We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel - poor front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel - poor front desk staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2009

This a great hotel and I was really pleased I managed to get a good deal for our two night stay, unfortunately the front desk staff let this hotel down. They were unfriendly and unhelpful and not at all apologetic for making me wait over two hours for a room. When I arrived I realised I had lost my credit card so needed to cancel it asap and my cell phone was battling with dialling international numbers - I went to the front desk to ask for help and was told there was nothing they could do I would have to make the calls from my room - all very well if I actually had a room to call from. Not what I expect from any hotel. The hotel itself is spacious, clean and has an excellent bar and lobby area. I didn't use the restaurant as it was pricey but it looked really nice. The starbucks over the road was a bonus and the location is excellent about a 5 - 10 minute walk to Capitol Hill. The room was big and clean. Internet is charged for as is parking but that seems usual for DC. There was always a taxi on hand when we needed one and Tyrone the doorman was excellent able to help with any questions and really friendly. A pity that helpful front desk staff is something I have come to expect from a hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fayepottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    545
    181
    63
    68
See reviews for
340
326
86
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill NJ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2009

We stayed 2 nights myself and my 14 year old son. The Hotel was clean, well maintained and very comfortable. Staff were very helpful with sightseeing tips and transportation options. Hotel is very close to Union Station, and the mall both were an easy walk. Getting around was very easy. Eating in the hotel was costly for what you got. The bar offered some alternatives. Parking was also a hefty $35 per nite. Internet was available for an extra fee. Hotel has a decent fitness center for guest use.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie_D_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amesbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

My wife and I traveled there so I could cover the Frozen Four (men's D-1 college hockey championship) in April, making it a "working vacation." During the days, we walked around the city, using the Union Station metro stop - just two blocks away - as our jumping-off point each day. I bundled this

  • Stayed April 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daytripper2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2009

Stayed Easter weekend (ar Friday; lv Sunday). VERY pleased.

Elegant, comfortable lobby (waterfall fountain not working though). Multiple fast elevators.

Excellent, clean non-smoking room with king bed, marble bathroom. New large-screen LED or plasma TV. (Wish TV remote had had a "sleep" button.) View of the capitol dome from room.

Great rate ($99/night from their website at this time of year). Originally booked at a higher rate via Expedia. Friend told me about the website rate. When I cancelled online with Expedia I lost $25 -- in spite of the fact that this was several MONTHS before check in. (Read the fine print before booking with Expedia! To cancel, call them rather than doing it online.)

Very friendly/helpful staff. Easy walk (a bit more than two blocks) from Union Station (Amtrak and Metro stop). Very good breakfast buttet and menu at hotel restaurant. (Nearby Dubliner Tavern was great for lunch.)

They were happy to stow our bags before check-in and after checkout in large, secure storage area.

Would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHF08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2009

This is an extremely nice hotel. I stayed in a corner room with a king size bed. The bed was comfortable. The windows were amazing. The location is like 3 blocks from union station, the view on upper floors is of the capitol building, and is awesome. The bathroom had hot water, immediately, and great water pressure. Everything was spotless. I paid about what I would expect to pay for a crappy chain hotel, and I got this! It was modern, everything was new. The food was good. The room smelled new. The staff was helpful & professional, they even allowed a late checkout (we'd had a bit too much to drink the night before), and held out bags on Sunday for no charge.

There is ONE drawback. Light sleepers & young lovers beware- the walls are paper thin.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andiralaw79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Braunfels, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

We arrived about 5 PM on the day after the Presidential Inauguration, for the National March for Life events. The location is fantastic: 3 short blocks (or 2 long ones) from Union Station.

Check in was smooth and we were given a nice "Deluxe King" with a view of the Capitol, room 1201. This room may have been the best location on the floor - across but down from the elevators. We did not hear any noise from the other rooms (or the teens, mentioned below). There were some sirens from outside, but I can't remember hearing any at all after we went to sleep --- I was probably too tired.

There were other people there for the March and some who had stayed after the Inauguration. The staff was considerate and treated us all well. I was impressed with their patience with and accommodation for the youth groups (one pro-life group and one with Obama Inauguration gear). Even with all the teens going up and down, we never had to wait for an elevator.

The bed was very comfortable with the cuddly duvet wrapped in snow white sheets and I appreciated the king sized pillows. The room temperature was adjustable and also very comfortable. We enjoyed the club chairs, the ottoman, and the large flat screen TV.

I used the business center twice. Every thing worked well and the staff was helpful.

The main problem was the lack of room service or vending after 11 PM. I imagine that most visitors are tourists like us, who come back late in the evening. We would have definitely ordered room service on the last two nights if available.

There was also the problem of low staffing in the restaurant on Thursday night. The food was very good, but we did have to wait longer than expected for our service. I highly recommend the tomato soup. The fried potatoes were attractively served in a stemmed glass.

We ordered room service breakfast, which was delivered quickly and piping hot.

Finally, the tub was not as clean as it should have been. After walking all over town in the cold weather, I took advantage of the deep soaking tub. While sitting in the tub, (and only while sitting in the tub) the mold on the sliding door guide looked bad awful looking. There was also a small amount of mold visible just inside the overflow drain. The rest of the metal work, the tile grout and the doors were spotless.

I've stayed at several hotels in DC over the years, but this is the first time that I've found a hotel that I believe I will try to stay at again.

  • Liked — Location, bed
  • Disliked — Lack of food, beverage after 11 PM.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bnuckols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2009

My parlor room was spacious, well appointed, and had one of the most spectacular views of the Capital dome. It was a great visit!

Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank DAW21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing