We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #66 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
185 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel is situated near the Museums and government buildings, as well as shopping and restaurants. When we were checking in there was a large group ahead of us but the staff just asked us to come forward and it only took minutes to get a room and answer questions about eating and getting around Washington. The staff were not too friendly but were efficient and when we didn't have towels left in the room, supplied them immediately.
We had made the reservation in advance and were paying quite high rates but when someone needed a room immediately, the rate was $150 lower. Quite a difference!
The breakfast area was large, with different size tables allowing for large groups or singles. There were many TV's showing the news. The food was excellent, hot and cold items presented in an attractive way, fruit, yogurts, juices and of course, the signature waffles.
Our room was small but nicely decorated and lots of light.
We would stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner room was all windows (with great shades) so lots of daylight and interesting views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarshaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    398
    117
    32
    20
See reviews for
271
224
71
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

1. Excellent Breakfast- fruit, yogurt, juice, cereal, scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage, etc.
2. Outstanding friendly staff.
3. Daily weather report posted in elevator.
4. Breakfast room is an excellent retreat at night to watch TV or play games.
5. Efficient use of space in rooms. Rooms are small- a bit tight for family of 4, but doable.
6. Older building with new updates.
7. Bedding is very good.
8. Rooms on the front of building have small balconies and sun, but I would opt to get a room away from the noise of the busy street next time.
9. We bought the Smarttrip card for Metro/buses at the airport- savings on fares. The unlimited may be best if you travel a lot.
10. Business and travel guests.
11. Excellent access to the National Mall via direct Metro bus service on 13th and 14th.

We figured out that this was the only two star hotel offering a breakfast on priceline. Raz is excellent and a hands on manager.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of building have small balconies and sun, but I would opt to get a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kazackazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel met your needs. I will ensure that Raj receives the recognition for his excellent hands on leadership. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I recently stayed here for two nights, and could hardly believe this was a Comfort Inn. My queen room would have been a bit tight for 2 people, but that's pretty typical of city hotels. It was very nicely furnished, spotlessly clean, and had all the amenities I needed - safe, fridge, desk, reading chair and coffee-making. Anisha and the parking team very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was good. Wifi worked well. Only complaint - the elliptical machine needs a minor tune-up. You can walk to the National Mall (in comfortable shoes), and this part of 13th ST was very quiet. Will definitey stay here again.

Room Tip: My room was 3rd floor, street side - no problem with traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 425MC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your reply. We are delighted to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and I will check out the elliptical machine right away. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MINNEAPOLIS
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed at the Comfort inn/Convention center during my sons spring break. The location was "excellent" along with the staff. We arrived early and Raj was able to check us into our room. Overall I was pleased with the rooms, staff, location, breakfast, and price. My son loved the crispy bacon on our last day and the juice keep up the good work. To Raj and his staff keep doing a great job and we will be back soon.

Thanks,
Room 802

Room Tip: We had room 802 and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AIMEEMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed at the Confort inn/Convention center Easter weekend. The hotel is walking distance from the National Mall even for a family with small children. Raj, at the front desk was very attentive and helped us get our bus tour going. The kids were excited about the waffles for breakfast and I was overjoyed with the 24 hour coffee!! Our room and the hotel were super clean and even though it was one of the smaller hotels we have stayed at with quite a small room... we enjoyed our room on the third floor right accross the elevator. (never heard a thing) would come back to this hotel, great bargain!
One happy family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeeSquare22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed for a week at this location - very convenient to Convention Center/other parts of DC.
The staff were very friendly - specially Raj. They could improve the breakfast - but I guess that is what you get at Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 360Deg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is always great to hear that our team members go above and beyond to ensure our guests have an enjoyable stay. I will be sure to congratulate Raj for his service. Additionally, please know that we are always looking for ways to improve; therefore, should you have any specific feedback about the breakfast that you would like to share with me please contact me directly at 202-719-1630. Thanks again and we look forward to your next visit.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Raj and staff were extremely helpful and friendly. A great place and location to lodge in DC. Location is very convenient to DC’s Convention Center and metro stops. Rooms are comfortable, beds and bedding are clean and well kept. Great value for a DC hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,354 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#88 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#109 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Washingto...
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hotel Harrington
Hotel Harrington
#119 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing