We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A sense of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Genève
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A sense of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

For meeting t the World Bank I could have chosen a more conveniently located hotel but I decided to stay at the Willard and experience its atmosphere. I was not disappointed on most accounts. The reception was warm and professional, check-in smooth, the room (upgrade as Intercontinental Ambassador granted as a matter of course) spacius and with a view of the Mall. Breakfast was copiuous, room service accuate, fast and good quality, and the room was clean, kept clean and ample toiletries were provided. The Round Robin Bar was a bit of a let down - cramped and not the atmosphere I had expected. The location is great and access to the metro system worth mentioning. In brief: highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Robert1953,

Thank you for your recommendations in regards to our professional service, location and recognition to our InterContinental Ambassador Program. Thank you for your feedback in regards to your experience at the Round Robin Bar. Hopefully on your next visit it will be less busy and that you may have the opportunity to taste one of our mint julep cocktails. We look forward to seeing you on future visits to our Nation’s Capital.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    508
    131
    50
    35
See reviews for
631
672
86
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
240 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

A wonderful place to be and a wonderful place to see Washington, DC from The room was warm, spacious and very confortable. The Round Robin bar is well worth the stop. The area that has been set aside to read about the history of the hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: We had a corner room that looked out on Pennylvania Avenue on oneside at the hotel courtyard in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our long standing history and complimenting our history gallery. We hope you had the opportunity to try one of our mint juleps in the Round Robin Bar. We are looking forward to our Bonnets and Bowties event on May 3rd in honor of the Kentucky Derby. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to our Nation’s Capital on your visit.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My daughter and I just spent a long weekend at The Willard - something we've always wanted to do. Living within 2 hours of our nation's capitol, it is an easy drive for me, although my daughter had to drive up from TN. The Willard did not disappoint! Check-in was smooth and helpful, as well as quick. As a Priority Rewards member we received an upgrade to a larger room on one of the higher floors. Our room was beautiful, as is the hotel. Service was exceptional and the staff was helpful and friendly. Although we were unable to enjoy the special "Cherry Blossom Tea" because we needed to reserve a spot several weeks prior to our stay, we did enjoy strolling through Peacock Alley where tea is served. I hope to return soon with my husband for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The stay at the willard was very good. the rooms are big and set up very comfortable. the staff was very friendly and the place is perfect. the bars and restaurants were good and u literally feel the history of this place while u r there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Manu987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1401HotelManager, Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Manu987,

Thank you for allowing us to create a memorable experience for you. We are very glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy the Round Robin Bar and Café du Parc during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Willard in the near future.

Regards,

James Ryan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

My wife and I used The Willard as our place to stay for our spring vacation in Washington DC, March 14 through March 17, 2013. All staff went our of their way to make us feel comfortable and welcome. They were all friendly and courteous and made us feel very welcome. The Willard is located close enough to walk to all museums, memorials, and the Arlington Cemetery. My wife just said today that when we return to Washington DC, "we are staying at The Willard".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax Station, Virginia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We live fairly close to Washington DC and visit frequently. It was a special occasion for us and we had tickets to Fords Theater to see Hello Dolly so decided to spend the night in DC. We chose the Willard because of its history and old world charm. The lobby of the hotel is lovely as well as the hallways throughout the hotel. We reserved a suite which consisted of a living room area and separate bedroom and bath. I was terribly disappointed with the bathroom as it was extremely small and in need of painting and updating. Also, we were not happy with the air conditioning as we could not get the temperature to where we would like it to be.....the room was stuffy and too warm. The other areas of the suite were nice but needed dusting and a little TLC. The other disappointed was being informed that the wonderful Willard Room restaurant had closed a few years ago, something we were not aware of when making our reservations. There is a small very casual cafe and a very small bar. Once we checked in we went to the bar for drinks and small bites which were excellent. The problem with the bar, which is very lovely is that it is too small to accomodate the number of people staying in such a large hotel. So it is extremely noisy which makes it difficult to carry on a conversation. After the theater we decided to take a walk and stop somewhere else for drinks and a quick bit but there was nothing available close to Fords Theater so decided to return to our hotel and stop at the bar there only to find it completely full. After 30 minutes or so a table became available so we once again had drinks and small bites. Again, very crowded and very loud but we made the best of it and had a nice time. To sum up The Willard, it is a lovely hotel with a lot of old world charm and history but the rooms need a little sprucing up and it is is need of a more upscale restaurant or larger bar area to accomodate the number of guests. We will choose another hotel next time because of these issues.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing Penn Ave, high floor with a view of the Washington Monument
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CCGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
132 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I had read a great deal about The Willard before I booked the hotel for a long weekend with our grandson, Benjamin a 7 year old on his first trip to DC. I wanted a hotel that was elegant, where the service would be "white glove", the food would be superior, the rooms would be spotless, the staff would be caring and attentive, the location would be central to touring activities, the concierge would assist in our numerous requests for restaurants and sights to see for a young visitor, and WITHOUT EXCEPTION, the Willard passed with flying colors. The hotel has not only earned their superior reputation from their past guests, but continues to earn it with their current visitors!!!
When we checked in, their was a welcome gift for Benjamin with a huge plate of cookies awaiting his hungry tummy!!! I am so pleased we chose The Willard as it lived up to all of our expectations. Michael , the Concierge, who has been with the hotel for 26 years is just the kind of employee that makes a guest feel welcome and want to return.
The housekeeping staff did a terrific job making sure our room sparkled it was so clean, and even gave Benjamin a few extra toiletries to remember the hotel by.
When we return next year, there is no place but The Willard that we will choose. You continue to earn your incredible reputation. Keep up the good work!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank diana z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,913 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,047 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,578 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,023 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#23 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, IHG, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing