We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walked to all the DC Mall monuments and museums”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
florida
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Walked to all the DC Mall monuments and museums”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

When I was booking this trip to DC we didn't rent a car we planned on walking. What a great choice. The Willard is situated so that you can walk out the front door and within minutes be on the Mall walk to the White House see the Smithonians. Wear comfortable shoes because the mall is 2 miles long but the walk is beautiful. You will be seeing historical buildings and walking through a really beautiful city. Our room was on the 12th floor with a very large round window that looked right at the Washington Monument we could not have been more pleased.
We had a two room king suite our bedroom was sunken and had a flat screen TV with a writing desk and nice comfy chair. The sitting area and bathroom were up four steps and had another flat screen TV with a small sofa and several chairs. The bathrooms are a little small. This is a very old historical hotel so the tub and shower are together but it has been well renovated and it was extremely clean. there was also a small minibar with small frig and coffee maker closet and safe. We had room service several times.... it was fantastic and its also 24 hr which my husband loved. If you are going to DC to see the sights you really cant go wrong with the Willard. Great food awsome location and nice luxury accomodations. We had some service issues with a light bulb and fuse blowing out in the bathroom. they fixed it within minutes

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blushingbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,024
    653
    172
    64
    40
See reviews for
861
878
112
733
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (556)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I booked a last minute room at this Washington classic due to being stuck in DC with no trains leaving. They had a room available & clean and so I checked in at 9 a.m.! I was amazed the hotel was about the same price as the Washington Hilton's "exec" floor, about $350. Reinier at the front desk couldn't have been more welcoming and helpful. I got a beautiful room, spacious and extremely comfortable. I spent all day at the spa, the wonderful E. Arden "Red Door" Salon. The attendants are FIRST CLASS. The best facial, massage & manicure (from Elena, Sean and Pon) I have had in months, and I am very picky. I don't think I'll ever stay anywhere else. I love this hotel and can't wait to go back. Another advantage here is that the clientele are well-groomed and sophisticated - that's a huge plus from my point of view. It attracts good people.

Room Tip: I prefer the lower floors to be closer to the spa and workout room.There were no noise issues and it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pergamond E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

Nice rooms, friendly staff, and good for a family. We came to see the sights, and the concierge was an absolute expert and set us up with excellent access and itineries. The proximity to the attractions is the best way to see DC with a family.
Highly recommended.

Helpful?
4 Thank Local28
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had an absolutely fabulous stay here. The room was spacious and well appointed. The staff was extremely nice and even surprised us with a anniversary gift. Absolutely worth the extra $$$. Especially due to the history this place represents and the location.

Room Tip: 13th Floor is the highest, which is great in terms of quietness, but windows are a little bit smalle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Hippos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

The first thing I said to my father when we walked in was that we didn't belong at this hotel, lol. This was our first trip to Washington and we are from a rural area in Australia - this hotel did not disappoint. From the foyer to our room, everything was gorgeous. The staff were great. The hotel was clean and tastefully decorated. Our room was large with great amenities and the delivery of the newspaper was a nice touch. Everything about this place was fancy. The breakfast was great as it catered for all tastes. We walked to all sites as the hotel is very close to the main locations. I would definitely recommend this hotel - it was a real treat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eaf23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

The Willard is a classic grand hotel that also provides a very high level of attentive service. Our room was spotlessly clean and appropriately furnished, and the staff was helpful, professional, and polished, as you would expect. It's hard to imagine anyone being disappointed by the Willard.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed here in Nov '11. First time trip to Washington and the US. We received a warm welcoming from both the porters and front desk staff. The foyer is magnificent. The room was very tidy and large. The room faced the main street next to the hotel, which made the night time very loud. I was suprised it was more loud here that in The Chatwal in NY, which is just off Times Square.

The bathroom was average, but very clean and tidy. The front desk staff were very helpful in advising on the touristy places and where to find a good meal.

The location (in terms of sights) is excellent. Just 5mins walk from The White House and only a little further to The Mall.

Would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bigbenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
1,275 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#64 of 141 in Washington DC
3,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,107 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#15 of 141 in Washington DC
1,869 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
2,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing