We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A faded rose”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Willard InterContinental Washington
Ranked #14 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
77 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A faded rose”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a grand and historic hotel located almost next to the White House. it is just one of these Washington classics.

However, I was disappointed by the hotel as rooms are in need of refurbishment. For me the hotel was a bit stuffy. I know these things are personal but everything in the room was a bit dated and didn't really present any atmosphere or personality, it was just a very flowery room.

Service was good, but then you are in a 5 star InterContinental.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FergieBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    603
    155
    61
    39
See reviews for
754
799
106
656
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

On a spur of the moment, we decided to stop over in DC for one day of sightseeing. So glad we picked the Willard. The hotel is a destination in itself, grand, elegant and welcoming, with a staff that is remarkably courteous and helpful. We pulled up to the hotel and were instantly taken care of, the bags unloaded, our car valeted and bags whisked to our rooms. The rooms were elegant and spacious, and the beds were so comfortable our kids are still talking about them! The concierge was excellent, procuring tickets to the permanent collection at the Holocaust Museum and the Capital building for our family of 5.

The location is excellent, two blocks from the White House, and a few blocks from the Mall. Lots of restaurants around as well. Not a place for the budget minded, but a wonderful place to splurge if you want to be in the heart of DC!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsgeegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon by the Sea, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

The hotel was very nice. The room we had was spacious. They even gave us two roll-aways for our kids who did not want to share beds. They were very quick to bring us something anytime we asked. The front desk people were very nice and efficient. It was close to the mall and White House, so we walked around alot. We only took a cab once because it was very hot outside. Great hotel. Would return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelbythesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

"A gracious beauty of a hotel recently re-furbished. Staff especially at the front desk was very attenative and helpful. A young lady went out of her way to offer her "free" parking spot as it was Sunday in front of the Hotel to me and I did not have to pay for valet. That was very nice!. Rooms were very large, clean and had quality linens. The food in the French Cafe was delicious. Location was great. Gym was adequate and they had a sunning deck, but not a pool. That would have been nice with the 102 degree temps! Overall a very pleasant stay in the heart of Washington.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelgalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCleary, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

What a wonderful place! Staff was so helpful. They made us feel so welcome. Beautiful rooms and very well appointed. Close to everything we wanted to see.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindyJerryB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

Just for fun my wife and I stayed at the Willard for one night despite living in an apartment less than 2 miles away. When we arrived the lady at check-in informed us that they over booked so we were given a larger room with an attached sitting room at no extra charge. One of the cool things about this free upgrade is that they easily could have blocked our entry from the adjoining sitting room but they didn't.

If you are visiting DC, and can afford this hotel, its really worth it. I have not stayed at too many hotels in DC because I live here but to give you an idea of how nice I think it is I recommended it as a good site for one of my friends to propose to his now fiance.

Room Tip: Take some time to get a drink in the lobby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank broyer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro,NC
Level Contributor
209 reviews
208 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Willard is a landmark hotel and has probably the best location of any of the DC high end properties.

The lobby is magnificent with a long corridor from the back to the front lined with elegant decor.

The rooms are good sized for a big city, comfortable bedding, nice working space and large bathroom.

Service was top notch. When staying at this hotel, it is not unusual to see heightened security and what could have been Secret Service as it is a frequent destination of dignitaries.

It is a short walk to the mall and the White House. Plenty of restaurants in walking distance. I did not eat at the hotel (there are two restaurants part of the complex) but did have a drink at the Round Robin & Scotch Bar - pricey, as you would expect. Did eat close to the hotel at M&S Grill (decent, not too expensive, part of the McCormick & Schmick's chain) and Chef Geoff's Downtown (had a great lunch there, nice place).\

Valet parking was $39, about what you would expect.

DC is a great place and the Willard is the right choice.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,178 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Mandarin Oriental, Washington DC
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Willard InterContinental Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willard InterContinental Washington

Property: Willard InterContinental Washington
Address: 1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1047
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#8 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Green Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Willard InterContinental Washington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 335
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the nation's capital, two blocks from the White House, The Willard InterContinental Washington, D.C. offers 335 spacious and elegantly appointed guest rooms, 41 of which are suites, that exude a unique blend of contemporary luxury and historic charm. Many of The Willard's guest rooms feature views of Pennsylvania Avenue and historic landmarks like the Washington Monument as well as downtown Washington, D.C. The Willard has been the site of many prestigious meetings, conferences and social events for nearly 200 years. With 19 meeting rooms and over 22,000 sq. ft. of event space, The Willard features unique and elegant function rooms including several ballrooms from which to choose. Discover a relaxing counterpoint to the busy pace of Washington, D.C. as you savor the fare at Cafe du Parc, featuring delicious French bistro cuisine and exquisite house-made patisseries. Reserve a table on one of Washington's most popular terraces' or dine inside in a modern, sleek Parisian-style setting. Join us for a drink in the historic Round Robin Bar. Located just off the lobby of The Willard, the Round Robin Bar has been a lively meeting place for Washington's political and social elite since the days of Abraham Lincoln. Long celebrated as one of the best in D.C., this legendary bar was known as the nexus of "Rum Row" and the "E street Corridor" -- plying its trade to luminaries such as Mark Twain and Walt Whitman. Today, this fashionable downtown spot draws a smart, stylish cross section of DC movers and shakers. The Round Robin Bar is open seven days a week, Monday through Saturday from 12 p.m. to 1:00 a.m. and Sundays 12:00 p.m. to midnight. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Willard InterContinental Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Willard Intercontinental Washington Hotel Washington Dc
Intercontinental Washington Dc
Intercontinental Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing