Oh, and the first lady, Michelle Obama, served as the keynote speaker for a conference held in the hotel when I was there in May. Enjoy DC!

Room Tip: Although, staying near am elevator is usually a no-no...Room 8105 was not bad at all as it was not d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thanks for your comments on the Washington Hilton. You are so lucky to have attended lunch with Michelle Obama! We appreciate all your kind words and will keep you coming back when you travel to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed 2 nights. Chose hotel for its location which suited our needs for this trip. Booked an Executive Room w/king bed for the convenience of the free breakfast, afternoon snack, robes and complimentary bottled water in the room. Orignally booked at over $300 a night but watched the rates and rebooked a month later for $152 a night. The Executive Room was small. Someone in our party booked the Standard room w/ king bed for appx. $100, which was larger than the Executive Room. Upon check in they placed us in a standard room but corrected when brought to their attention. There were no robes in the room and had to call to get some. The second day they did not provide any shampoo, conditioner or soap and I had to get shampoo and conditioner from the housekeeping cart in hallway. They also did not provide the complimentary bottled water the second day. As to the services in the Executive Lounge, they are definately on the low end. The breakfast was a standard "continental" breakfast--pastries, fruit and cold cereal. The free breakfasts you get at hotels such as a Comfort Inn are better. The afternoon h'orderves was basically cheese and crackers, fruit and a tasteless warm h'orderves, which was probably previously frozen. No complementary wine or alcohol and it cost $11.50 for one Baileys Irish Cream. Had lunch in the restaurant which had terrible service. There were six of us and when we arrived most of the tables were empty, but dirty. A male service person saw us, and there were two tables together which could accomoate us, but he only cleaned one and walked away leaving the other dirty. We started to move to the end of the room where there were another two tables together and he made us wait until he cleaned them, but he left the tables beside us dirty. After about 10 minutes he told us he told us would tell someone we were there to take our orders, but he never did and another 10 minutes later when a new waitress came on duty she asked if we had been waited on yet and she took good care of us, and she even cleaned all the tables the male service person left behind. We watched 2 groups of people leave b/c the did not get any service. Just had appetizers as we no longer had time to eat, but the apps were good. Cocktail service at night at the bar was good. Prices are high, but not unusual for a hotel bar. I would stay at this hotel again solely for the location if I can get it a good room rate, but I would pass on the Executive Rooms and restaurant. There are too many good places to eat in area to deal with very poor service, especially at hotel prices.

Room Tip: Avoid the Executive Rooms. The perks, if you get them like you are suppose to, do not justify the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Joy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. Again, I apologize for all of the inconveniences and hopefully you'll return in the future to experience our improvements.Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here on 14th - 16th April 2013.

Location is good and there are city bikes just around the corner from the hotel.

This is a big hotel and there are not enough lifts. Our room was far from the lift and although we were asked did we prefer to be further than the lifts, we said 'yes', thinking that there may have been noise at night around the lifts. We didn't realize that our room would be almost a 10 minute walk from the lifts! This could have been explained better when checking in at reception.

The room was nice but towels were stained. We asked for replacement towels, which we received.

We have stayed in other Hilton's before and were slightly disappointed by this one.

Room Tip: Chose a room near the lift. Other rooms are very far form the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smurf-DAWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton. It's great you were able to take advantage of the bike rentals outside the hotel, what a great way to explore DC! So sorry to read you did not feel our Hilton was up to par, we truly pride ourselves on being one of the best in the company. Should you ever experience issues while staying with a Hilton please inform our management staff and allow us to make it right. We hope you'll return to stay with us on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

I was here for a week. The rooms are nicely appointed and service was decent. For some reason I never got more shampoo, but no biggie. The linens are soft. The bar pours very strong drinks. The executive lounge has great coffee and good croissants.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mommyrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for reviewing the Washington Hilton, we realize your time is valuable. It's great to hear you enjoyed our lounge so much, the coffee and pastries are certainly a nice treat when you're away from home. We look forward to you returning on your next trip to DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the Washington Hilton. The taxi drive from the airport to the hotel was about 60 USD. The hotel personnel was very friendly and helpful, especially the barkeeper in the lounge. We had a nice corner room with a great view. We weren't really impressed by the breakfast served in the lounge as the choices were very limited. One morning we decided to have breakfast in the restaurant which was quite expensive for what it was. We were surprised that they did not povide Gluten free bread.

The hotel is located in walking distance to Dupont circle with access to the R line of the metro network. It is a nice neighborhood with lots of bars and restaurants.

Room Tip: We had a corner room with a kingsize bed and a great view on the Hhonors floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. It's great to read that you were happy with the service the hotel team members provided and found our location so convenient during your time in DC. We look forward to hosting you again on your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Although I live very close to Downtown DC, I had to be at my walk activities VERY early each morning, so opted to stay at the host hotel. It is an enormous hotel, so it's ideal for an enormous event like the Avon walk. Cost of the room was $209, plus tax - that was the discounted rate. I was on the Hilton Honors floor - so pretty high up. The room was small, bathroom nicely appointed, but very small also. The biggest complaint I have is the walls are paper thin! Even with my early morning need to be awake early, I did not appreciate being awoken by the alarm in the next room going off 30min before I had to wake up - I could clearly hear it, could hear their tv, even their conversations. All in all, way overpriced for the amenities!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariava51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. The Avon Walk was an event we were honored to host. We're glad to hear you found our location convenient, but if you ever have any issues with noise we encourage you to let our Front Desk know so they can rectify them right away. Please return the next time you need to stay downtown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#50 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $153 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelPower, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing