We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we wanted”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, NC
Level Contributor
117 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Everything we wanted”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed here for three nights with my 14-year-old niece. The location was perfect for walking to the major attractions or catching the metro to travel farther away. I felt very safe walking in the neighborhood both night and day. Our room was like new, nicely furnished and spacious for a big-city hotel room, and our bathroom had enough vanity space for two sets of toiletries. The bedding was as soft and comfy as that in my own home, and other than routine street noises, the room was very quiet.

However, the most memorable part of our stay will be how well we were treated. Having arrived in D.C. on a 7a.m. flight, we went by the hotel just to drop our bags. We were amazed when we were told that there was a room available and that we could go ahead and check in. (Normal check-in time is 3:00 p.m.) We were invited to get some breakfast while housekeeping made sure that all was ready in the room. Being able to grab a power nap until the museums opened at 10:00 a.m. made all the difference in our day, as we had gotten up at 3:30 a.m. to get to the airport on time. Every encounter we had with staff was pleasant. We would gladly stay in this location again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daffodil7404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you for your response. I am glad we were able to get you checked in right away so you could begin enjoying your time in our nations capital. We look forward to your return.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    409
    124
    34
    21
See reviews for
278
237
72
255
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

From beginning to end, this was a great experience. We called a day ahead for a reservation and got Kyle, who was extremely helpful in making the reservation and arranging a tour. The hotel is lovely and our room was a corner room with windows all around with fantastic views of the city. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. Many museums, restaurants, etc. are within walking distance and we felt very safe doing that in the day and evening. Of particular note is the Newseum, which is a wonderful comprehensive museum of all things journalistic. We were amazed and could have stayed much longer. We took an evening tour of city monuments, which was very well done and interesting. Breakfast was in a lower level with upscale furnishings. The food selections were numerous and great. Check out was a breeze, and again, Kyle was fantastic and helpful. The bellmen were also super and assisted us when we arrived and when we left - first class all the way in this hotel! My only quibble is with myself ... I was not accustomed to the high traffic area and circled the block a couple of times having a minor panic attack, and driving my poor husband crazy before I figured out to just park in front on the building and they will take care of the rest. Just an FYI for anyone staying there - they will watch out for you and take care of all your needs. Thanks to everyone for making our two day stay in DC so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room - windows all around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
Thank you very much for your feedback. I am so glad to hear that you felt our Comfort Inn was "top notch." I will be sure to praise Kyle for the positive feedback. We look forward to seeing you again.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weslaco, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This is our third consecutive stay at Confort Inn Downtown and as always our stay was exceptional. The location and hotel are awesome. Walking distance to major attractions and to our daughters school (GW). Every year we have a great experience here. The staff is very polite and friendly. Breakfast is great. This year we had a five night stay, rooms are very clean and beds are supper comfortable. We will definitely continue to stay here as long as our daughter remains in DC. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. I will be sure to share the information with my entire team. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to visit your daughter next.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

The proprietor of this location owes a huge apology not just to the guests, but also to the staff. I have rarely stayed at a place where everyone was as keen as these people to make sure I was happy.

It is also in a fantastic location: four blocks from the convention center. An easy walk to the National Mall or public transportation.

But here's the let down: the rooms. OK, they're small. Not a deal breaker. But they're dismal. I couldn't tell if the carpet and bedding were old, or just not well kept. The wallpaper was scarred, peeling, and bubbling - not just in the bathroom, but the main room, too. The paint on the bathroom ceiling was bubbling: the sign of painted over mold. Then there's the smell. The first day it just seemed stale. But as the days progressed, my room had a growing sense of damp. A colleague had an even worse odor in his room. Another oddity was the placement of the hair dryer - right over the sink. One last oddity - a lamp on the desk wouldn't work and i assumed it was the bulb. Investigating a couple of days later, I discovered that it wasn't plugged in ... as there was no outlet anywhere near the lamp.

The positives ... the bed was very comfortable. And the lounge/dining area in the basement was well decorated.

The pictures on the hotel's website were obviously taken the day the renovations were completed - however many years ago that was. This could be an excellent place to stay. But it isn't.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your reply. Although I am glad to hear you did find some parts of your stay enjoyable, please accept my sincere apology for the challenges that you experienced during your stay. It is the feedback such as that of the information you provided that allows us to continually evaluate our product and service, thus making changes where appropriate. We hope you will consider us again in the future. Should you need to share any additional information with me please contact me directly at 202-682-5300. Thank you.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Point
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Very nice hotel within walking distance of the Convention Center. Has everything you need for a comfortable stay - clean and well appointed. The staff was very helpful and knowledgeable. We will definitely stay here again when business brings us back to Washington.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maf141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are glad that you found the hotel to be comfortable. We look forward to your return.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel looks a bit shabby but the beds (especially the pillows) were very comfortable. The room was small but had everything you needed. The breakfast buffet was a bonus but a bit hit and miss when we were there - took ages to be refilled if anything ran out. Staff were very polite and friendly. Good value for such a good location - easy to walk to the White House and the National Mall.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gleeful_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. I am glad that you found the hotel comfortable, in a great location and the staff to be very friendly. We strive for your complete satisfaction. I will look into your concerns about the speed of the breakfast service. Thanks again for the feedback and we look forward to your return.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
611 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are looking for a big fancy hotel with lots of amenities, this place is not for you. But if you are looking for a simple hotel that is well run and a good value, you can't go wrong here. Note that absolute prices go up and down with the seasons and what is happening in town (e.g., conventions, Congress). In late August we got a great rate of under $80/night for a King room that was on the corner of the top floor (just under the Comfort Inn sign). I expect prices are better than most competitors at other times. The modest sized room was clean and the bed was comfortable. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The location is within about 4 blocks of the Metro and within walking distance of much of the North side of downtown. Valet parking is off-site, but you have in-and-out privileges if you really need a car. We would stay here again in a minute. Our only concern was that the breakfast room got slammed at prime times on the weekend and it is difficult to sit and eat on some of the couches and easy chairs - more tables and chairs would be helpful. The food availability also took at hit at these times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROCtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are delighted to hear that you would stay here again and we hope to see you in the near future.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,480 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#92 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Re...
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing