We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
$399
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$157
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$446
$341
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$405
$242
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$279
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$457
$339
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
JW Marriott Washington, DC(Washington DC)
$509
$459
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Kimpton George Hotel(Washington DC)
$363
$329
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$265
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,125)
Filter reviews
1,125 results
Traveler rating
467
450
143
40
25
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
467
450
143
40
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskwhite housebreakfast roomyogurtmake your own waffleswithin walking distancedc convention centerhot breakfastfree breakfastcorner roomnational mallthe general managerrooms are smallvalet parkingfew blocksvalet servicebeds were comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
677 - 682 of 1,125 reviews
Reviewed October 13, 2012

From beginning to end, this was a great experience. We called a day ahead for a reservation and got Kyle, who was extremely helpful in making the reservation and arranging a tour. The hotel is lovely and our room was a corner room with windows all around with fantastic views of the city. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. Many museums, restaurants, etc. are within walking distance and we felt very safe doing that in the day and evening. Of particular note is the Newseum, which is a wonderful comprehensive museum of all things journalistic. We were amazed and could have stayed much longer. We took an evening tour of city monuments, which was very well done and interesting. Breakfast was in a lower level with upscale furnishings. The food selections were numerous and great. Check out was a breeze, and again, Kyle was fantastic and helpful. The bellmen were also super and assisted us when we arrived and when we left - first class all the way in this hotel! My only quibble is with myself ... I was not accustomed to the high traffic area and circled the block a couple of times having a minor panic attack, and driving my poor husband crazy before I figured out to just park in front on the building and they will take care of the rest. Just an FYI for anyone staying there - they will watch out for you and take care of all your needs. Thanks to everyone for making our two day stay in DC so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - windows all around.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you felt our Comfort Inn was "top notch." I will be sure to praise Kyle for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

John Chisman CHA, MBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is our third consecutive stay at Confort Inn Downtown and as always our stay was exceptional. The location and hotel are awesome. Walking distance to major attractions and to our daughters school (GW). Every year we have a great experience here. The staff is very polite and friendly. Breakfast is great. This year we had a five night stay, rooms are very clean and beds are supper comfortable. We will definitely continue to stay here as long as our daughter remains in DC. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your response. I will be sure to share the information with my entire team. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to visit your daughter next.

John Chisman CHA, MBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The proprietor of this location owes a huge apology not just to the guests, but also to the staff. I have rarely stayed at a place where everyone was as keen as these people to make sure I was happy.

It is also in a fantastic location: four blocks from the convention center. An easy walk to the National Mall or public transportation.

But here's the let down: the rooms. OK, they're small. Not a deal breaker. But they're dismal. I couldn't tell if the carpet and bedding were old, or just not well kept. The wallpaper was scarred, peeling, and bubbling - not just in the bathroom, but the main room, too. The paint on the bathroom ceiling was bubbling: the sign of painted over mold. Then there's the smell. The first day it just seemed stale. But as the days progressed, my room had a growing sense of damp. A colleague had an even worse odor in his room. Another oddity was the placement of the hair dryer - right over the sink. One last oddity - a lamp on the desk wouldn't work and i assumed it was the bulb. Investigating a couple of days later, I discovered that it wasn't plugged in ... as there was no outlet anywhere near the lamp.

The positives ... the bed was very comfortable. And the lounge/dining area in the basement was well decorated.

The pictures on the hotel's website were obviously taken the day the renovations were completed - however many years ago that was. This could be an excellent place to stay. But it isn't.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Thank you very much for your reply. Although I am glad to hear you did find some parts of your stay enjoyable, please accept my sincere apology for the challenges that you experienced during your stay. It is the feedback such as that of the information you provided that allows us to continually evaluate our product and service, thus making changes where appropriate. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Should you need to share any additional information with me please contact me directly at 202-682-5300. Thank you.

John Chisman CHA, MBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very nice hotel within walking distance of the Convention Center. Has everything you need for a comfortable stay - clean and well appointed. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. We will definitely stay here again when business brings us back to Washington.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maf141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you very much for your response. We are glad that you found the hotel to be comfortable. We look forward to your return.

John Chisman CHA, MBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel looks a bit shabby but the beds (especially the pillows) were very comfortable. The room was small but had everything you needed. The breakfast buffet was a bonus but a bit hit and miss when we were there - took ages to be refilled if anything ran out. Staff were very polite and friendly. Good value for such a good location - easy to walk to the White House and the National Mall.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gleeful_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Thank you very much for your response. I am glad that you found the hotel comfortable, in a great location and the staff to be very friendly. We strive for your complete satisfaction. I will look into your concerns about the speed of the breakfast service. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to your return.

John Chisman CHA, MBA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews