We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
DURBAN
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Couldn't believe that I even stayed at this hotel. Right next to the White House and walking distance to all the touristy attractions. Sightseeing bus stop right outside the hotel. Excellent security. We were there just before Pres. Obama's second inauguration and we were lucky to watch the practice run of the march passes. There is an awesome bakery right across the road which serves delicious food.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TANYA W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments and for recommending the Willard InterContinenal Hotel. Inauguration is quite a busy time for not only the Willard but the city itself. I am happy that you were able to experience Inauguration and felt safe while doing so. You must give our restaurant, Café du Parc a try during your next visit. I promise that our house made croissants along with the city’s best cup of coffee will get your morning off to a great start. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,806
    603
    154
    61
    38
See reviews for
754
796
105
654
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed a week at the London Hotel. Great location - was able to walk to Times Square and 5th Avenue easily, and at a pinch even Bloomies. Staff were a bit hot and cold and generally unfriendly for a 5 star hotel. It was a touch frustrating to watch the doormen help several guests out of town cars rather than help me find a taxi. The room was lovely and massive, with a separate living area.

Room Tip: A few of the rooms don't have separate living areas, be sure to ask for one that has French door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodiespy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Loved the beautiful details throughout the hotel. Don't forget to look up when in the lobby and check out the intricate and interesting ceiling. It is within walking distance of the White House and DAR Headquarters. Our room was quiet and the bed was comfortable-just what you would expect. Of course, the restaurants were super expensive but that's to be expected. I definitely will stay there every time I go to DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor for less traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvt2travel88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay at the Willard. We are very fortunate to work in such a beautiful hotel which is steeped in history and elegance. I am glad you enjoyed the hand painted state seals that adorn our lobby ceiling and that you were impressed with our location and proximity to the D.C. attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to our Nation’s Capital.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northville, MI
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We stayed here when my husband was attending a conference in DC. What a beautiful place! Superb location. The room was very spacious and lovely, and the bed was super comfy. Room service was crazy fast, and everything was very good. We had a light meal at the café du parc, which was super, and had a glass of wine while people watching. the bar/lounge was very cute as well. Very attentive staff, concierge, etc. We were able to get a late checkout (2 pm) which was great since we had an evening flight. the only detraction was one night I decided to get room service and watch a movie, and had a hard time trying to do so. when i called the front desk, I was told that they were doing 'upgrades' to the hotel system, and there were no movies to order. I suggested that perhaps they tell folks checking in about that.

Room Tip: we were in room 832, and there is quite a bit of road noise in this location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winsumwzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this review and for choosing to stay at the Willard. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and numerous food and beverage options that the hotel offers. People watching in D.C. on the terrace of our cafe is a great way to relax. The team strives on great service and going that extra mile to make sure that our guests are happy. I apologize that you were not properly informed of the transition and were unable to watch a movie during your stay. I am glad to report that our new best in class 47" and 55" TV's are up and running while offering numerous free HD movie channels. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to the Willard InterContinental in the near future.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is conveniently placed with regard to its proximity to the obligatory visits to the White House and surrounds. The olde world charm is appealing and our room was tastefully furnished but the hotel can certainly do more for its guests since it charges top dollar for its rooms. Turning down of the bed, a bottle of water by the bed, offer of a pair of slippers, replacement of towels would have been good gestures to offer the guests. Some of the male staff serving breakfast were quite determined to ensure that a tip was left for them; one even whipped out his roster to confirm that he would not be there the following morning as one of the servers! This same person offered to bring us maple syrup for our pancakes and poached eggs which we had ordered but promptly forgot about it once he moved to other tables!

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the quieter the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickBirchall, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Willard InterContinental Hotel. Thank you for your comments in regards to our tastefully furnished rooms. However, I am disappointed at the impression you left with. The fine customary details in your room were missing and we will have to ensure the room service staff is re-trained. We take pride in our level of service and apologize that we fell short with your experience. We take feedback as a blessing and are thankful for it as we strive to continually improve. I truly hope that you will give the Willard another chance should you find yourself traveling to D.C. once again.

Sincerely,

Patrick Birchall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

Probably the best location in DC, we spent 2 nights in Jul 2013 with another family. Just minutes away from the White House and other attractions, you literally walk and make your own tour. Good places to eat closeby that will not dent your wallet, so be sure to look around. The place is steeped in history thus offering a fantastic complement to the rest of the attractions around. Room upgrades are offered with views, but the top dollar may not really be worth it. Better to take a walk to see them than from the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rforcerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the moment you step foot into the gilded age lobby to the moment your head rests into deep comfortable slumber in one of their decadent beds, it's easy to fall in love with the Willard. Steeped richly in history and famous guests and decorated beautifully. For me this hotel misses nothing. This service is always perfect and our rooms immaculate. Don't forget to visit the Round Robin Bar for a cocktail. They claim they were the first to invent the Mint Julep. I'm not a fan but had a fantastic Cosmo. This hotel is in a great location for visiting tourist sights such as the smithsonian museums, the mall and many of the monuments.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonnenshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,738 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing