We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Afternoon Tea was exquisite!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 6, 2006

My Mom and I recently had tea in the Peacock Alley of the hotel. We were seated at one table but when the waitress noticed there was a small stain on the tablecloth, she promptly moved us to another table. Peacock Alley is one of the thoroughfares in the hotel and people are frequently walking past your table but it did not detract from the lovliness of the afternoon. The waitress brought out samples of the loose teas for us to look at and smell at our leisure. With our tea, we were served delicious finger sandwiches, scones with cream, lemon curd and assorted jellies, and pastries. The food was very filling. We were offered refills on anything at our table but we were too full to accept. The cost is $35/person and you can also get a glass of champaigne for an additional cost. It was worth the money and we not hungry for dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shelby47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,851 - 2,857 of 3,116 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2006

My wife and son stayed during a recent visit at the Willard and I must say this is one not so typical "chain" hotel.
Our room on the 8th floor overlooking the national mall was in immaculate condition (as was the entire hotel) and very spacious. On our arrival we were greeted by a british/german manager who really seemed to care about us and who gave our 7 year old son a little history lesson (which he really enjoyed).
The hotel has so much history that they even have a history gallery.
This "Residence of the Presidents" as I heard it being called, truly stands out in service & staff that seem to care.
Unfortunately the Restaurant was closed during our stay, but there are good alternatives close by. There is no pool, but a excellent although very pricey spa.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Markremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2006

I attended a conference in Washington DC this summer and was provided with a list of hotels to choose from. After reading the reviews provided on tripadvisor, a group of us chose to stay at the Willard. Staying at the Willard was definitely the highlight of my stay in DC. The location was perfect, close to all sights, rooms were wonderful, especially enjoyed the "turndown" service.

Would highly recommend the hotel to anyone, if your budget allows.

Stayed: September 2006
Thank T02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2006

I cannot think of a single negative thing to say about the Willard Hotel. I stayed there for a week in August and another week just after Labor Day.

The first visit I checked in at 11am and checked out (after checking to see if late checkout was OK) an hour after posted checkout with no problems and no extra charges. The lobby is decorated with flowers which fills the space with a lovely fragrance and has a neoclassical decor. Sit in the lobby after 5pm and listen to the pianist while guests sip an afterwork drink and chat with friends.

The rooms are very large and very comfortable. Sounds don't transmit through walls much and I have not encountered loud guests after hours. The staff is extremely polite and focused on customer service.

The National Mall, museums, White House, and very nice restaurants are all within walking distance. The metro station is barely two blocks away.

A lovely, lovely hotel worth its premium price. But they do run specials for more budget-minded travellers if you can catch them

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Rbirds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2006

The Willard is a beautiful hotel with first-class amenities. On a recent stay for a relative's wedding I found the Willard to be above average is nearly every area. The ambiance and setting are unbeatable and the location is perfect for sight seeing.
My husband and I have stayed in many wheelchair accessible rooms and the room we had at the Willard was by far the most comfortable we have been in. Most wheelchair accessible rooms lack any space for wheelchair movement except from one side of the bed to the bathroom. There was actually room to move around both sides of the bed in this hotel. Additionally there was a comfortable chair as well. The service was excellent. For example, I called and asked for towels and they arrived while I was still on the phone with the front desk (a one-minute wait)!
The wedding and reception, which were both held in the hotel were incredible!
There are two reasons that I cannot give the Willard an "excellent rating". First, the central location lends itself to a lot of noise. If you are not used to city living, you may not sleep well with the constant horns and sirens. Lastly, on our second night there was a very loud group staying on our floor. These folks were playing loud music, shouting to each other and running from room to room all night. OUr door was "playfully" knocked on twice between 1:00 a.m. and 3:00 a.m. I spoke with the desk once and they did come up and quiet the group down. Unfortunately, the hotel needed full-time staff on the floor to control this bunch. They ordered pizza at 3:00 a.m. and delivered it room to room by "shouting out" their buddies names.
Needless to say, our stay was not very restful. Upon checking out I mentioned the incident and I was told, "we had a bunch of trouble with that group last night and we are going to talk to the leader of the group today." So, although there was much to love at the Willard, sleep was not in the cards!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Principle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2006

We just returned from a fabulous weekend pleasure stay at the Willard in Washington D.C. Check in at nine in the evening was fast and helpful. The charming employee recommended tour buses, restaurants, and places to visit, as well as checking the weather for our two-day stay in Washington. Room service was equally fast and rather delicious. The concierge was helpful in giving directions to sights, although his hour-long "lunch break" at 6pm made dinner-planning difficult. Our Deluxe Room with two double beds was spacious and comfortable. The housekeeping was excellent, miraculously cleaning our room even if we were out for only a few hours. Turn down service was a nice touch. All staff were very pleasant, friendly, and helpful. Our only caution is that since the Willard caters to the business and political elite, walking around in the hotel in touristy clothes occasionally made us feel a tad awkward. Nevertheless, the Willard's excellent staff and rooms made for a delightful stay. We will certainly return!

3  Thank famtravs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2006

We recently returned from an extended weekend stay at the Willard. What a lovely hotel, with so much history and a great location. We were within walking distance of the White House, Smithsonian, Washington Monument, Lincoln Memorial, and other memorials of great military conflicts (Vietnam, WWII, Korea). The service at the hotel is also excellent and our accomodations were fantastic.

There are also many great dining options within blocks of the Willard or you may opt to dine within the hotel or next door on the patio (outside) of the Occidental Grille. To see a fantastic view of the district, have lunch on the roof of the Hotel Washington which is neighboring to the Willard.

The only negative experience we had the was the breakfast buffet at Cafe 1401(located at the hotel). The cold selections on the buffet were fine, but beware of the runny eggs and other hot selections. It might be a better experience to have the Sunday champagne brunch at the Willard Room. We did not try it because we were turned off by the $75 per person and the fact that we would have to dress more appropriately to dine there.

Some other reviews talked about the attire of visitors to this hotel. We wore shorts and other touristy clothing the entire time and no one frowned upon it. Many other guests were similarly attired and fit in just fine. It is important to note that the Willard caters to businesspersons, polticians, and other "high-powered" persons, so those people are in suits and very well-dressed as one might expect.

Overall, I would definitely recommend the Willard to anyone who wants to visit DC and stay at the best location for sightseeing, while also having luxury accomodations.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sopeleta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,228 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 142 in Washington DC
1,146 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 142 in Washington DC
3,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
427 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
1,318 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 142 in Washington DC
1,935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $210 - $682 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing