We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majestic Hotel, Great Service, Phenomenal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 12, 2014

The Willard is a truly grand hotel. From the portico to the majestic lobby, from the moment you walk in the door, you feel you have arrived. The hotel is located next to the Dept. of Treasury, only a few short blocks from the White House. The decor is quite traditional which is a perfect fit for the architecture and neighborhood. We booked through Amex Platinum Fine Hotels and enjoyed terrific breakfast at the Cafe du Parc as well as a $100 food/bev credit which we used at the charming and chic Round Robin Bar. The staff had already arranged a room upgrade for us (as part of the Amex program) but when they saw I was traveling with my children, they upgraded us several categories higher to a suite, at no additional charge. Such a lovely gesture. Although the hotel is formal, the staff was very friendly to our young boys and our room - a junior suite - was sprawling. The bathrooms was renovated but small. Views from rooms along the front of the hotel are fabulous. Perfect DC hotel. Looking forward to visiting again soon.

Room Tip: Request a front facing room for the best view.
See more room tips
Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
2  Thank DDSmith5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,008 - 2,014 of 3,161 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

DC on foot is so easy from the Willard EVERYTHING is right there. Beautiful views, very nice rooms, clean, extremely helpful staff, comfy beds, no noise and you never know who'll be staying there. Wonderful home base for sight seeing in DC.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DRL615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My wife and I spent one evening here after a company function in the city. We generally stay at 4 star hotels and this was our first 5 star experience.

I'll start with the good stuff. The staff we interacted with were all friendly and helpful. The room was clean and bug free (we always check, better safe than sorry). Our room faced Pennsylvania Avenue and it was amazingly quiet. We did not hear any road noise from outside or guests in their rooms or in the halls. We had breakfast at the café and it was very good.

Now the underwhelmed part. When we arrived at the hotel, nobody helped with our bag. It was only one medium sized bag, but we took it from valet to room ourselves, which surprised us. The website says the Deluxe King room is 425Sq Ft, I did not have a tape measure but it seemed much smaller. The room description included a bidet and one was not present. The shower had great pressure, but never got hot. The bathroom was smallish and did not include hand soap, and there were no trash bags in the cans. My wife tried to set the room temperature above 72 numerous time, but it never budged.

Some of these things seem "nit picky", but for the price and being a 5 star hotel we were surprised by the lack of attention to detail. We had a good time, but next time I need a room in D.C. I think we will book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jim t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Willard InterContinental Hotel. We value your opinion as it helps us identify areas to improve. Our business is a world of details and we can not miss any of them. We will continue to raise our bar each day. It is good to know that you appreciate our hotel location and staff service however we obviously fell short in certain aspects of maintenance in the room. I would be delighted to handle your next stay in DC and will personally ensure it is a memorable one. I may be reached at patrick.birchall@ihg.com. We sincerely appreciate your constructive feedback and hope you allow us to regain your trust in the Willard in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is a great hotel. Fantastic location within a stones throw to the White House and the Mall - even a do-able walk to the Capitol in the January cold. From the beautiful lobby, to the spacious rooms and the helpful concierge there is really nothing other than magnificent to describe this hotel. We didn't eat here as there were so many interesting grills, bars and restaurants within 2 blocks that variety was the go. Free wifi too if you join the (free) IHG Rewards Club before arrival.
After coming from a stay in NYC, the tariff was amazingly low for such luxury. We love DC and the Willard!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RolFromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Best hotel in the best location in DC. Can walk to all of the monuments on the mall, to the White House, Warner Theatre, National Theatre, etc. Staff is great, especially Lauren at check in. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metsin2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I have always loved the Willard--it has never disappointed! It's one of the most regal hotels in DC, but never fussy. The lobby is always active and the standard rooms are as nice as rooms double the price. Great service and ambiance. You must have a drink at the Round Robin bar which has a nice bar list. The Red Door is also fabulous; A+ deep tissue massages. I've stayed here numerous times and have always loved it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayak41952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Perhaps the best hotel in American. The service at check in, the room,the meals, everything is 5 stars. The history alone is reason to stay at The Willard. The location is the best in DC. Every meal, room service included, was great.Every staff member was friendly and knew about the history of the hotel.The rooms are very clean and well maintained.
Treat yourself and stay at the Willard.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BuffaloDennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
3,239 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
3,123 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
455 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,954 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 141 in Washington DC
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#6 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $207 - $654 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing