We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy customer -- the pros easily outweigh the cons”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #68 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Happy customer -- the pros easily outweigh the cons”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The best feature is probably the location. Convenient to nearly everything, in a fairly central location, yet on a corner that is just enough off the busiest streets that it's comfortable to walk around. Another big plus is one of the best breakfast buffets you'll find. Plenty of good food available in a very pleasant room that's just the right size and laid out intelligently.

As for the cons, you're stuck with valet parking, which is a little too expensive IMHO. I also found that the bathroom window was so poorly installed that cold air was leaking in all around the bottom of it, (keeping the bathroom pretty cold when the door was closed) and condensation was a problem as well. Just annoying, but not so bad that I won't consider staying here again.

I also have to say that the hotel staff (without exception) were so friendly and helpful that they made me feel not only welcome but almost like a friend. Great people!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank braumeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your reply. I am glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient and the breakfast to be outstanding. We will take a look at the window in your room and apologize for the cold air. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    422
    131
    36
    22
See reviews for
294
244
74
263
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central NY
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed at this hotel with a group of university students and our experience could not have been better. The hotel is beautifully appointed and maintained, especially in the lower level breakfast room which is the nicest I've encountered. Daily breakfast buffet with eggs, breakfast meat, waffles, cereals, toast/bagels, donuts/sweets, fresh fruit one day, juices, fabulous coffee, milk and more. Warm cookies for free every afternoon in the lobby; coffee and tea available for free 24 hrs. too. The hotel is spotlessly clean. Comfortable beds and pillows. Great location, Circulator Bus one block away for $1 per ride. Hotel is between Mt. Vernon and MacPherson Metro Stations, about 4-5 blocks away. The staff at the hotel is incredibly helpful and friendly. I loved the size of the hotel, big enough to offer great amenities yet small enough to offer personal service. Every person I dealt with, from the planning process through checkout had a wonderful attitude. Refrigerators in the room were quite large for portable units. No microwave in the room but there is one open to guests 24 hrs./day in the area just off the lobby that serves as a convenience store and business center. This is the first hotel I've ever stayed at where the Internet signal is better than what I have at home; there is no charge for Internet usage, either. Double shades on the windows in the room: one to screen bright sun but still allow light through and another room darkening shade for sleeping. Very nice neighborhood, felt safe at all times. I will definitely return. I offer this location my highest recommendation. A great value.

Room Tip: There are a few steps inside the front entrance. Call ahead and ask for help getting luggage up the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank constantraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights while visiting DC. On Friday and Saturday nights their rates drop to $100/night which is exceptionally low for anywhere this close to town.

The biggest plus was location. It is within a 7 minute walk to 2 metro stations so you can easily access green, yellow, orange and blue lines. If you want to just walk though it is definitely central enough. My wife and I walked home from Penn Quarter one evening and it only took about 15-20 min total. It is also only a 15 minute walk to DuPont circle and a 10 minute will to a nearby Whole foods.

The down side is that the rooms are very small. We had a king room and the bed took up the majority of the suite. They also put us in a room with an adjoining door and I could hear everything going on next door. When I called front desk though they happily moved us to another room. It is definitely clean and safe and somewhat quiet, but just realize most of the excellent reviews on here are based on value, not necessarily luxury or amazing amenities!

Happy travels!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found our location and price to be great; however, we apologize for the noisy neighbors beside you. After all, some travelers get very excited to visit our nation’s capital and sometimes forget that they have others around them. Nevertheless, I hope you found your new room to be a bit quieter. On behalf of my entire team, we wish you safe travels back to South Carolina and we look forward to you visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Frederick, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Great little hotel with extremely friendly staff, great location and wonderful beds.
Tremendous value with complimentary breakfast, Internet access and walking distance to downtown and convention center.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1lazypuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is in a very convenient location on 13th Street. The hotel was very clean. The room was larger than I expected it would be. The staff was friendly. I would not hesiate to recommend the hotel to anyone that is looking for a value-priced hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTravelerTWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Thank you for your reply. We are glad that you enjoyed the room and found our staff to be friendly. We thank you in advance for your recommendation of our hotel and we really hope you return to stay with us soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for the weekend. The rooms were a lot nicer than I was expecting! The staff was very friendly and helpful. Our bathroom light wasn't working but they sent up maintenance right away. The breakfast included was typically hotel breakfast but the atmosphere made it very nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnatc26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnwood, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We stay at this hotel every year for a conference at the Convention Center. We are able to take the train right to the Center and then walk a few short blocks to the hotel. The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast offers a variety of food. It was convenient to have a small restaurant a block away to get soup and salad for other meals.
For the location, this hotel is a real bargain.

The staff went out of their way to help us in an emergency situation this past week. They were concerned, efficient, and did all they could to help us through a difficult time. We are grateful for all their help and look forward to staying at the hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for posting this fantastic review of the Comfort Inn DC Convention Center here on Tripadvisor. We put a lot of effort into creating an enjoyable experience for all of our guests so it's always great to read that we've succeeded at doing so. We are glad that you enjoyed the location and the breakfast. Thank goodness you made it through the emergency situation and it was truly our pleasure to help you. Your recommendation is the highest compliment we can receive so please know that it's greatly appreciated. We are just as grateful to have you as our guest and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
397 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
805 reviews
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Agoda, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing