We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“When can I move in?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“When can I move in?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

From the moment we arrived at the front door - beautiful entrance, wonderful service, perfect location - we felt like we were in the right place. Lively sidewalk patio + historical significance + quality beds and bathrooms... the list of quality features is endless.

The White House is only a block away and a quick view down Pennsylvania Avenue to the spectacular Capital Building reminds you that you are in the middle of one of most important cities in the world. Washington is truly beautiful and the Willard Intercontinental is the perfect home base.

The superb location means that you can take full advantage of the neighbours ... rooftop bar next door at the W, wonderful restaurant and bar at The Hamilton, and the Emmitt Grill is right around the corner.

I've re-booked for September!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karenwaterloo_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear karenwaterloo_11,

Thank you for taking the time to write this superb review. I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and our location so much that you have made us your home away from home when visiting Washington. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in September.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,761
    585
    153
    56
    38
See reviews for
731
778
103
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Like stepping back in time where histgory was made. Very elegant, great service and granduer. A stone's throw from the White House, the National Aquarium and the mall. Fantastic little bar with great services and a special mint julip.

Room Tip: Weekend Internet Specials
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Paul D,

Thank you for your positive feedback. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Willard. I will pass along your comments to the Round Robin Bar team who will be happy to hear you enjoyed their famous mint julep. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

If you like historic hotels as much as I do... You will love the Willard. Beautiful rooms, great staff, and can't beat the location! So close to The Mall, the White House, monuments.... Wish I had a chance to stay more than two days. Maybe next time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanghaimei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear shanghaimei,

Thank you for your nice comments. I am glad to see you enjoyed staying at our historic property. The Willard is a lovely, elegant hotel that is conveniently located near all of the sites. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Willard on Sunday 12th May 2013 as part of the Priority Club rewards scheme. Hotel reception was perfect and when we checked in we were recognised as platinum club members and upgraded . The hotel is a splendid hotel which reflects the era and the heritage , although those who like moder hotels may think its a bit dated. The afternoon tea in peacock alley is a must! We thought it was excellent and I would reccomend the hotel! Location is virtually on the white house lawn! Room service was impeccable ! And the round bar downstairs was a lovely pre dinner location . All in all a great stay , however we had a suite at the Hamilton two blocks away (part of the intercontinental group also) and that was better value for money but not quite as grand! Both hotels were fab! Don't hesitate to book either!

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dg146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

There is a reason people consider this the hotel one of the best in DC. They pay attention to the smallest details to make for a great experience, and the staff was incredibly attentive to everything about our stay. It's a beautiful classic, hotel lobby (with some of the city's best Christmas decorations) and the rooms are appointed for the greatest possible relaxation. In addition, the location puts it in the heart of everything going on in DC...if you want to leave the hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wileyc0y0te
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear wileyc0y0te,

Thank you for taking the time to write this very complimentary review. The Willard is a beautiful building and our lobby is a place to be seen. We are very fortunate to work with a team that is committed to every detail. We look forward to having the opportunity to host you in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

From the moment we walked in we knew we had made the right decision. Superb location - just a few blocks from White House & Capitol. Superb rooms - the rooms were inviting & really large, with two queen beds & a seating area. The Hotel is beautiful with a large & impressive lobby. The Hotel is within walking distance to many of the attractions, & also a stop for the Hop off Hop On Buses. Our two night stay could not have been more perfect. Though expensive, would certainly recommend for stay in Downtown Washington.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RKSMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear RKSMumbai,

I am very happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your recent stay here at the Willard. We are very lucky to be within walking distance of all the major attractions. Thank you for recommendation and we look forward to seeing you in the not too distant future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed at the Willard early May, with my wife and 3 young kids. It was much better than I expected, the official photos do it a disservice.

Pros:

1.Great location, right next to the White House and very close to the Mall and all the museums. We greatly enjoyed all our walks (the kids loved the flowers, trees and squirrels).

2.Super spacious rooms, our room would have been a large suite in most other hotels.

3. Price not too high for 5 people at a great hotel, around 350 bucks.

4. Staff was friendly (not amazing), reception was "old school" charming and the lobby area comfy.

5. They had VERY GOOD breakfast. Cafe du Parc has apparently won many awards, and it was indeed super (loved the super fresh pancakes and delicious croque monsieurs.)

Cons:

1. In room entertainment for kids (movies and TV channels) was mediocre to bad.

2. No pool (setting the bar a bit high, I know)


Overall, a GREAT HOTEL, will definitely go back and recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank direct2george
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,688 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing