We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Classy, ornate, well maintained hotel - nicer than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #12 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Classy, ornate, well maintained hotel - nicer than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

I was here for a Wedding in Sept 2012.

Its an older classy hotel, and nicer than any of the other Intercontinental Hotels Ive been to. Most of the others seem to be 3-4 star hotels that are a bit worn. Personally, I'm not a huge fan of the Intercontinental/IHG Hotel chain (which includes Holiday Inn), but this is a very nice place. I usually prefer startwood hotels like the W next door, but the wedding party was staying here.

The rooms are quiet, clean, and comfortable. The service was attentive and very good overall. I didnt spend much time using the hotel facilities. If you are getting a good rate, this is a great place to stay, albeit it may be a bit expensive.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herzog00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,407
    482
    121
    50
    31
See reviews for
579
649
85
469
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (415)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

..as the Hotel tells on their very own Website about the important Role of this Hotel in the Past. We arrived, nobody cared. Handing over the Key i was told the Car had Damages and gone they were. Check-In was ok, as a RA we got an Upgrade..Lets see about that. Elevator to the Floor, Doors opened, looooong empty Floors, one could get lost in there! A very loud - broken - Ice Maker and there we were, our Room! Nice Room, indeed! But the Bathroom was kinda..empty! Like left Side: Washbasin, right Side: Shower (no Shower, a Bathtube)..Middle: Toilett...And in between about 4 Meters of empty Space...Dont ask me, but that is really not making sense to me!
The Location is fantastic, leaving the Hotel, turning right and there you are, White House! But still, not for the Price and not for the old Hotel..Not again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Klaus122211211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Delaware, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

You can't go wrong by staying at the Willard when in Washington, DC. Everything is within walking distance - great restaurants, the Metro, the Smithsonian, and many great shops.
Remember to look up when in the lobby for the seals of the states. The receptionist was very informative about the history of "lobbists".
If you enjoy a long, warm, soaking bath, the Willard has the best old tubs! Before you leave, take a peek into the Willard Room and recall the movies that featured this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaBobS_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage AK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This is a beautiful historic old hotel that lives up to its name. We were traveling with our daughter so we upgrated to a suite, definitely worth the money considering this was DC. We had 2 large rooms with 2 separate bathrooms and breakfast included. All of the staff were very friendly, their historic bar was a little small but their breakfast buffet was excellent. Great location to be in the middle of everything to see DC.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room facing west to see the Washington monument out your window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GJKAnchorageAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malibu, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed with my husband for business. It was lovely but no matter how you slice it, it is old. Just depends on whether charm or new is what you want. Easy central location but local cafes on the ground floor are not good. Really not good.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank saddllp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, SC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Perfect location, incredibly beautiful lobby, everything you could ask for; but the best part is this past weekend our room was late getting ready - and they gave us an incredible room - the Theodore Roosevelt Suite. What a thrill for us and our grandson who we were treating to a night in a DC hotel. We like to try different hotels, restaurants, etc. but from now on we will not bother with any of the others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Curnutte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

The Willard is tops for location in the crowded DC hotel scene and the staff if not busy- do go out of their way to be helpful. Its still has the the old world charm in its public spaces including the lobby and little coffee shop on the kern. However rooms are not consistent- given age of the hotel is, be sure to get a renovated room which has been redone. Be wary on what room you get and it being DC- depending on the day the price/night can fluctuate wildly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rammenon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Willard InterContinental Washington, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear rammenon,

As always we are glad to read feedback from one of our valued guests. Thank you for the kind comments regarding our staff. However, please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,825 reviews
National Mall
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,000 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#2 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,939 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Downtown / Chinatown , Penn Quarter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#22 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing