We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great hotel, Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #62 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Ankara, Turkey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great hotel, Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Good location, within walking distance of several must see attractions. Staff very helpful. A good value for money solution if you are in town for a vacation. excellent brekfast, free WIFI, comfortable bads

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PRAIRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    385
    115
    32
    20
See reviews for
260
220
70
237
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Klamath Falls, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We exactly feel it's the best hotel for us to stay 6 nights, the bedding material are 100% cotton, very clean, very soothing and very comfortable, bath-room is very clean, good size, the staff is very friendly and helpful, especially RaJ is excellent, he has great personality, very helpful and good understanding, treats us very generous and kind, we just feel like home, to us, we feel exactly like 5 star hotel, the looking is not as fancy as "5 star", BUT their friendly, kind and great professional skills have made us feel super appreciative and unforgettable. We definitely like to come back again when we visit D.C with more international friends. Besides they generously offer 24/7 FREE great breakfast in the nice, comfortable room, plus FREE internet and copy machine in the lobby, FREE tea and coffee and fresh cookies( cookies for afternoon tea time) .

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Thank you very much for your reply and kind words about the staff. I will make sure Raj receives recognition for a job well done. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly. The room was small but very clean. The furnishings were contemporary and free wifi was a nice extra. The bathroom was VERY small, but clean and functional. The free breakfast was good and the breakfast room was comfortable. Overall, it was super convenient and a good value for the price.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ccpowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I have been staying at this hotel for the last three nights in D.C and must say that the quality of the accomodation and the service I received from staff was fantastic.

Staff like Raj are what make this stay so fantastic. He has excellent interpersonal skills and knows how to take care of his guests. I was especially impressed by the way he handled a disgruntled guest over an issue at the front counter. Raj handled it very calmly and professionally and left the guest completely satisfied and happy with the result. This shows his ability to handle sensitive situations and de-escalate them accordingly. Well done Raj.

Room Tip: Get rooms away from 13th street - the street noise starts really early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnnyAussie2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

Our recent weekend vacay in DC was a wonderful experience due in part to our excellent accommodations at Comfort Inn Downtown DC. The staff, Kyle & Shaniqa, were exceptionally helpful & friendly giving great advice on sightseeing, transportation & restaurants. Metro station was a couple blocks away & only $1 to ride. Will definitely stay here again when we return. Our room appeared to be recently remodeled, though a little small; however, so much to see in DC we were only there to sleep!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank APK8867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your reply. We are glad to hear that you had a great stay with us. I will ensure Kyle and Shaniqa are recognized for providing outstanding service. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay here. Things we liked were the updated and comfortable rooms (incl. flat screens), the friendly and helpful staff, the quietness at night, the fact that there was an elevator (albeit a slow one), the tasty breakfast with lots of choices, and the left luggage service.

Things we didn't like was that it was rather far from subway stops (10+ min walk) although there are a couple buses nearby (including the $1 distributor bus). Get a bus map if you're going to stay here as they are a more convenient and often quicker than walking to the subway. This hotel is fairly far from the White House and the Smithsonians so don't plan to walk, take the bus/subway.

The other thing we were frustrated with was the breakfast space. The room is not big enough to handle the peak breakfast rush if the hotel is fairly full. If you go down between 8:00-9:00, be prepared not to have anywhere to sit to eat. They seem to struggle to keep food stocked at this time too.

If we go back, I would probably look for a hotel more in the lower downtown as we spent most of our time there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janette14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your response as well as the feedback you provided about the challenges you experienced during your stay. I apologize for the concerns that you mentioned. We always welcome all feedback in high regard and use this information to enhance the level of service that we provide to you, our guest. Without such feedback, we recognize that we would not be able to improve. Rest assured that your concerns will be addressed and we look forward to providing you better service on your next visit. Should you need to share anything else, please contact me directly at 202.682.5300. Thanks again.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel has very friendly staff and clean rooms. Although the rooms are small they are well appointed. There is no driveway with overhang so the valet is curbside. The valet was very attentive and was right there when I pulled up. The receptionist greeted me with a big smile. My room had a refrigerator in it which was nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sorenup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. Although we release the funds back to your bank right away, the bank/credit card company has up to 7 business days to return the funds to your card. If there is any way we can assist please contact the hotel directly at 202-682-5300 and as for a member of the management team.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#86 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Connecticut Ave/ K Street
BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & Suites
BEST WESTERN Georgetown Hotel & ...
#91 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Expedia, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing