We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location has to compensate for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Location has to compensate for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Receptionits are very nice, knowledgable concierge, great location and famous lobby. As per rest - average. My ambassador upgrade - questionable,
had to remind housekeeping to bring rollaway bed. Lack of swimming pool was disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cezary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Cezary,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. I am pleased to know that you had a satisfactory stay at our hotel and apologize for any shortfalls you have encountered. I appreciate feedback that we receive, whether positive and negative to ensure we provide the best level of service and facilities that we can give to our guests. Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    603
    155
    61
    39
See reviews for
754
799
106
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
149 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The best place to stay close enough to see monuments and the White House from some of the rooms. A storied hotel with a great history. Nice, well done renovation. A bar that has hosted the likes of Abe Lincoln and others. Many artifacts hanging on the walls. The rooms on upper floors generally have better views. A get place to stay if you have the extra money. NOTHING cheap here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimG842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The Willard is stunning in the foyer and guest areas. Historical hotel and fantastic location .
Right beside The White House, easy walking distance to all the museums etc.
Old Ebbitt Grill just around the corner.
Rooms are large .....fairly dated furniture and bathroom cabinets.
New TV were installed when we were staying ...which was great to watch America's Cup.
Lack of free wifi a definite negative ....and the cost of $11 per day per connection was disappointing. So if you want your ipad and phone connected it is $22 per day.
No traffic noise.
No expectation of an upgrade ....as you are advised that you can upgrade your room at $22 extra per night.
Great stay ...as the hotel has a very special place in history ...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fmc208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

We visit DC many times a year and since 2008 have stayed at the Willard exclusively. Unfortunately, last night was probably the last time. Although I upgraded my IHG status to Ambassador before the previous trip, when I arrived in August, my reserved room was not ready, they did not have the Ambassador amenities in the room they kindly "upgraded" me to, which was a Willard room directly overlooking a roof with trash on it, and the bathroom was one of the small, older ones. One month later, last night, an almost repeat experience! Room not ready although past check-in time, "upgraded" to a Willard Room with view one floor above the noisy outdoor cafe,no amenities delivered until I reminded them on my way to dinner - way too late to enjoy the fruit, smallest (not very clean) bathroom I've ever had there, HVAC system first freezing because it was stuck at around 68 degrees, then hot after they fixed it because it was stuck on about 75. The front desk staff was charming, but I am beginning to think they find me a pushover with whom they can stick their most undesirable rooms. Perhaps I am not confrontational enough, but one certainly shouldn't need to be confrontational in a property with the reputation of the Willard. I think we are done now!

Room Tip: Ask to see the room they assign you before you accept it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 201Vivian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear 201Vivian,

Thank you for being one of our valued IHG Rewards Club Ambassador Members and writing us feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectations on this visit particularly with your check - in experience and room condition being sub standard. I assure you that this will be addressed accordingly with our team to consider for improvements needed in what we can offer to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Once again, thank you for your feedback. We all hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had such a wonderful time in Washington, D.C. and being at the historical Willard made the visit complete. Just stepping outside and being right there was truly incredible. To think of all the history that has gone on there gave me the shivers. We will definitely stay there again if we are in Washington.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and for recommending the Willard. We are very fortunate to work in such a beautiful hotel which is steeped in history and elegance. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Willard should your travels bring you back to Washington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Willard has everything -- history, charm, location. It is beautiful inside and while the rooms are not truly elegant in a baroque-sort-of-way, they are large and comfortable and well appointed with the "little" things, like really nice cosmetics, cozy robes, and plenty of thick large towels. But what makes the Willard stand above everything is the level of warm, friendly, service. Every desire was anticipated and every little need met quickly and with a smile. From the front desk staff, to the bar and restaurant, to the room staff, to the valet parking -- EVERYONE just let you know that you were and important guest. It is easy to see why the Willard has remained the top hote3l in DC for so very many years. And it is convenient to all the major monuments and museums. We were able to walk almost every place, but the metro is also truly convenient. We would come back here over and over again. Just love the Willard!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank candyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

My family stayed at the Willard last year and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The history, decor and location made our holiday in Washington DC memorable.The Cafe du Parc served beautiful and tasty food combined with fantastic and attentive staff. If we have the opportunity to visit again we will definitely stay at the Willard.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCHManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, General Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Willard InterContinental Hotel as your holiday home. The team strives on great service and going that extra mile to make sure that our guests happy and I am pleased to see that we met your expectations. We hope you are able to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,741 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing