We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shower/tube has an odd design”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #90 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Stratford, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Shower/tube has an odd design”
Reviewed September 29, 2009

The water controls for the bathtub/shower are on the left side. So is the wash basin/vanity. You slide the doors of the shower all the way to the right to access the controls and then all the way to the left to enter the shower from the right end. The opening, when adjusting the water is not big enough, with the vanity in the way, to step into the shower from the left side. Very strange set up.
They serve the worst $3.95 breakfast buffet I've ever had for $16.95. The French toast is made with powdered milk that they forgot to add liquid to and no eggs. The link sausage is worse than the cheapest brand in your local grocery. The scrambled eggs are just flattened inner tubes, painted yellow.
The afternoon bartender has something going with one of the desk guys and had to be called over to the bar to get us a glass of overpriced wine. The coffee that is available at 7am in the lobby, close to the restaurant entrance is not free, as one might expect, but goes for $2 per cup. Big styrofoam cups though, just what you'd expect from a four and a half star hotel.
Other than those few problems it was a nice room on the fifteenth floor, overlooking the National Realtors Association building. We found out that a $6 breakfast at the Billy Goat Bar and Grill in that building was well worth the price............Denver Omelet, hashbrowns, toast, coffee and juice.
Three minute walk to Union Station. Very handy if you're arriving by train.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wd1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    569
    185
    67
    71
See reviews for
355
329
91
440
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stay in hotel in DC quite a bit for work and look for a number of things. A hotel that is comfortable, does good health food for breakfast and dinner, good location both for meetings and for running and good service.

This hotel has all.these. The hotel was recently refurbished, and still looks new and fresh. As you enter the hotel you are greeted by an expansive lobby with plenty of natural light. The hotel room is a good size, with a large bathroom. The room is comfortable with a large flat screen tv with the usual channels. Only downfall in the room, is the lack of free wireless or internet. For the traveller of today, free internet access is an important factor both for work and personal use. The cost per day is $9.99 which i though was quite steep.

The breakfast in the hotel caters for all. I enough a healthy breakfast, i.e. fruit and oatmeal which is freely available in the buffet. For those who want something more there is a hot breakfast option with eggs and the usual add ons.

Location wise the hotel is perfect. About five minutes walk from the Capitol building. Perfect location for sightseeing. Also if you are a runner like me, a run along the mall to the white house and to Jefferson's memorial is a lovely run. If you dont fancy the run outside, the hotel has a well serviced gym, with a couple of treadmills and bike.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulQuinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glos
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

We wanted to be near the sightseeing areas. This hotel is well postioned for that. The hotel has great deals, so check out their website. Also, the staff were very happy to help me get our rooms on the same floor and near each other. We enjoyed great service from the staff, they looked after all our needs. Would stay there again.

Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank ValRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork-Longisland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2009

This is a very recommendable hotel. I too had picked this hotel on basis of reviews by other fellow travellers.
Hotel is very close to the Metro and the bus stops,, very close ( walking distance to the Capital Building ) and very conveniently located. I had requested for a front view located room, which iIdid get - ( some hotels do not give this to people who have already pre-paid reservation and keep these rooms for walk in cash customers- ).
Staff was very freindly.
And since I am a Veg. food eater, I liked the various Indian Restaurants with a small radius from the hotel.
Best part is this hotel has discount deals - which is why I picked this hotel on the Hotel.com website.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dipakjai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

The hotel grounds are very nice, clean and staff are very courteous, I had no trouble at all, we got the summer package and our rooms had double beds that made our sleep the best as we were so tired of walking and sightseeing. The best of the hotel is the location, its so close to everything you want to see in DC, Have 0 complains. Will definitely comeback and recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SraCastillo-Zambrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

great location, service, rates. no complaints at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebdreyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Ile, MI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2009

We spent three days here with our two teens. The hotel was up to date, immaculate, and conveniently located. The staff was courteous. The room was large and clean. The bathroom was enormous. Best of all, we paid under $100 per night (excluding taxes). In 30 years of travelling I've never got such a great bargain.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-GI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,153 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
274 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
511 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,458 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing