We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel !!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Ranked #91 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Putnam, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
56 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel !!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

The hotel has undergone some renovations and is absolutely beautiful. The rooms are very spacious and the beds are very comfortable. Something I enjoy and you do not always see are such enormous bathtubs , you can actually lie down in them. The staff is very friendly and accommodating.The Atrium is a great place to sit, kick-back and have a cocktail. I would definitely recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Higher floors with a southern exposure will give you a view of the Capitol.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Orioles1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    546
    182
    63
    68
See reviews for
341
326
86
419
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

This hotel was simply beautiful from the moment my wife and I walked in. I found this hotel on hotels.com as we were looking for a weekend getaway in our own backyard. The hotel was a short walk from union station. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our room was very clean. The door to our room had a very freshly stained cheery wood finish. We could see the capital building from our room! All in all we had a wonderful time. I certainly would recommend this hotel!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bmack34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

The staff was very friendly. Decent drinks and late night food at the bar in the lobby (we got the flatbread pizza). The rooms themselves are very spacious and clean. The bathrooms especially are large, clean, and nice (all marble floors, etc). My only complaint is that the shower didn't stay as hot as I would have liked, and I wasn't even in there for very long. Other than that, it is a decent hotel, especially for the price.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Location: I would like to begin and say I was excited about this hotel because of the awesome location. It was close to the Union Station, about a five minute walk. The distance with walking towards the Mall of museums weren't bad. It was a nice spot.

Service: So, my friends and I wanted to do a Girls Weekend in D.C. we researched and found the Washington Court and thought the price was decent for the three nights stay we had. We booked this between February and April...for the end of July early August. We asked for adjoining rooms or rooms that was next door or across the hall... you would think with booking this in advanced and asking for basic accommodation like this would give the hotel a heads up and prepare this for us, but nope. Unfortunately, the hotel did not fulfill our request. There's NO point in asking if we want specific things if there's no way of providing it. The credibility goes south.
-The Housekeeper kept the rooms clean.
-The doormen were extremely nice.
-The registration people were nice and helpful.
-Also, once we received our bill during check out, it was cheaper than what we originally paid to book it. We did it through Expedia and we asked the registration table about it...but they said that's how the second party makes their commission, but from my experience booking with another party to a hotel, it's less expensive than the hotel's price or it matched... it didn't make sense. We didn't out up a fight with them.

Décor: The hotel was spacious. It just felt so outdated with the furniture, the style, no refrigerator in the rooms. The toilet were extremely slow. The pressure sucked. We thought we broke it a few times. The beds were okay.

Overall, my friends and I agreed to give the hotel a 2.5 rating out of five. It was a good location but lacked a lot of little details. If you're planning on leaving the hotel all day this isn't a bad hotel... but if you're trying to lounge around... choose another one.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Chan_89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mequon, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

Stayed at this hotel July 20-24, 2014. The bellmen were very friendly and nice but that ended there. The front staff was horrible. Very rude and unfriendly. They acted like you were bothering them. The room itself was absolutely filthy. The bedspread had a big stain on it, the bathroom had mold all along the bathtub. The coffee pot didn't work. I had to repeatedly ask for clean towels and toilet paper. Will never recommend this hotel or stay there again! Horrible experience. Management just does not care!

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014

I spent my fifth wedding anniversary at this hotel with my wife. Initially selected because of its proximity to Union Station and price (I compulsively shop on Groupon), I did not expect much after reading some of the other reviews. HOWEVER as the title indicates, the customer service was amazing. Prior to arrival, I contacted the hotel to see what options were available to make our anniversary special. Since I paid a reduced rate for the room, I had little problem paying extra to make our stay more memorable. I had been in contact via email with the Front Desk Manager Mr. Leak prior to our arrival who told me that I had the ability to have packages sent (ordered candies from Chocolate Chocolate in DC), or could add the romance package. After further discussion, Mr. Leak told me that he would send champagne and flowers compliments of the staff. Upon arrival Justin welcomed us and held the door. When we walked in, Veronica welcomed us, congratulated us, and wished us a Happy Anniversary. I then found out that our room had been upgraded to one with a spectacular view of the United States Capitol.

The lobby of the hotel is stunning. The room was clean and bathroom was spacious. I will recommend this hotel to my friends coming to the area, as well as, strangers on the internet. The view, of course, was wonderful. But as the title indicates, what made this trip for us was the customer service. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhyan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

There is really nothing distinctive about this hotel. It's fine. The room was clean. They charge for Wifi. But, I put dishes from room service in the hall and they sat there for 24 hours. I also heard a lot of noise from the street even on the 9th floor.

If your're traveling on business there are probably better choices in this price range or less.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSydell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,107 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#105 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill

Property: Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill
Address: 525 New Jersey Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-2019
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#61 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#76 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated, independent hotel located in downtown Washington DC, the Washington Court Hotel offers the ultimate in modern design and hospitality. Boasting a central location near Union Station and Capitol Hill, the Washington Court Hotel is a 265 room distinguished downtown destination for both business, leisure travelers and DC’s elite. Guests at the Washington Court Hotel can explore the rich history of Washington DC just by stepping outside our front doors. Situated adjacent to Union Station, our 16-story property is located in the heart of the distinctive Capitol Hill neighborhood providing access to the National Mall, renowned monuments, free museums and the U.S. Capitol. Luxuriate in world-class surroundings, complete with Italian marble bathrooms, well-lit vanities, and haute technology including flat-screen TVs and high-speed wireless Internet access. As a truly exceptional destination among downtown Washington DC hotels, Washington Court Hotel is an inspired choice for discerning visitors of Capitol Hill. At Washington Court Hotel, your experience plays center stage to everything we do. A family-friendly adventure, business outing or solo excursion – our helpful staff is at your disposal to set the tone for an experience that is unrivaled on “The Hill”. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Court Hotel on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Court Dc
Washington Court Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing