We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Willard Hotel is the best of Washington DC” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Willard InterContinental Washington

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #15 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The Willard Hotel is the best of Washington DC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2011

A beautifully restored and historically significant hotel ...(did you know the term "lobbying" came out of politics practiced here?)..the entire facility is elegant and awesome, rooms comfortable and quiet..and you can walk to the theater, museums and other DC attractions..
It is a splurge cost-wise, and, in this case, worth it!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmermc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,763
    585
    153
    57
    38
See reviews for
733
779
103
632
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (507)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toms River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
269 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

A long time ago I wanted to pick a chain that would reward loyalty and chose this chain. I have been extremely happy with stays on 3 continents, soon to be a 4th. This hotel is one of the best. At check in I was upgraded to an awesome Willard room and the friendliness of front desk was very nice to experience after a long drive. The location of the hotel is hard to best as well. As I am an Priority Club Ambassador once a year I get a free weekend night stay so one of my 2 nights was free saving me over $350. Rooms are clean, public areas as well and are really nice. The hotel bar is good albeit pricey but hey you are 100 yards from the White House!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank twin123185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

The location is outstanding. You can walk almost everywhere. The hotel is a wonderful historic building with an attentive staff, professional and helpful. The upgraded suite was appointed beautifully and very spacious. The bar is exceptional and the bartenders are very professional. Our bartender, Jim, made each evening's cocktails a memorable experience. The only disappointment was the hotel restaurant, Cafe du Parc. It is more like a small crowded cafeteria at breakfast with everyone crowded together at small tables close together. The staff seemed rushed and twice I had to go up to their station and get my own coffee. They refilled your coffee cup sparingly, if you could get their attention. The waiters seemed to have the attitude that this was their first week on the job and not sure what was going on. The buffet food was your usual breakfast fare but the hot was cold and the cold was warm. Each day I asked the chef to heat my eggs and bacon. I would have ordered ala carte but the not for $40.00. You would think that a famous hotel as the Willard would have an elegant dining venue but there was nothing but this cafeteria style room. The one other surprise was that the Willard charges a daily fee for internet access. At $500 per night and to charge this additional fee was unacceptable. Excluding the so called hotel "dining room" and internet fee, I would gladly return to this hotel and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zack477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a Sunday into a Monday. The location can not be beat being a block from the White House. The food is pricey-brunch for Waffles and an order of eggs bennidict with soup was $75. The lobby is beautiful- look up at the ceiling to see the seals of all the states, they had a harpist and a pianist playing and the general decor was awesome. The room was larger than I had imagined or needed. The furnishings were new and clean. The linins and bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was older but updated fixtures. The only disappointment was finding someones old catering items behind the chairs..ie utensils and salt & pepper. This should have easily been found by housekeeping but it wasn't. I would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pylot135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

The Willard is expensive but for a quality, historic hotel next to the White House that is to be expected.

I have visited the Willard a lot when I lived in the DC area but I stayed her for the first time as an out-of-town guest during the Independence Day Holiday weekend 2011.

Service was top notch, staff was friendly and we I had a great time in the Round Robin Bar and met some very interesting people. The food and drink was excellent!

The next time I am in the DC area and have a few days to stay downtown I would stay here again. It is worse the extra costs for the quality service, location and ambience.

Room Tip: I stayed in a room overlooking the front of the hotel (Pennsylvania Ave.) and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rush2112Equality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pa
Level Contributor
108 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Took the train down from Philly for the weekendf with the kids. Great hotel. Upgraded to a suite with the Ambassador status and was given the 4pm check out. Breakfast at the Parc restauran very complete buffet. Kids were half price which made it seem reasonable. The only downside was the weather forced us into a lot of cabs which are very expensive. The add on fees seemed to range in each cab and I still don't know why exactly. Other than that the museums were great and free except for the Spy museum which was worth the fees. Staff at the Hotel was great . Front desk was friendly and although the hotel was full commited our name to memory. Door men were also very helpful as well arranged a cab for an hour for 25 bucks to see the monuments. Skip the Indian museum except for lunch as the food was native american themed and was the most interesting thing in the place.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBob5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hotel is absolutely gorgeous! Beautiful lobby, nice restaurants on site and rooms were spacious, clean and recently updated. My only complaints would be that water pressure was terrible (I understand they are going for the eco-friendly low flow shower heads but if you have to take a shower that is twice as long not much water is being saved!) and the windows are in desperate need of being replaced! The room was very, very loud in the mornings, as you could here everything going on outside.

Location is perfect for sightseeing and just a quick walk to all the major sites. The history of the hotel is what really drew us there, the different President's who took up residence here to MLK writing his "I Have a Dream" speech and the tales of President Grant smoking his cigars in the lobby and coining the term "lobbying" as we use it today.

The history, location, and beauty of this hotel cannot be beat! Would definitely return!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meredith422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,054 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,692 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing