We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall great hotel but rooms a little small”
Review of Washington Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Hilton
Ranked #99 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Overall great hotel but rooms a little small”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

A group of four students (including myself) just returned from a stay at this hotel. The staff here is very helpful and friendly and the hotel has a nice interior ever since they remodeled. I was surprised that the elevators were pretty fast, especially given how large the hotel is.

My one chief complaint is the rooms seemed a little small. Four students in one room is not the most comfortable way to stay at a conference but we managed since we were on a budget. Additionally, the bathroom door (sliding door with textured glass) was a little annoying because whenever someone went to use the bathroom, the light would illuminate the sleeping area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taniguck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. Our newly renovated rooms do make for a nice interior and our staff prides itself on being the friendliest in the business. Often times city rooms are less spacious than those in more suburban locations, but ours are some of the best sized in the nation’s capital. We hope you will return to the Washington Hilton the next time you travel to DC with your conference or individually.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    1,493
    765
    266
    126
See reviews for
730
746
215
1,584
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (639)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2012

The hotel is in a great location. Easy walk to the Metro Red Line. Short walk to all the Adams Morgan neighborhood has to offer. Room was spotless...staff was very courteous. Great breakfast and happy hour on the executive level. Rooms were on the small side but were well appointed.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. So happy you enjoyed so much of what our hotel has to offer! Our location is very convenient to having a true DC neighborhood experience. We hope you will return to the Washington Hilton the next time you travel to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed for three nights on the executive level. The room was small, but clean with a nice bathroom. There was some trouble with the TV system one night. The executive level has breakfast, happy hour snacks and drinks and cookies until about 11. The restaurant in the hotel is good--because of my schedule I actually had lunch there twice and dinner once. Not overly expensive and the service was good. All in all a good, solid, but not remarkable experience.

Room Tip: Executive level
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler2009Illinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. Our Executive level serves our very best guest and provides extra attention to service and amenities to show our gratitude. We're hopeful you'll return to our Towers level on your next visit to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Real nice hotel and good location from metro and other restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msr345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. The location is great for a real DC neighborhood experience with all the Dupont restaurants and close proximity of the metro. We hope to have you return to the Washington Hilton on your next visit to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
91 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Washington Hilton is just a wonderful hotel in DuPont Circle Area. My friend and I stayed here for Labor Day last year and it was absolutely a wonderful experience. Though sometimes there might be too many people and the lobby and elevators got crowded. No free internet in rooms, but you can stay in the lobby and use the wireless access. A lot of seats for you there.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. Since you stayed with us Labor Day we have undergone a wifi install to provide wireless in our guest rooms that will be completed by the end of Q1. We will continue to provide complimentary wifi in the lobby for guests to utilize where you note there are many seats available for your convenience. So glad to hear you had a wonderful experience and we hope you’ll return to the Washington Hilton on your next trip to DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Overall the Washington Hilton was very nice. I stayed there for a quick 24-hour business trip. The hotel was incredibly crowded due to some big convention but it seemed to handle it well. The elevators handled the huge crowds as expected. No big delays. The beds were great and the personell were very nice. I recommend it for a quick business trip since it caters to the busines traveler more than a family on vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to review the Washington Hilton. Glad to hear you enjoyed your trip for business. Our beds are very comfortable and we pride ourselves on exemplary staff. Please return to the Washington Hilton when you return to the DC area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed January 17, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for Martin Luther King Jr. Weekend and the service was incredible. There was a gentleman at the front desk, Eric, who helped my friend and I all weekend. The manager on duty, Ishmael was also extremely helpful. The customer service was perfect and I will of course make this my hotel of choice when I visit DC.
The room was a good size, had an updated bathroom. There was no WI-FI in the room but there is an WI-FI 1st floor. The lobby is beautiful and the food in the sports bar is very good.
When it was time for us to venture out in the evening or afternoon, we were able to get a cab quickly thanks to the gentleman at the front with the whistle! We had a great time and having incredible customer service was the cherry on the top.

Room Tip: 7th floor, wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank india c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen F, Manager at Washington Hilton, responded to this review, January 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Washington Hilton. We're so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay! We pride ourselves on our friendly and welcoming staff, and it's great to know you felt it too. The hotel is having full wifi installed in the guestrooms at present and will be fully installed in the near future. Please return to the Washington Hilton the next time you visit DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Adams Morgan
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont Circle
Courtyard Washington, DC/Dupont ...
#95 of 141 in Washington DC
529 reviews
Dupont Circle
Capital Hilton
Capital Hilton
#94 of 141 in Washington DC
2,975 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Normandy Hotel
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
951 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
Washington Marriott Wardman Park
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
2,468 reviews
Upper Northwest
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Omni Shoreham Hotel
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
6,568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Hilton

Property: Washington Hilton
Address: 1919 Connecticut Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-5701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Adams Morgan , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#74 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#78 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1070
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Washington Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing