We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #99 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Hebron, Connecticut
Level Contributor
87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed three nights and enjoyed everything about it. Everyone on staff was pleasant and efficient, and the room had everything we needed. One of us spent the days in meetings held at the hotel with the only complaint that some of the rooms were a bit cold. Use of the Metro is a short walk down to the Dupont Circle station, so very easy to get to most attractions. Parking garage allowed for easy in a fad out, whether self parking or valet. Free WiFi in the lobby complete with several computers and a printer. We appreciated the early opening of the coffee shop and food in the sports bar was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review! It is great to hear how the hotel works well for both conference attendees and guests vacationing in DC. We are so thrilled you had a great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,711 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,063
    1,493
    764
    265
    126
See reviews for
729
746
215
1,582
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
derby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very large hotel but well run and friendly staff. We had a room on the first floor. It was overlooking the outdoor seating area. Some people may have felt too near the action but we didn't mind and the double glazing kept out any noise. The room was very comfortable with modern clean bathroom. We we enjoyed visiting the Chipotle a fast food Mexican. Cheap but delicious food. Recommended. Would stay here on our next trip to Washington.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyCherry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are so happy you enjoyed your stay at the Washington Hilton. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwallville, NY
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Washington Hilton. I was there for a conference, and overall the experience was an excellent one. The room was clean, neat and comfortable. The bathroom was aesthetically pleasant, but the tub was the traditional bathtub which at $300 per night was disappointing. The staff was accomodating and fixed the broken bath tub drain immediately and did offer me free use of the fitness center while I was there. But this brings me to my main points, why does it cost the customer $10 per night to use the fitness center and why does it cost $14 per night to have internet in the room? Both these expenses seem to me to be a nickel and dime attempt by the Hilton to sting their guests. I can see maybe a $5 per night fee for internet use, but why should I pay for a gym where in most hotels the fitness center is free?

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with the Washington Hilton during your recent conference. I am glad to hear that you had an excellent experience at the hotel. The hotel does offer an inclusive "Everything You Need" package that includes the gym, in room internet, parking, and breakfast. We also have free wifi in the lobby. We hope you will consider staying with us on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leavenworth, Kansas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Wonderful staff and very pet friendly. Beautiful grounds. Walking distance to many interesting places. Smallish rooms and narrow hallways so be prepared for that. For us the convenient location and pet friendly policy made it a great weekend. I cannot say enought about the friendly and helpful staff- a well led team!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Tanker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
We are so happy that you and your pooch had a great stay at the Washington Hilton! We do love dogs and understand that pets are an extended part of the family. We look forward to welcoming you and your dog back on your next visit to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem PA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Booked this hotel for a last-minute weekend in D.C. during the Cherry Blossom Festival, and was very pleased with my experience. This Hilton has a great location in Dupont Circle and is within walking distance of numerous excellent restaurants, cafes, and stores (and the Dupont Circle Metro station). The hotel itself was well-maintained, clean, and modern, and has a stylish and comfortable lobby area for hanging out and using the free Wifi (and there's a Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf located in the lobby, which is a treat for those of us who don't regularly have access to that chain--what a nice change from the ubiquitous Starbucks!). Additionally, the hotel has a great outdoor lounge with plenty of comfortable sofas, chairs, and tables where guests can enjoy a drink from the lobby bar. The only drawback of the property, in my opinion, is that its fitness center is not free for guests to use (which I think is pretty unacceptable, given that most other hotels I've stayed in would never charge for access to basic fitness facilities). That said, the nice location of the hotel makes it easy to just go for a walk or a run outside in lieu of paying the daily fee for the gym (and another alternative, for fitness types, is to check out the Washington Sports Club located less than a block away--they have daily passes and a wider range of equipment/classes than the in-hotel gym).
I wouldn't hesitate to stay at this property again!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard/outdoor lounge area are MARKEDLY larger than those that face in the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christianneanastasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Washington Hilton while in town to see the Cherry Blossoms. This is DC's most beautiful time of year and we are happy that you shared it with us. We too love The Coffee Bean and Tea Leaf for a caffeine fix or quick snack. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I stayed there for 4 nights a couple of weeks ago. I called ahead and spoke to the front desk to find out if I could bring my little dog. They were very eager to let me know that they love pets! They will even allow a dog up to 65lbs, (mine was under 10lbs)! There is a one time, flat $50 fee for a pet, no matter how many nights. If you leave your pet in the room alone, they ask that you use the "do not disturb" sign for your door so housekeeping is not alarmed. There's also a small, off-leash dog park a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is in a great location, very close to Adam's Morgan, Dupont Circle and many, many excellent restaurants.
The corridors can be pretty long, I requested a room close to the elevators. Parking in the hotel is a bit pricey and the street parking around the hotel needs a residential sticker to park more than 2 hours. There is some limited metered parking. Better to not have a car.

Room Tip: You can bring your pet & ask for a room close to the elevators if you don't want a long walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambchop27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed here last year for a few nights! Spacious room and friendly, helpful staff. We ate in the bar which was quite good. We really enjoyed our stay however the experience was marred by the awful Hertz desk in the lobby - we had a terrible experience with them.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annadoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca S, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of the Washington Hilton. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay, and the comments about your experience with Hertz has been relayed to the appropriate manager. We hope that you will come back to stay with again this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#94 of 141 in Washington DC
529 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
2,975 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
949 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
2,467 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Property: Washington Hilton
Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing