We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, horrible restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Christiansburg
1 review
“Nice hotel, horrible restaurant”
Reviewed May 13, 2009

I have never known a five star hotel with food as terrible as this hotel. I can make better food with both hands tied behind my back. However, the hotel was nice. I got a smoking room when I reserved nonsmoking, but the lady at the front desk took very good care of me and made sure I was happy with the new room. Overall, good stay but run away from the hotel's restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithvalentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,897
    627
    163
    64
    40
See reviews for
793
841
109
688
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I spent 2 nights here in March. The Willard is a truly charming, historic place. It is what you would expect in DC. The room was spacious with two beds, an iPod docking station, chocolates, tea/coffee service, flatscreen TC, large bathroom and granite accents throughout.

The bar is also famous and we saw some well-known Washington politicians there on a Friday evening. The service was a tad slow there but the bar was full. The last morning my husband went down to get some breakfast to go. He came back with breakfast packaged in a lovely (and large) box to take with us. Everything seemed to be done with elegance and an unexpected flair. Of course, for these prices and with its reputation, that should be the case.

If you want to get the feeling of being wrapped in Washington history (Lincoln stayed at the Willard before his inauguration) then this is place to be.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsEditor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2009

A buddy and I went to Washington DC on a weekend excursion to see the Cherry Blossoms. Since it was his first time in DC I wanted to stay somewhere nice and conveniently located for our getaway. I had seen the Willard Hotel many years ago on a previous visit and fell in love with the beauty of the hotel. So on this vacation I decided to spend the extra money.

The hotel is in one of the best locations for sightseeing in the city of Washington. Besides being next door to the White House it is only a few blocks from the Washington Memorial and Washington Mall. For the young and energetic most of the landmarks are walkable. We walked all over DC. From the White House, To the Capital, to the Jefferson and Lincoln Memorials.

The lobby of the hotel is absolutely gorgeous. The staff is friendly and attentive. The check-in took a bit of time when we arrived at noon but we arrived at check-out so this was expected. They did check us into our room however the room was not yet ready. Since check in is at 3 or so this was also expected. However they informed me they would call when the room was ready and at 5:00 when we returned to the hotel they still had not called yet our room had been ready for some time. This was NOT an inconvenience however if your going to say you will call you should do it. (pet peeve)

The room itself was large, comfortable and clean. The beds are soft and luxurious. If you are use to sleeping on a harder bed you may have a sore back in the morning but that is the cost of luxury. The overall appearance of a standard room was of a historic well maintained hotel that will be ready for regular renovations in 2 or 3 years to replace the carpets and furnishing. At this point it is a beautiful hotel with friendly courteous knowledge staff.

If your on a budget you might want to stay elsewhere. However if you have the extra money to spend it is an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChaseChgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford, england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

Stayed at the Willard for four nights over Easter Weekend. The hotel was beautiful and the staff were all very friendly and professional.

The room was very clean and the beds were comfortable. Flat screen TV in the room with plenty of channels.

The excellent location of the hotel was our main reason for booking - and we were not disappointed - standing at the front door you can look left straight down Pennsylvania Avenue to the Capitol - look right and you can see the grounds in front of the Whitehouse.

Five minute stroll down 14th Street and you are on the National Mall.

Metro stop only 5 minute walk along F Street (using rear entrance of the hotel and turn right) and then 10-15 minutes on metro to Arlington, The Pentagon, and Pentagon City Mall.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank englishbride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2009

I stayed two nights at the Willard with my family (3 kids - 12, 9 and 7). Beautiful hotel. Awesome location for seeing the sights. I was upgraded to a larger room with 2 queen beds, plenty of room for our family. Double decker sightseeing buses stopped right outside the hotel. I would highly recommend the double decker buses if you want to see the sights. We saw Obama motorcade while on the bus, was quite a production and the kids thought it was cool. Lots of secret service agents around the hotel while we were there. Very nice cafe to eat at in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swiper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin , SC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2009

My husband, 4 year old and I recently stayed in this hotel during a sight seeing trip. The history of this hotel is very impressive, and was the reason we picked this hotel to stay in. We actually spent the first two nights at the JW Marriot (across the street).

The location, history of the hotel and beauty of the room are unrivaled; however, I must say I was very disappointed in the housekeeping. We checked into the hotel without any problems and the front desk was excellent. We also ordered room service one night which was fantastic. (Beautiful table setting and linens) I guess I just expected too much, but there was no turn-down service and housekeeping really didn't do a very good job. The ironing board and iron never got put away, drinking glasses were never replaced with clean ones despite being there for 3 days, and the towels were left just thrown over the bathtub not changed or even put on the racks. I know this may sound petty, but it does bill itself as 4 star..... Again, that being said, the rooms are beautiful and I would stay here again.

Just be sure to check your bill before check-out. There were a few problems with being charged for phone calls and mini bar items that we didn't use. The front desk took care of it without a problem, it just takes time and when you are trying to make a plane, sometimes that makes a difference!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcallijd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

The Willard is famous for many historic events - the writing of both the Battle Hymn of the Republic and the "I Have a Dream" speech. It's hosted every president since the 1840s, and is the hotel from which we get the term "lobbyist" (they're still there!). We had a wonderful stay there in a lovely room on the top floor and would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chellfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
3,143 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,232 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
2,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,806 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,087 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#57 of 141 in Washington DC
2,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#11 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing