We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center
Nearby Hotels
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$328
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$238
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$409
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$463
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$404
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$375
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
$351
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$383
$287
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,138)
Filter reviews
1,138 results
Traveler rating
473
453
145
41
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
473
453
145
41
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskwhite housebreakfast roomyogurtmake your own waffleswithin walking distancedc convention centerhot breakfastfree breakfastcorner roomnational mallthe general managerrooms are smallvalet parkingfew blocksvalet servicebeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
832 - 837 of 1,138 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2011

My group of 5 had the privilege of staying at the Comfort Inn Downtwon DC/Convention Centre, August 15-18, 2011.
The hotel is a great downtown location with all the amenities and service that you can expect to receive.
They have recently undergone an extensive renovation to this 100 room property and you will not be disappointed in what they have to offer. Great rooms, great breakfast and excellent service are second to none.
A special thank you to Kyle (Front Office Manager) and Noemi and Rachelle Front Desk Agents who made our stay most enjoyable. I have been recommending your beautiful property since my return to Canada and hope to visit the Washington, DC area in the not-too-distant future and will call the hotel for my return visit.
Thank you again,

Sharon Murphy
Sport Tourism Coordinator
Tourism Hamilton
Hamilton, Ontario Canada

Room Tip: I found this hotel on the DC Website
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank January63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Sharon Murphy,
It was our pleasure to host you and your group in Washington, DC. Thank you for staying with us. Our team were very happy that you mention their names and for the excellent review. We recently added art work and new mirrors on the rooms, we will continue to improve our hotel and when you return next year we will have new curtains and drapes. Thank you for staying with us and we hope we see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

As we walked up the steps to the small lobby I did not know what to think. We were too early to check in. The only parking for this hotel is valet which is 5 blocks away @ $30 a day. We left to look for a store and found a deli a few blocks past the hotel. We returned to the hotel the rooms were still not ready. We asked if we could just unpack the car and park it. At this point they went out of there way to find us are rooms. We would have been happy to just get rid the car. The staff was very accommodating.

The hotel is in the process of a face lift. It is a work in progress. Our rooms had new furniture and sm refrigerators were in the hallway just waiting to be put in. A nice young gentleman named Kyle helped us with our luggage and hook up the refrigerators. He was friendly and helpful as we later found out all the staff where. He filled us in on the up dates to the hotel & told us about the free breakfast on the lower floor. The breakfast/ lounge area could also be used to relax & enjoy a BYO cocktail. He also told us about the night guided tour of the monuments. We took his advice and went on the tour @ $37 each on an ac bus in 99 degree heat it sounded good to us. Kyle did not steer us wrong. The bus picked us up @ the hotel @ 7pm & returned us @ 10:30 we made several stop before the tour started the bus was full.

Our room was smaller than our friend’s room maybe because it was a corner room. The good thing it was clean, the beds & pillows were comfortable & the ac worked great in both rooms. It had all the usual amenities & a clock radio with an Ipod dock all room had free wifi.

Everyday after touring we would return to Noemil’s smiling faces the desk clerk asking about our day. Complimentary coffee, lemon aid & if you hit it right delicious cookies were in the lobby along with & computer & printer to use.

We could not see how anyone could complain about the free breakfast buffet. They had it all coffee, tea, juice, fruit, scramble & hard boiled eggs, sausage, yogurt, pastries & breads, hot & cold cereal & milk. And of course make your own waffles. The room was full but there was plenty.

It is about 5 blocks from the McPherson subway. We had a pleasant stay and if in the area we would stay again. It’s a smaller hotel with a lot of charm & warmth. We felt safe walking to the subway or area restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shopping4fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for writing such a great review of our hotel, I was very happy to hear about the engagement of our team accommodating your early check in and recommending great tour and offering a good service. The cookies, iced lemon water, business center, breakfast items, the smile and all the room amenities is part of our commitment to provide good service and we are glad we offered you and your family a great stay. Please come to see us again soon and thank you again for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The place was great. The location is good - about a 20 minute walk to the national mall and the rooms are a good size.
The service we recieved was excellent. Staff were polite and very helpful.
The hotel gives free cookies at 3pm in the lobby area. Try these -They're wonderful!
Breakfast included everything you could ever need with a good selection of breads, cereals and hot items.
There aren't many great restaraunts near this hotel so we ended up having to take cabs most evenings. But cabs are cheap and never cost more than $6. It is possible to walk. It took us 20 minutes to walk north towards u street where there are loads of restaraunts and bars. When we did walk we felt 110% safe as the hotel is in a decent area of the city. Washington has loads of expensive hotels, and so this is great for the price and what it offers. A must place if you want a good quality, clean hotel and dont mind walking short distances to the main sights and restarunts.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2011

Dear Uk dalefan,
Thank you very much for your review, the Hotel staff is very happy when they were mentioned on reviews. We are glad you took advantage or our hot buffet breakfast. Because your comments we are preparing new list of local restaurant to better serve our guests. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for a convention. The staff was wonderful, providing us tourist information, an umbrella when it rained, hosting the breakfast area. Everyone was pleasant and happy to help. The room was basic but very clean. You can see the work they've done to refurbish the place. Some things were showing their age, like the noisy air conditioner, but it kept us cool in the hot summer heat. The neighborhood is nice too, a very short walk to the convention center and other things.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Dear Ellen C,
Thank you for your staying with us and for your review, Thank you for mentioning our staff, I’m very proud of our team, they even suggested to me that we should have umbrella for all the guests. We are replacing some of the air conditioning units on the rooms, although they are cooling properly, they are starting to be a bit loud. Thank you for your feedback and Please come to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

We booked two nights at this hotel for a visit to Washington DC. The hotel is under renovation but we barely noticed it and the work that has been done is impressive. The lobby, breakfast room and our rooms were very clean and attractive. The desk staff helped us with directions and restaurants nearby, which I will also do reviews on and were very good. The neighborhood was the type where we walked and felt safe, better than even downtown where the panhandlers were. We enjoyed our stay, saw things we never saw before and I was glad to stay here. Thanks to hotel staff people, Noemi and Kyle. The internet was fast and free and the room had a large new flat screen tv.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank norme-ormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmdc601, General Manager at Comfort Inn Downtown DC / Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2011

Dear Norme-ormond,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and for writing a review about us, I’m glad our renovations did not disturb your stay. Thank you for mentioning out team in your review, our team is always very happy when guests mention their names on reviews. Hope we can serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews