We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Ranked #69 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
636 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 246 helpful votes
“Comfortable Good Value”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are looking for a big fancy hotel with lots of amenities, this place is not for you. But if you are looking for a simple hotel that is well run and a good value, you can't go wrong here. Note that absolute prices go up and down with the seasons and what is happening in town (e.g., conventions, Congress). In late August we got a great rate of under $80/night for a King room that was on the corner of the top floor (just under the Comfort Inn sign). I expect prices are better than most competitors at other times. The modest sized room was clean and the bed was comfortable. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful. The location is within about 4 blocks of the Metro and within walking distance of much of the North side of downtown. Valet parking is off-site, but you have in-and-out privileges if you really need a car. We would stay here again in a minute. Our only concern was that the breakfast room got slammed at prime times on the weekend and it is difficult to sit and eat on some of the couches and easy chairs - more tables and chairs would be helpful. The food availability also took at hit at these times.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROCtraveler30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are delighted to hear that you would stay here again and we hope to see you in the near future.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    420
    416
    127
    35
    21
See reviews for
284
243
72
257
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shenzhen
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2012

It was a pretty space. Stay the center five days,the room is very clean.And i is a hello e-cigarer.I buy a electronic cigarette (in www.hellosmoke.com).And i retired to own room after supper. It's a pretty space,i like there.I will order the space to washington DC nexttime.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hello f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was a great experience staying here. The charges were on the higher side but given the close proximity to the places of interest in DC, it was all worth it.
You can walk down to the White House or the Washington Memorial and the Mall area. All walkable. Then you have a few "big" hotels nearby to enjoy the night life.
The breakfast buffet was okay. Not great but manageable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohanChatterjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are delighted to know that you had a great experience staying with us. We hope you enjoyed the DC area attractions and look forward to seeing you again in the future.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2012

A great value. Enjoyed the location as it was an easy walk to the Metro, and an easy walk to the White House, Mall, etc. The staff was friendly, and the room was clean and safe. I will stay here again next time I'm in D.C.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your response. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the hotel as well as the location. We look forward to your return.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This was our first time staying at a Comfort Inn and we had a wonderful experience. I must admit that the clerks at the front desk reassured me that my visit at this hotel was going to be enjoyable. They went above and beyond with thier customer service even before our visit by explaining some options for tours, restaurants, hotel conditions and the vicinity. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was very clean. We will stay there again and suggest it to friends because the price was very affordable for D.C.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirlene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your reply. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful experience. We hope to see you again when you return to the Washington DC area.

John Chisman CHA, MBA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

This is a great place to stay if you're used to "Euro" style hotels. Very tight quarters. But you can easily get comfy in this place. The front desk girl is very friendly and nice.

The gym downstairs is adequate. Nothing to rave about.

Slept very well here. Breakfast was pretty good. A lot more than standard Continental breakfast.
For the cost and location, can't really beat this Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmal77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wewoka, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
380 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My hubby & I spent 4 nights here and we had a great experience. We were given a room on the 1st floor near the main entrance and the elevators. The rooms were rather small, but workable and very clean with microwave & fridge, comfortable queen bed, desk & flat screen TV. Bath was comparatively large with granite countertops & fluffy towels. Breakfast was in the basement in a huge dining/family atmosphere with tables, pub bars & stools, comfy couches & chairs and several TV's. Breakfast consisted of hot waffles, cereals, assorted breads, pastries & bagles. Scrambled eggs, bacon or sausage. Yogart, juices, milk & coffee,,,very nice selection and ambiance.
The hotel was located withing walking distance of the national mall and all main attractions. 2 blocks to the easy to navigate subway and several bus stops across the street.
The employees that we encountered were friendly and helpful with directions. I would definately recommend this hotel. I picked it on hotwire for the location and free breakfast and in my opinion got a bargain for $97 per night.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pednurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
365 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
2,516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Residence Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Residence Inn Washington, DC Dow...
#85 of 141 in Washington DC
175 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center

Property: Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Address: 1201 13th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-5110
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#55 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 4 blocks from the Walter E. Washington Convention Center, our DC downtown hotel is within easy reach of the White House, Smithsonian Institution museums and the Jefferson and Lincoln memorials. We're steps from the McPherson Square Metro Station and Logan Circle, as well trendy shops, restaurants, legendary attractions and government agencies. Enjoy a great night's sleep in European-style guestrooms with sleek, contemporary decor and unique layouts. Relax after meetings or sightseeing in boutique style spaces outfitted with thoughtful travel amenities, like free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, cable TV, ergonomic work space, and iPod docking. Then sit back and enjoy the view. Feel right at home in DC when you stay with us. Wake up to our hot buffet breakfast and face the day with a smile. Enjoy a workout in our fitness center, grab drink at the shop, pick up tour tickets at the activity desk, or get your suit dry-cleaned. You're ready to go with free Wi-Fi and connected in the business center. It's all about you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Downtown Dc / Hotel Washington Dc
Comfort Inn Washington Dc
Washington Dc Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing