We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location and excellent staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #66 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location and excellent staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

I traveled to DC with my husband and 10-month-old son for a conference last week, and we had a great experience at the Comfort Inn. The staff was very helpful; a nice Pack n' Play crib was placed in our room upon arrival, and the front desk clerk kept track of my forgotten Nalgene bottle until my husband retrieved it. The breakfasts were very good, and we were a quick walk from the National Mall, the Convention Center, and other great attractions. The room is a bit European-style in its size, but we were comfortable and happy. I would recommend this inn to others!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LizCincinnatiOH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Comfort Inn DC Convention Center Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your recent conference at the Washington DC Convention Center. We know that you have a lot to keep up with when traveling with a little one and I am glad to hear that we were able to get your bottle back to you. We look forward to your return again in the near future.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    398
    117
    32
    20
See reviews for
271
224
71
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fergus Falls, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

Six of us visited DC and we had no knowledge of the city. Talked via phone with hotel staff and found out hotel was recently renovated. We reserved rooms and were very pleased with the rooms, staff, and service. We enjoyed the more than adequate breakfast. Only one drawback - we were a good mile from the closest trolley stop and about seven blocks from the Metro. So the choice (for we seniors) walk or take a cab. We did both.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

This nice little hotel is located in downtown of DC, we stayed there for our new year's eve countdown. The room we stayed in was kind of small, and we could hear almost every noise around the room. The free breakfast was OK, if you're late and try to get the food before they clean up, the cleaner will have an attitude!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaitaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I hope you enjoyed your trip to Washington DC to celebrate the New Year. I am sorry to hear that the people around you were a bit noisy. Also, please know that we do our best to accommodate everyone for breakfast…even those running a little bit late. After all, we know that breakfast is the most important meal of the day. If there is anything else you would like to share with me please contact me directly at 202-719-1630.

Thank you.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The check in experience left a little to be desired but once we got to the room we liked it so much we decided to not only get another one but extended our stay. The beds were so comfortable and the hotel staff made us feel right at home while we were guests. I would recommend anyone in search of a good nights rest stay here, just bring connection to Yelp because we did not receive the best recommendations or directions for dining.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ashtaylon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dc
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

The Comfort Inn is a clean place to lay your head, but they need to fix some basic maintenance issues. When I arrived one elevator was out of service-the second elevator took a while to arrive, and when it did, it trapped me and four other guests on the second floor. Not fun. We sounded the alarm and got out five LONG minutes later,and walked up six flights of stairs with our luggage to our room. The people who were trapped in the elevator with us mentioned that someone at breakfast the prior day also got trapped in the elevator. The front desk wasn't surprised, just said they would report the incident but were having a hard time fixing the issue. Surprised a hotel would leave not fix such a basic issue (which is a safety hazard).

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank kroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Comfort Inn DC Convention Center. I reached out to our elevator repair company to ask that they come out right away to troubleshoot the elevators to check for any issues which need to be addressed. Should you need to share any additional information with me please contact me directly at 202-719-1630. Again, I apologize.

John Chisman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

We had a good experience here during the Cherry Blossoms. The hotel is located in a more residential neighborhood whereas over one street on 14th, it had a more commercial feel. Felt safe walking around. The hotel is small but kept up well. We had a decent corner room on the 5th floor and loved it, had a city scape view. Small rooms but after touring all day, it's not like we felt like leaping about the room. There is a firehouse down the street. You will hear them but it wasn't a deal-buster. Big TV, wireless worked great. Bathrooms were neat and tidy. Beds were comfortable. The elevators are small and a bit slow at breakfast time. Breakfast was fine. The typical food they always serve. Just don't go right at opening. The place was mobbed. Wait a half hour and you'll have a much better experience. More seating and fully stocked. All the employees I dealt with were polite and personable, efficient, like they wanted to be there. For the money, this is a good, little hotel. It's not a big, opulent place but I'd certainly go back. You can walk to tourist stuff easily if you're somewhat an active person. We walked to the tidal basin and back and it was a pretty good hoof but we're walkers. You'll be fine here. Utilize the Circulator for certain neighborhoods. From Union Station to 13th and K, it took us 25 minutes and cost $1.50. A taxi will run you $18.00. We walked easily (with small suitcases) from the bus stop a few blocks north to the hotel. Check it out online for routes and stops.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a nice city scape view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Comfort Inn DC Convention Center hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay during your recent visit to Washington DC to attend the Cherry Blossom Festival. We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here with a group of students for a week-long conferance. The location was great-only a couple blocks to the metro and walking distance to the White House.

Our rooms were small (expected for DC) but had everything we needed! Lots of space to hang your nice clothes..suits, dresses, etc. The breakfast was pretty standard-loved the blueberry waffles!

The staff was great and very accomodating! They allowed us to check in early and check out late without any hesitation. I was even allowed to stay and hang out in the breakfast room after I had checked out to do some homework in a quiet area. The best part of our stay was the manager's reception one evening in the breakfast room...there was a great meal provided and the managers really talked to all of the guests to find out how their trip was going. Felt more like a B&B than a chain hotel!

If I ever go back to DC I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,353 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#109 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing