We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #59 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Service Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We came to DC for a memorial service and needed a motel nearby. We had a small room that was clean and comfortable. The front desk attendants as well as the parking concierge were extremely professional and courteous. We have no bad things to say about this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable as well as the staff to be extremely professional and courteous. We hope to see you again in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    371
    110
    32
    20
See reviews for
252
213
68
233
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This Comfort Inn is very nice if you are looking to save a few dollars in the Washington DC area. About five blocks from 3 different Metro stations, it's a bit of a hike if the weather is not so nice. The building is older, but has been refurbished nicely. The room was on the small side, but nicely refurbished. The neighborhood is not bad, but definitely not the nicest in the district. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HighFlyin82A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for a conference. The hotel is approximately four blocks from the Washington DC convention center which is rather convenient. You can walk it during the day but I would recommend a taxi back in the evening if its dark. Hotel is on a busy road but there fast food restaurants close by. The rooms are rather small. This hotel is considered an European boutique hotel which means it's small. The beds are full size beds so if you are sharing the bed make sure it's with someone you don't mind sleeping real close to. The bathroom is small as well and the shower was odd. Half of it was covered by a wall which made it a little dark even with all the lights on in the bathroom. There was a window next to the toliet, but when you looked out the window you were looking into another hotel room with their bed in plain sight (luckily didn't see anyone in a compromising position). The breakfast was pretty decent. They have a waffle maker, hot eggs with either bacon or sausages, toasters for toast or bagels and a microwave to make instant oatmeal; refrigerator with hard boiled eggs, yogurt, cream cheese, milk and a juice machine as well as fresh fruits. Just don't book this hotel with a huge conference in town the breakfast area was a bit on the tight side. You can probably seat thirty people comfortably in there. Overall it was just an ok hotel experience. If I absolutely have to I would stay again but with less people so I can have the bed to myself.

Room Tip: A/C does not have an automatic switch so you have to have it on all the time or not on at all. Be m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vadiva30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your response. Our hotel does offer full, queen and king size beds which are confirmed at the time of your reservation. It is our goal to ensure every guest has an enjoyable stay and I am sorry to hear that you found your experience to only be “ok.” Nevertheless, thank you very much for your feedback and if there is anything else you would like to share please contact me directly at 202-682-5300. Thanks again. John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I checked into the hotel on January 14, 2013. I left the hotel for dinner and sightseeing and on my return back to the property I was searching for free parking on the street in front of the hotel. I was turning at the corner of 13th and m streets and was hit by a airport shuttle van on my drivers passenger door and the impact totalled my car. It was very upsetting and the good news that my injuries sustained were not life threatening but I was injured and it was a very difficult situation to deal with..totaling my rental car on my first night in washington. I cannot say enough great things about the hotel staff! they are excellent in every way.. from Asefa and million the bellmen who helped me with securing my car and providing me a parking spot in front of the hotel and ensuring that I did not receive a parking ticket was a blessing. From the moment that I checked in Rachelle at the front desk has been a delight and has helped me extend my reservation as well as been so polite. her wow factor guest service has made my stay enjoyable throughout all the difficulties I have had to deal with on a personal level. She is wonderful and is an asset to the property. Raj Joshi the Assistant Manager could not have been more supportive of my issues and made sure that I was taken care of in a efficient timely manner. He went above and beyond to make sure that I was accomodated as well as his staff! The staff and management at the Comfort Inn downtown DC/ convention center went the extra mile to make sure my stay was an excellent one and I will only stay here when I am back in the DC area. I highly recommend this property! The property is conveniently located to all the sights, monuments, museums, the white house, chinatown and the US capital...It is within walking distance to the metro. A must stay while you are in the DC area!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I stayed for one night on January 5 2013. The hotel is central, so clean and what can I tell about the breakfast.... PERFECT!!! We will be back next time we are in Washington D.C. Also the staff is really great and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you very much for your response. I am delighted to hear that your stay on January 5th was perfect. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Washington D.C.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We travel with a tour group of 34 people. We are always requiring that extra attention to detal otherwise the tour can be a shambles. Thanks to Rajesh Joshi and his wonderful team at the Comfort Inn Downtown DC our stay has been trouble free. As the Tour Manager I can put forward some unusual requests from time to time. Every request has been met with a smile and never too much trouble. Thanks guys for making our stay in DC so pleasant.
Want a great place to stay, then you can't go past the Comfort Inn Downtown DC.
Thanks guys. Craig

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hilly61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stay in hotels around 260 days a year, and its always a pleasure when I stay in one that gets it right! This hotel and the staff are amazing. Friendly, professional and the rooms and location are superb.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrintimate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback about the hotel. I was recently asked what makes my job rewarding and I must say this is a perfect example. We strive to provide flawless service and are delighted to hear that you found your stay to be superb. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Washington DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#47 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 524 reviews
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 492 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Washington Plaza
Washington Plaza
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,071 reviews
Days Inn Washington DC/Connectic...
#108 of 141 in Washington DC
3.5 of 5 stars 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing